Ohio Speedweek Saturday report

ALL STAR SPRINT RESULTS - Sat. 7/8/95 13th Annual Ohio Outlaw Sprint Speedweek 1995 Attica Raceway Park, Attica, OH by Scott Hall ATTICA, OH - Mark Keegan scored an impressive home track win in the Club All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek...

ALL STAR SPRINT RESULTS - Sat. 7/8/95 13th Annual Ohio Outlaw Sprint Speedweek 1995 Attica Raceway Park, Attica, OH by Scott Hall

ATTICA, OH - Mark Keegan scored an impressive home track win in the Club All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek finale Saturday night at Gene Frankart's Attica Raceway Park in front of a record crowd. Keegan had to pass leader Steve Kinser on the high side of the third- mile oval for the win with four laps remaining. With his sixth place finish, Dale Blaney captured the Ohio Speedweek points crown, worth $1,000. Blaney outpointed Kenny Jacobs 680 to 662. "I knew I just had to be patient, off turn two he (Kinser) wasn't getting off very well and I was getting off better as the race went on, and that's where I was making all my ground. I was just trying to hold my own in turn four, and I knew I could do it in one and two," Keegan said amongst a throng of well wishers. Keegan's winning ride was the Lenny Ferguson Sloss-Wick J&J, wrenched by Mike Henry and Pat Harter. The machine rode McCreary tires, and was powered by Keegan's own All Pro cylinder heads Chevy engine. "We just got outrun tonight, that's about all I can say," Kinser stated. "We ran a good race. We got a bit loose at the end and we just got outrun." Kinser drives the Quaker State Maxim. Byron Reed came home third after starting in that same spot. "It was a little tight at the beginning, so we knew we'd be good at the end. We just tried to be patient. I just got calmed down and began catching Kinser. I stuck to the bottom and it was good for me" Reed said standing beside his Kriner-Chevy powered Reebar Die Casting/B&S Racing Schnee.

Chad Kemenah started the 30 lap race on the pole, with Scott Miller alongside and Keegan in fourth. Kemenah pushed his East Harbor J&J into the lead, with Keegan second and Miller third. Fifth starter Kinser took third from Miller on lap four, and was second by lap six.

Two laps later Kemenah had Kinser right on his back pushbar, and Kinser dove low in turn one to get under the leader, and pulled away from Kemenah going down the backstretch to lead lap nine. With Kinser now on top, Keegan moved past Kemenah two laps later for second with Reed and Keith Kauffman trading fourth spot. On lap 18, Todd Kane spun to slow the action, with Kinser ahead of Keegan, Reed, Kemenah and Kauffman. Keegan rode high on the restart, but could not pass Kinser. Kinser began pulling away, and it looked like he would win easily, but Keegan began working better and better on the high groove and reeled Kinser back in. With four laps remaining, the leaders were side by side. Keegan rode high, and exited turn two ahead of Kinser to lead, and rode home $10,000 richer. Speedweek promoter Earl Baltes added $500 to Keegan's earnings in victory lane, for an Attica regular who won the event. Behind Keegan, Kinser and Reed was Kevin Huntley in Dean Lindsey's J&J. He moved up from 12th starting spot. Kelly Kinser came in fifth after starting ninth. Next was Blaney, who started 20th and moved steadily through the pack. Kauffman, from seventh starting spot, was up to fourth at one point but rode home seventh. Bobby Davis Jr., Kemenah and Butch Schroeder were next.

Kenny Jacobs set fast time over the 43 car field and won the Commercial Truck & Trailer dash. Butch Schroeder won the ButlerBuilt heat, Steve Kent took the United Expresslines heat with Keegan and Kerr the other heat winners.

The Arizona Sport Shirts C Main went to Rob Chaney and the Outerwears Pre-Filters B Main was won by Chad Kemenah.

In the 20-lap 305 econo sprint main, Phil Gressman took the lead at the halfway point and went on to win his eighth main of the year. Gressman was followed by Matt Linder, Brian Neeb, Mark Lang and Clay Keim.

Time Trials: 1. Kenny Jacobs, Johnson U2, 12.325; 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 12.326; 3. Mark Keegan, Ferguson 7, 12.364; 4. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 12.382; 5. Scott Miller, Miller 5m, 12.433; 6. Chad Kemenah, East Harbor 92, 12.489; 7. Keith Kauffman, Wahlie 1, 12.513; 8. Danny Smith, Ken Bodkins 00, 12.518; 9. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 12.528; 10. Rob Chaney, Robert Chaney 42, 12.529; 11. Bobby Davis Jr., Davis 4, 12.554; 12. Kevin Huntley, Dean Lindsey 2D, 12.561; 13. Todd Kane, Holbrook 8H, 12.583; 14. Kerry Madsen, Madsen 29m, 12.588; 15. Joey Saldana, Wendt 77w, 12.640; 16. Ed Lynch Jr., Ed Lynch Sr. 2L, 12.641; 17. Butch Schroeder, Gottschalk 17, 12.653; 18. Steve Kent, Helm 11, 12.705; 19. Van Gurley Jr., Gurley 3B, 12.723; 20. Frankie Kerr, Stan Shoff 23s, 12.746; 21. David Harrison, Harrison 44, 12.778; 22. Bob Teeple, Teeple 8T, 12.827; 23. Don Kreitz Jr., Kreitz 69k, 12.838; 24. Tim Shaffer, Reidling 50, 12.849; 25. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 12.902; 26. Dean Jacobs, Jr. Holbrook 1F, 12.915; 27. Daniel Coggeshell, Coggeshell 3, 12.972; 28. Randy Kinser, Kinser 14, 13.035; 29. Gary Wright, Action 9, 13.088; 30. Mark Slade, Slade & Bible 1x, 13.109; 31. Randy Wolfe, J&M 55, 13.147; 32. Jim Nier, Jim Nier Sr. 00n, 13.152; 33. Mark Christman, Christman 34, 13.154; 34. Mike Lutz, Andy Lutz 68, 13.161; 35. Fred Rahmer, Apple 12, 13.297; 36. Brooke Tatnell, Amy Shoup 21, 13.575; 37. Dwain Leiber, Leiber 62, 13.629; 38. Andy Shammo, Burmeister 16, 13.837; 39. Alvin Roepke, Mike Whitty 99, 14.030; 40. Chuck Scribner, Scribner 33s, 14.109; 41. Randy Hammer, Lisa Hammer 24, 14.123; 42. Dick Liskai, Liskai 6L, 14.862; 43. Daryl Daugherty, D&D 7D, NT.

ButlerBuilt Heat (10 laps): 1. Butch Schroeder 2. Todd Kane 3. Kelly Kinser 4. Kenny Jacobs 5. Dale Blaney 6. Scott Miller 7. Mark Christman 8. David Harrison 9. Randy Hammer 10. Dwain Leiber 11. Gary Wright.

United Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Steve Kent 2. Dean Jacobs 3. Steve Kinser 4. Bob Teeple 5. Chad Kemenah 6. Mark Slade 7. Mike Lutz 8. Kerry Madsen 9. Dick Liskai 10. Andy Shammo 11. Rob Chaney.

Heat (10 laps): 1. Mark Keegan 2. Bobby Davis Jr. 3. Joey Saldana 4. Keith Kauffman 5. Van Gurley Jr. 6. Alvin Roepke 7. Fred Rahmer 8. Donnie Kreitz 9. Randy Wolfe 10. Daniel Coggeshell.

Heat (10 laps): 1. Frankie Kerr 2. Tim Shaffer 3. Kevin Huntley 4. Byron Reed 5. Danny Smith 6. Brooke Tatnell 7. Ed Lynch Jr. 8. Randy Kinser 9. Jim Nier 10. Chuck Scribner.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. Kenny Jacobs 2. Keith Kauffman 3. Byron Reed 4. Todd Kane 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Danny Smith.

Arizona Sport Shirts C Main (12 laps): 1. Rob Chaney 2. Daniel Coggeshell 3. Jim Nier 4. Randy Wolfe 5. Randy Hammer 6. Chuck Scribner 7. Andy Shammo 8. Dick Liskai

Outerwears Pre-filters B Main (15 laps): 1. Chad Kemenah 2. Scott Miller 3. Dale Blaney 4. Rob Chaney 5. Mike Lutz 6. Danny Smith 7. Fred Rahmer 8. Ed Lynch Jr. 9. Jim Nier 10. Daniel Coggeshell 11. Don Kreitz Jr. 12. Brooke Tatnell 13. Mark Slade 14. Kerry Madsen 15. Van Gurley Jr. 16. Alvin Roepke 17. Mark Christman 18. Randy Kinser 19. David Harrison 20. Randy Wolfe.

A Main (30 laps): 1. Mark Keegan 2. Steve Kinser 3. Byron Reed 4. Kevin Huntley 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Dale Blaney 7. Keith Kauffman 8. Bobby Davis Jr. 9. Chad Kemenah 10. Butch Schroeder 11. Scott Miller 12. Danny Smith 13. Kenny Jacobs 14. Tim Shaffer 15. Frankie Kerr 16. Bob Teeple 17. Mike Lutz 18. Todd Kane 19. Steve Kent 20. Joey Saldana 21. Dean Jacobs 22. Rob Chaney.

-- ***************************************************************** Support your local Dirt Track Racing...... For more Racing info check out http://www.sru.edu/dirt *****************************************************************

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Steve Kinser , Kenny Jacobs , Brooke Tatnell , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Kerry Madsen , Chad Kemenah