Path Valley race notes 2003-04-13

Path Valley Sprint wins to Lynn, Peters, Boyer. Spring Run, PA_ Todd Lynn of Hollidaysburg opened the PA 305 Sprint season with a decisive win on a rare and action packed racing Sunday at the Path Valley Speedway Park. Rescheduled from Friday...

Path Valley Sprint wins to Lynn, Peters, Boyer.

Spring Run, PA_ Todd Lynn of Hollidaysburg opened the PA 305 Sprint season with a decisive win on a rare and action packed racing Sunday at the Path Valley Speedway Park.

Rescheduled from Friday because of persistent rain, the seven feature race afternoon event also saw Terry Peters of Tower City win in the 600 Sprints and Mike Boyer of Jonestown the victor in the 270 Sprints.

The winners of the three stock car features were James Andrews of St. Thomas in the V-8 Street Stocks, Jerry Bard of Shippensburg in the mini stocks and John Rasp of McConnellsburg in the four-cylinder thunder cars, and Wes Zimmerman of Newville earned a hard memorable first win in the Dwarf cars.

As part of the Driver Appreciation Day, the Favorite Driver contest sponsored by Photos by Walt Cox went to Kevin Thomas of St. Thomas and his sister, Crystal Sheaffer of Fayetteville, was drawn to present his prize plaque and also earn herself a free 8x10 photo of the presentation.

With more than 160 cars in the pits, the combined heat races, consolation races and seven feature events required almost five and a half hours to complete, and according to senior race director John Winsett almost every pit space was filled. "More impressive than the numbers was the top quality racing we saw from some of the very best drivers in the East," Winsett said.

Todd Lynn started on the front row after an eight-sprint inversion pill draw and led every lap as young Chris Meleason advanced from seventh to challenge him but finish second in the 305 Sprints main event. Meleason and Rick Mayberry had won the heats and the front five feature finishers were Lynn, Meleason, Todd Spangler, "Cowboy" Jim Kennedy and defending Path Valley champion Scott Ellerman. The full-size economy sprinters with their sealed engines finished their feature with only two cautions and restarts.

High school senior Terry Peters started third in the 600 Sprints feature and took the lead from Lyle Stroman on lap seven. This was technically the second win of the season for Peters who won a national 600cc open in Florida in February after starting that 24-sprint event in the rear. Bound for Penn State in the fall, Peters was April's Student of the Month and a National Honor Society inductee at Williams Valley High School. The front five in the 600 Sprints were Peters, Duane Harbaugh, Stroman, Mike Dicely and Pat Klose. The heat winners were Aaron Eichelberger, Jim Fitz and Mark Watkins and the consi winner was Defending champion Jim Brookens.

After leading the whole race, Mike Boyer held tight to the inside from a lap 19 restart and denied Mike Dicely the chance to pass in a wheel to wheel two lap finishing dash in the 270 Sprints. Third through fifth were Sean Good, Tony Jackson and Mike Rutherford. The consi winners were Alex Cunningham and Bob Brubaker and the heat winners were Josh Dressler, Mike Rutherford, Randy Pitt, Andy Martin and Sean Good.

Jerry Bard started the mini stock feature on the pole and led all the way with only one restart and lapped car traffic to protect his lead after lap eight. The front five were Bard, Barry Welch, Austin Kirby, Gary Dehart and Ricky Harper. The heat winners were defending champion Arlin Brougher, Kirby and Dehart.

After a first lap spin the Dwarf Cars took off behind Wes Zimmerman and never paused as the youngster from Newville took his first ever Path Valley win. The front five finishers were Zimmerman, Barry May, Lynn Knepper, Floyd Carey and Frank Dunkle and the heat race winners were John Cogar and Mike Hay.

A dozen V-8 Street Stocks signed in but only three finished the feature on the lead lap as James Andrews of St. Thomas won his first feature event. Tim Fedder passed Andrews for the lead on lap seven but then Fedder shed a wobbling tire on lap 14 and Randy Patterson spun on lap 16 after challenging for the lead and taking the checkered flag were Andrews, Doug Hoffman and Matt Kauffman. Fedder won the heat.

John Rasp started fifth in the crowd pleasing four-cylinder thunder cars and he took the lead away from Mike Rosenberry on lap 12 and then survived a final lap restart to leave Rosenberry second, Derrick Casner third, Dave Ricker fourth and Keith Armolt fifth. Rasp and Terry Smith won the heats.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track for promoter Ken Geesey is 717-349-7111. For information on the 2003 schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason
Teams Williams