OK State Fair: Race results

Ramey Halts Wright's O'Reilly ASCS Win Streak at OKC OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (May 20, 2005) -- A Texan made it to O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores victory lane for the ...

Ramey Halts Wright's O'Reilly ASCS Win Streak at OKC

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (May 20, 2005) -- A Texan made it to O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores victory lane for the fourth time in a row, but it was Fort Worth's Kevin Ramey who took the victory honors in Friday night's 25-lap feature at State Fair Speedway to foil Gary Wright's bid for a series record four consecutive wins.

Ramey battled into the lead on the opening round after starting fourth and fought off Darren Stewart throughout to capture his fifth career ASCS National Tour triumph, with Wright settling for ninth after restarting at the tail following an opening lap incident.

"I don't know what it is about this track, but I love this place, we always seem to go pretty good here," an enthused Ramey commented in victory lane. "Seems like Danny Wood has kinda kicked our tail here the last three or four times, but we turned the tables tonight."

Sam Hafertepe, Jr., and Cody Branchcomb led the feature field to the green flag with Stewart and Ramey in the second row. The initial start was waved off when Travis Scott looped his machine in turn two. Fourth-row starter Wright clipped Scott and cut a left rear tire, rejoining the chase at the tail after quick repairs.

The balance of the race was contested in non-stop fashion, with Ramey charging into the lead in short order to take command on the opening round with Branchcomb, Stewart and Hafertepe in tow. Stewart disposed of Branchcomb the next time around to claim second and set his sights on Ramey.

As Stewart shadowed Ramey's every move in pursuit of the point, 15th-starter Danny Wood wasted little time slicing through the field, cracking the top five by the fifth round. One lap later, Wood was up to fourth in pursuit of Ramey, Stewart and Branchcomb.

As lapped traffic came into play on the ninth round, Stewart kept the pressure on Ramey while Branchcomb and Wood began dicing for the third position.

Stewart moved in to challenge Ramey for the lead on the 18th round, slipping his nose underneath the leader entering the third turn. Ramey shut the door however, and after successfully navigating through heavy lapped traffic two laps later, he raced to the checkered flag unabated aboard Tom Willis' Wells-powered Commercial Music/Smoke Pit Bar-B-Que No. 7m Maxim.

Stewart settled for his fourth runner-up finish through seven National Tour events, while Wood finally claimed the show position from Branchcomb after swapping spots several times. Hafertepe rounded out the top five.

Current American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region point leader Sean McClelland earned KSE Hard Charger honors by racing from 19th to sixth, with fellow Sooner Region shoe Danny Jennings in seventh, giving Sooner Region contenders five of the top seven finishing positions.

Larry Neighbors raced from 17th to eighth, with Wright recovering from the early incident to salvage a ninth place finish and maintain a 24-point lead over Stewart in the championship points race. Toby Brown completed the top ten.

Ramey, Wright, Hafertepe and Branchcomb topped the opening four heat races of the evening, with Stewart making a last corner pass of 13-year-old Trey Robb to win the fifth and final heat race for the 40-car field. Wood made a last lap pass of Neighbors to win the first 12-lap B Main, with Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Jake Martens making a last lap pass of Gavin Punch to snare victory honors in the second 12-lap B Main.

Fifteen-year-old Conner Pullen flipped on the opening round of the third Heat Race then returned for B Feature action. Jan Howard, who entered the evening ranked second in O'Reilly ASCS National Tour points, walked away from a wild front stretch tumble in the fourth heat but was done for the night.


First Heat (8 Laps): q. Kevin Ramey, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Larry Neighbors, 4. Sean McClelland, 5. A.G. Rains, 6. Earnest Jennings, 7. Brian McClelland, 8. David Lee Lambert.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Preston Peebles II, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. Danny Wood, 5. Foster Landon, 6. Nick Smith, 7. Andy Shouse, 8. Terry Holland.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. Kerry McAlister, 3. Travis Scott, 4. Dex Eaton, 5. Matt Clevenger, 6. Koby Barksdale, 7. Lee Sowell, 8. Conner Pullen.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Cody Branchcomb, 2. Natalie Sather, 3. Toby Brown, 4. Gavin Punch, 5. Jimmy Taylor, 6. Mitchell Gosey, 7. Jan Howard, 8. Lee Jennings.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. Trey Robb, 3. Danny Jennings, 4. Jake Martens, 5. Chris Burns, 6. Derek Cottrell, 7. J.P. Bailey, 8. Josh Close.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Danny Wood, 2. Larry Neighbors, 3. Sean McClelland, 4. A.G. Rains, 5. Brian McClelland, 6. Chris Burns, 7. J.P. Bailey, 8. Earnest Jennings, 9. Mitchell Gosey, 10. Terry Holland. DNS: Matt Clevenger, Lee Sowell, Lee Jennings.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jake Martens, 2. Gavin Punch, 3. Andy Shouse, 4. Nick Smith, 5. Dex Eaton, 6. Derek Cottrell, 7. Conner Pullen, 8. Koby Barksdale, 9. David Lee Lambert, 10. Jimmy Taylor. DNS: Foster Landon, Jan Howard, Josh Close.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Darren Stewart, 3. Danny Wood, 4. Cody Branchcomb, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. Sean McClelland, 7. Danny Jennings, 8. Larry Neighbors, 9. Gary Wright, 10. Toby Brown, 11. Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. Jake Martens, 13. Trey Robb, 14. Preston Peebles II, 15. Andy Shouse, 16. J.P. Bailey, 17. Natalie Sather, 18. Gavin Punch, 19. Lee Sowell, 20. Kerry McAlister, 21. A.G. Rains, 22. Zach Chappell, 23. Travis Scott.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 980, 2. Darren Stewart 956, 3. Jake Martens 918, 4. Jan Howard 903, 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 875, 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 841, 7. Toby Brown 817, 8. A.G. Rains 787, 9. Lee Sowell 634, 10. Jimmy Taylor 567.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 882, 2. Danny Jennings 848, 3. Cody Branchcomb 818, 4. Kerry McAlister 738, 5. J.P. Bailey 727, 6. Preston Peebles II 721, 7. Brian McClelland 711, 8. Andy Shouse 668, 9. Foster Landon 617, 10. Kevin Ramey 572.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Preston Peebles , Larry Neighbors , Cody Branchcomb , Chris Burns , Conner Pullen , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland