NST: Attica results 2006-05-28

JASON MEYERS CAPITALIZES ON BYRON REED MISTAKE (Attica, OH) Jason Meyers (Elite Landscaping) added his first National Sprint Tour win at Attica Speedway Park to his resume Sunday. A great crowd saw Meyers pick the outside pole for the feature...


(Attica, OH) Jason Meyers (Elite Landscaping) added his first National Sprint Tour win at Attica Speedway Park to his resume Sunday. A great crowd saw Meyers pick the outside pole for the feature as a choice for being the fast dash winner. Local driver, Byron Reed (Reebar Die Casting) took the lead in turns one and two after the green flag. Meyers commented during the dash interview that "I'm going inside, it works and I'll see what happens."

Lap two saw Steve Kinser (Quaker State) spinout in front of Danny Lasoski (Roth) collecting Lasoski up and putting them both at the back of the field for the restart. Through the rest of the main Kinser patiently picked off a car here and there to finally work up to his final position of fourth. Kinser said, "I spun out in front of Lasoski and then he got into me. I thought I would go down into the turn low and then I started to go high and at the last second I switched back and went in there and hit the slick stuff and spun." Kinser would work the traffic for the rest of the race to finish fourth.

It wasn't until patient persistence paid off in turns 3 and 4 of the 25th lap when Reed got caught up high and both Meyer and Jason Solwold (City Wide) passed for the lead and second. Meyers said about the pass, "He was a lot better off in two than I was and I was a little better getting into 3. I just had to keep getting better in 1 and 2 where if I could be on his back bumper down the back shoot where I thought I could get him. I just couldn't quite do that and finally he bobbled it off 2 a little bit and allowed me to get a run on him and the car came to us. I knew if I could get him I could go a little faster but I just didn't have quite enough to get him and was finally able to capitalize on a small mistake."

When asked about the Meyer's pass Reed commented, "We were rolling around real nice and it got to where I couldn't enter on the curve like I was earlier. I made about two bad laps and that cost me and I wound up third. Both guys got around me when I got up in the cushion and it tossed the front end on me and I lost a bunch of time."

Reed salvaged third behind Dale Blaney (George Fisher) in second position. Meyers fought off a continued charge by Solwold when lapped traffic on lap 37 and a bad decision by Solwold on which way to pass caused a wreck in Turn 4 as he hit Brian Paulus (Arnold) and spun out. Meyers was able to finish the remainder of the 40 lap main event unchallenged.

Paul McMahan (Bass Pro Shops) commented on his evening with, Tim got a flat and I was the lucky guy to be in the right spot at the right time. We were probably a 7th or 8th place car and we wound up 5th. We'll take that and go on to Bloomington."

NST point leader, Tim Kaeding (Slick 50), got tangled up with a lapped car and had to go to the work area. Kaeding got back out and was able to salvage a 13th place finish.

The B feature had the top four finishers transferring to the A main. The field included two of the NST regulars and only one would transfer. Young Caleb Griffith led the first nine laps until a tire went down leaving the lead to Tim Shaffer (Casey's). Shaffer was followed home by Mark Keegan (Custom Chrome Plating), Craig Mitz (Keller Chevrolet), and the final transfer spot went to Brandon Martin (R&S Construction).

Dash 1 was lead from the green to the checkers by Meyers. His fast time gave him lane choice for the feature. He was followed by McMahan, Brock Mayes (J&F Construction), Lee Jacobs (Burmeister Racing), Phil Gressman (Renfro Auctioneer), and Kaeding.

Dash 2 saw Reed take the lead and hold on for the finish followed by Blaney, Solwold, Shane Stewart (Rudeen), Neil Shepherd (Metzger Trucking), and Lucas Wolfe (Selma Shell).

Heat 1 was lead all ten laps by the inside pole sitter, Greg Wilson ( All Star Plumbing & Heating) Kinser, McMahan, Stewart, and Kaeding.

Heat 2 winner Lasoski was the only NST driver to win a heat. He was followed by Chad Blonde (Hendrickson Trucking), Mayes, Reed, and Meyers.

Heat 3 saw Andrew Palker (Greber Racing Company) take the checkers with Paulus, Wolfe, Jacobs, and Solwold follow.

The fourth heat had local driver Todd Kane (Todd Kane) go wire to wire, followed by Kevin Huntley (Pete Groves), Shepherd, Blaney, and Gressman.

Fast time qualifier was Kaeding with a lap time of 12.046.

National Sprint Tour racing action continues June 2 Bloomington Speedway.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Brian Paulus , Jason Meyers , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Lucas Wolfe , Greg Wil , Tim Kaeding