Path Valley race notes 2003-05-02

Jim, Jim and Jimmy win at Path Valley Speedway Park. Spring Run, PA_ The fabled 'Jim Show' returned to the Path Valley Speedway Park Friday night as Jim Callahan of McVeytown and Jim Brookens of Fayetteville split the 600 Sprints wins and Jim ...

Jim, Jim and Jimmy win at Path Valley Speedway Park.

Spring Run, PA_ The fabled 'Jim Show' returned to the Path Valley Speedway Park Friday night as Jim Callahan of McVeytown and Jim Brookens of Fayetteville split the 600 Sprints wins and Jim Young of Johnstown won in the 270 Sprints.

With eight features to race including two of the six rain makeups from the week before, and with 137 cars and sprints in the pits, Two Wheel Promotions completed the night with Brookens' win at 11:35.

Next Friday night, May 9, Path Valley will race the Mother's Day special with nine feature events including rain makeups from April 25 for the PA 305 Sprints and the Dwarf Cars on MDK Race Engine night.

Past Champion Terry Smith of Willow Hill won the makeup feature in the four-cylinder thunder cars and John Rasp of McConnellsburg got the win in the night's regular feature. Tim Fedder of Newport claimed the V-8 Street Stock win for the second week in a row, and Ricky Harper of Three Springs got his first win in the modified mini-stocks. Brian Levan of Fleetwood took the lead on lap 11 for the Legends Cars win.

Before the advent of the 600 Sprints, the four 'Jims' were most often winners in the 270 Sprints field. Then, the group included Callahan, Brookens, Young, and Jim Lender who has since moved to the PA 305 Sprints that return next week. Only defending Valvoline Cup National Champion Young, with a pair of Predator house cars, still races in both 270 and 600 Sprints.

Continuing in the lead from the rain-postponed previous week's 600 Sprints feature, Callahan capered through the single-caution opener with Pat Klose right behind him and Brookens up from twelfth to claim the third spot. Duane Harbaugh and Jake Murphy completed the front five.

Racing makeups before the night's regular heat races, Terry Smith led the four-cylinder thunder car April 25 feature all the way in spite of a rash of yellow fever cautions that saw ten starters eliminated before the checkers fell. The front five finishers were Smith, John Rasp, Chris Casner, Derrick Casner and Duane Ricker. Rasp got the win in the night's regular feature after the first place finisher disqualified.

The night's regular 600 Sprints feature proved a battle between defending champion Brookens and two-time champion Donnie Hendershot of Hagerstown. Brookens caught Hendershot on lap ten and passed him on lap 11 as they overtook the #18x of Rich Gilmore. Racing the final 18 laps non-stop, Brookens finished a half-length ahead of Hendershot with Gilmore a length ahead to maintain the last spot on the lead lap. Heat winners were Nathan Hauck, Mike Dicely and Butch Harrington and Aaron Eichelberger won the consi.

"With just a tiny bit of luck, any one of eight or a dozen drivers here could win on any night," Brookens said after thanking his family and crew.

Dave Socks won the first heat in the 270 Sprints and drew a ten pill for feature lineup inversion. That put Jim Young on the front row beside Josh Dressler and Young muscled past the high-schooler on lap two and remained unchallenged until the final laps with Rodney Glass caught up and twice threatened to take the lead. Young won by less than the length of his #02, followed in the front five by Glass, Josh Dressler, Brian Walker and Socks. Heat winner were Socks, Rob Griffin, Walker and Glass. Earl Hoon Jr. won the first consi and Jason Hall won the second.

The Central PA Legends Cars, racing with only two cautions to regroup the field, came around as a close duel between past champion Levan and Nathan Fisher of McClure. Fisher pulled alongside Levan for the last time at the end of lap 18 and settled for second, followed in the front five by Lawrence Garrison, John Fraker and Allen Felix. Levan, Felix and Ricky Harring won the heats.

Ricky Harper, the frequent mini stock champion in past years, got his first win this season after the cars that finished ahead of him failed to pass tech inspection. The front five were Harper, Ed Kirby, Gary Dehart, Kyle Wiser and Tim Burkholder and the heat race winners were Harper and Arlin Brougher.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track for promoter Ken Geesey is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2003 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car