OK State Fair III: Race results

Wright Makes it Four O'Reilly ASCS Wins in a Row with OKC Triumph OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (July 29, 2005) -- Friday night at State Fair Speedway, defending series champion and current point leader Gary Wright posted a first in fourteen years...

Wright Makes it Four O'Reilly ASCS Wins in a Row with OKC Triumph

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (July 29, 2005) -- Friday night at State Fair Speedway, defending series champion and current point leader Gary Wright posted a first in fourteen years of O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores competition by scoring his fourth consecutive feature triumph in the 25-lap main event.

In the 435th O'Reilly ASCS National Tour feature event, Wright scored an unprecedented fourth win in a row in convincing fashion aboard the Wesmar-powered Southwest Express/The Shop/Richwood Construction No. 9 Maxim.

"We had a really good car again tonight, the Wesmar and Maxim combination is working great, four in row is nice and I just hope we can keep it going," Wright commented from victory lane.

Wright earned the pole position for the feature by racing from fifth to win the evening's third heat race. After the initial start was waved off for Toby Brown's wild turn one flip, Wright outgunned fellow front row starter Andy Shouse to snare the lead at the drop of the green.

Wright immediately checked out, leaving Shouse to fend off a host of challengers for second. Wright's pace was interrupted several times along the way by minor cautions, but "The Texan" resumed his lightning-quick pace on each restart.

Following the race's final stoppage after 18 rounds, when Gary Owens flipped without injury in turn two, Wright raced away from the field and snared career victory number 99 with a straightaway advantage. Wright shoots for the century win mark Saturday night at Tulsa Speedway.

Danny Jennings battled past Shouse for second in the early stages and appeared poised to mount a challenge for the lead until a turn three spin with five laps in the books sent Jennings to the tail.

Shouse fought off the advances of Nick Smith and tenth-starter Darren Stewart through the race's mid-stages. Stewart's challenges for second came to a halt when he clipped an infield tire exiting turn four and spun down the front stretch on the 18th lap. Stewart rejoined the chase.

Smith slid high exiting turn four on the 21st lap, leaving Shouse to fight off fellow 2004 American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region co-champion Kevin Ramey over the final rounds to post a career best ASCS National Tour runner-up finish. Ramey settled for the show position, with current Sooner Region point leader Sean McClelland advancing from eleventh to fourth as former ASCS National champion Travis Rilat charged from 14th to round out the top five.

Mike Peters crossed the stripe sixth after starting 17th, with 15th-starter Cody Branchcomb, Smith, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., and 18th-starter Natalie Sather completing the top ten.

After utilizing his final provisional starting position of the year, leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Tony Bruce, Jr., earned Hard Charger honors by racing from 22nd to eleventh.

Hafertepe, Larry Neighbors, Wright, Owens and Smith topped heat race action for the 37-car field. Branchcomb picked up victory honors in the first 12-lap "B" Main, while Jason Martin picked up the win in "B" Main number two when 13-year-old Trey Robb's apparent last lap pass for the win was negated when he weighed in two pounds below the required 1,475 pound minimum.

The evening got off to a wild start when Dara Morrow and Sean Walden tangled and flipped wildly down the front stretch as the green flag flew upon the opening heat race. Both drivers walked away from their mangled machines uninjured.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. Andy Shouse, 3. Jake Martens, 4. Terry Henry, 5. James Mosher, 6. J.P. Bailey, 7. Dara Morrow, 8. Sean Walden.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Larry Neighbors, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Darren Stewart, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Natalie Sather, 6. Bud Johnson, 7. Josh Close, 8. Terry Holland.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Sean McClelland, 3. Trey Robb, 4. Travis Rilat, 5. Brian McClelland, 6. Jimmy Taylor, 7. Foster Landon.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Gary Owens, 2. Kevin Ramey, 3. Mike Peters, 4. Jason Martin, 5. Toby Brown, 6. Mike Sitzmann, Jr., 7. Earnest Jennings.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Nick Smith, 2. Danny Jennings, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Kerry McAlister, 5. Derek Cottrell, 6. Earl McDoulett.JDNS: Dex Eaton.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Cody Branchcomb, 2. Mike Peters, 3. Toby Brown, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Foster Landon, 6. Derek Cottrell, 7. Mike Sitzmann, Jr., 8. Bud Johnson, 9. James Mosher. DNS: Dara Morrow, Sean Walden, Dex Eaton.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Natalie Sather, 3. Kerry McAlister, 4. Earnest Jennings, 5. J.P. Bailey, 6. Terry Holland, 7. Josh Close, 8. Brian McClelland, 9. Jimmy Taylor, 10. Earl McDoulett.

Disqualified: Trey Robb (weighed in two pounds below required 1,475 pound minimum).

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Andy Shouse, 3. Kevin Ramey, 4. Sean McClelland, 5. Travis Rilat, 6. Mike Peters, 7. Cody Branchcomb, 8. Nick Smith, 9. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 10. Natalie Sather, 1. Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. Darren Stewart, 13. Danny Jennings, 14. Larry Neighbors, 15. Terry Henry, 16. Foster Landon, 17. Gary Owens, 18. Zach Chappell, 19. Jake Martens, 20. Kerry McAlister, 21. Jason Martin, 22. Toby Brown.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 3,146, 2. Darren Stewart 3,036, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 2,803, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,755, 5. Toby Brown 2,366, 6. Jake Martens 2,279, 7. Jan Howard 1,991, 8. Jimmy Taylor 1,887, 9. Lee Sowell 1,498, 10. A.G. Rains 1,391.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 2,008, 2. Danny Jennings 1,984, 3. Kerry McAlister 1,798, 4. Cody Branchcomb 1,788, 5. Brian McClelland 1,723, 6. Foster Landon 1,581, 7. J.P. Bailey 1,483, 8. Derek Cottrell 1,471, 9. Preston Peebles II 1,393, 10. Dex Eaton 1,309.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Preston Peebles , Larry Neighbors , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland