Outlaw Motor Speedweek Tuesday report, results

Shane Stewart makes it two in a row in ASCS Speedweek competition ASCS - MUSKOGEE, Okla. (June 3, 2003) - Shane Stewart held off a late charge from Garry Lee Maier and Zach Chappell to top the fourth round of the 11th Annual American Sprint Car...

Shane Stewart makes it two in a row in ASCS Speedweek competition

ASCS - MUSKOGEE, Okla. (June 3, 2003) - Shane Stewart held off a late charge from Garry Lee Maier and Zach Chappell to top the fourth round of the 11th Annual American Sprint Car Series Speedweek 25-lap feature event at Outlaw Motor Speedway. Stewart, who became the first repeat winner in ASCS Speedweek action, graced O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers victory lane for a series' best fourth time this season.

After charging from eighth to win the opening heat race, Stewart led the feature field to the green flag with Garry Lee Maier alongside. After the initial two starts were waved off for first turn skirmishes, Stewart got the jump on the field with Maier, Zach Chappell and Darren Stewart in pursuit.

Following a lap five caution for debris on the track, Shane Stewart established an eight car-length advantage over Maier and Chappell, who were vying for the runner-up slot. As lapped traffic came into play on the 12th round, Stewart's lead quickly diminished, with Maier shooting into the lead on the 13th round, only to have the move negated when Matt Clevenger's top-wing side panel flew onto the backstretch, bringing out the caution.

Back in command, Stewart took off on the restart and held a safe lead until the final rounds. Maier and Chappell narrowed the gap in the final three laps and made a last lap charge for the victory. As Maier went high, with Chappell going to the low side exiting the fourth turn on the final round, Stewart drove Scott Chilcutt's JR Motorsports-powered Pro Lube Center/Penske Shocks/Sander Engineering MCI to less than a two car length victory at the line.

Maier, with help from Jerry Maxwell and David Grace at Carter-Maxwell Goodyear, along with Darrell, Linda, and A.J. and Ben Kuhn at Mid-State Hay, edged Chappell at the line for the runner-up position, with Darren Stewart maintaining his series' point lead by finishing fourth.

Brooke Tatnell rounded out the top five, with Gary Wright coming from 15th to claim sixth. Nick Smith earned the race's Hard Charger award by racing from 21st to finish seventh in front of 17th-starter Travis Rilat and Kevin Ramey. Foster Landon rebounded from a wild flip in the evening's opening heat race to complete the top ten after starting 20th.

Heat race victories for the 34-car field were claimed by Shane Stewart, Jan Howard, Maier and Chappell, with Rilat and Rick Williams topping the twin 12-lap B Mains.

Ronny Howard's night came to an early end following a third heat flip, while Rick Behr also got upside down in the first heat. There were no injuries.


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Garry Lee Maier, 3. Zach Chappell, 4. Darren Stewart, 5. Brooke Tatnell, 6. Gary Wright, 7. Nick Smith, 8. Travis Rilat, 9. Kevin Ramey, 10. Foster Landon, 11. Rick Williams, 12. John Pate, 13. Toby Brown, 14. Joe Bustillos, 15. Brian Harvill, 16. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 17. Cody Branchcomb, 18. Stephanie Chappell, 19. Matt Clevenger, 20. Billy Alley, 21. Jan Howard, 22. Kelly Angelette.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Joe Bustillos, 3. Nick Smith, 4. Rick Behr, 5. Larry Neighbors, 6. Roy Larkin, 7. Stephen Chevallier, 8. Jeff Dodd. DNS: Ronny Howard.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Rick Williams, 2. Foster Landon, 3. Kelly Angelette, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Henry Gustavus, 6. Greg Merritt, 7. Jimmy Taylor, 8. Sean McClelland, 9. J.D. Johnson.

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Billy Alley, 3. Brian Harvill, 4. Stephanie Chappell, 5. Jimmy Taylor, 6. Foster Landon, 7. Rick Behr, 8. Stephen Chevallier, 9. Larry Neighbors.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jan Howard, 2. Matt Clevenger, 3. Darren Stewart, 4. Toby Brown, 5. Gary Wright, 6. Nick Smith, 7. Rick Williams, 8. J.D. Johnson, 9. Tony Bruce, Jr.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Garry Lee Maier, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. John Pate, 5. Joe Bustillos, 6. Sean McClelland, 7. Ronny Howard, 8. Roy Larkin.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Kevin Ramey, 3. Brooke Tatnell, 4. Kelly Angelette, 5. Travis Rilat, 6. Jeff Dodd, 7. Henry Gustavus, 8. Greg Merritt.

O'Reilly ASCS Points (Top Ten): 1. Darren Stewart 1,972, 2. Zach Chappell 1,922, 3. Travis Rilat 1,908, 4. Gary Wright 1,868, 5. Cody Branchcomb 1,782, 6. Toby Brown 1,735, 7. Shane Stewart 1,404, 8. Rick Behr 1,135, 9. Matt Clevenger 1,045, 10. Kevin Ramey 950.

ASCS Speedweek Points through Four of Eight Events (Top Ten): 1. Shane Stewart 586, 2. Gary Wright 576, 3. Zach Chappell 562, 4. Darren Stewart 544, 5. Kevin Ramey 518, 6. Travis Rilat 512, 7. Jan Howard 506, 8. Rick Williams 486, 9. Cody Branchcomb 456, 10. Toby Brown 443.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Larry Neighbors , Brooke Tatnell , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Rick Williams , Nick Smith , Kevin Ramey , Sean McClelland
Teams Williams , JR Motorsports