NST: 2005 hearlds in tenth anniversary

2005 Season Heralds Northern Sprint Tour's 10th Year The Northern Sprint Tour will celebrate its tenth year of bringing wheel banging, wing-to-wing Sprint Car racing action to the fans of the Great Northwest when it opens the 2005 season at ...

2005 Season Heralds Northern Sprint Tour's 10th Year

The Northern Sprint Tour will celebrate its tenth year of bringing wheel banging, wing-to-wing Sprint Car racing action to the fans of the Great Northwest when it opens the 2005 season at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, OR on April 29th. With 17 nights of sprint car racing excitement scheduled, Northern Sprint Tour will visit tracks in Washington, Oregon and Montana as drivers strive to bring home a victory in their bid for the 2005 Championship before closing the season on September 24th.

Four time Northern Sprint Tour champion, Roger Crockett of Eugene, OR, is expected to return to defend his title with a fifth title in his sights. Many veteran drivers are expected to return in an effort to deny Crockett another championship along with a wealth of new and anxious young drivers.

Among the many veterans returning will be Billy Nutter of Central Point, OR, Everett, WA veteran and past NST champ Rick Fauver, Marvin Smith and Dale Smith out of Cottage Grove, OR, Alberta, Canada drivers Jeff Hodgson of St. Albert, and Dawn-L Morrison of Millet, Idaho drivers Shawn Smith and Randy Pierce, Shelton WA's Jay Cole, Glenn Borden, Raymond, WA and Mark Torres of Snoqualmie, WA.

Marc Huson, a name well known to fans of the northwest, returns to the 2005 NST roster and track wars after several years away from the drivers seat. Always a threat in the past, Huson's return and competitiveness is looked forward too as the Sedro Woolley, WA driver goes pedal to the metal again.

Fans of the 2005 season may well be presented the largest and best field of drivers vying for "Rookie of the Year" honors in the history of the group. Several new names are being mentioned, among them the Jacobson brothers Andy and Travis, Jesse Whitney, Brock Lemley, Josh Dewitt and Jake Mann, all from Washington. British Columbia young lion Travis Rutz ranks high for many as do Oregon drivers Dallas Zuniga and Danny Horner.

If previous achievements at their home tracks carry over to thee 2005 Northern Sprint Tour season, the incoming group of rookies may well make this the most exciting year in NST racing history. Also, many of the veterans may find the bar on the way to the championship has risen.

Once again hosting the opening race of the season, Willamette Speedway will be hoping for blue skies after losing last year's opener to the weather. Drivers and crews will focus their efforts on the tight three-tenths mile clay oval four times during the 2005 season, following up the April 29th opener with shows on May 27th, July 13th and September 16th.

April 30th will see the NST make their first 2005 visit to Grays Harbor Raceway and its high-banked three-eighths oval for the track's 2005 season opening race. Northern Sprint Tour will make repeat visits to the Raceway on July 15th and 16th for the "Evergreen State Sprint Challenge" and on August 25th when they present the "North / South Sprint Challenge" as the opening program for the "Big E Weekend" featuring the World of Outlaws.

Opening a Memorial Day Weekend trio of races will be Willamette Speedway's second NST appearance on May 27th. Following that, action moves to Southern Oregon Speedway in Medford, OR on May 28th. Always exciting, the fast third mile track at SOS provides the southern Oregon fans with some of the best sprint car racing of the year. Drivers and crews will return to SOS again on July 11th to open the 2005 "Northwest Speedweek".

Closing the Memorial Day trio will be the Cottage Grove Speedway race in Cottage Grove, OR on May 27th, as the cars take to the quarter-mile bullring for the first time in 2005. A favorite of many drivers, action is fast and close. Return visits to Cottage Grove will come on July 12th and September 17th.

After an absence of several years, Northern Sprint Tour returns to Electric City Speedway in Great Falls, Montana for a two-day program on June 24th and 25th. While some NST drivers have raced at the track previously, the high-banked three-tenth mile oval will be a new challenge for many and a retest for others. The newness alone should make this two-night event a great one for Montana Sprint Car fans.

July racing for NST drivers centers on "Northwest Speedweek", with five races in six days at four different tracks. Starting at Southern Oregon Speedway on Monday, July 11th, drivers and crews will race at Cottage Grove Speedway on the 12th and Willamette Speedway the 13th. Then on the 15th and 16th the highlight of the season, the "Evergreen State Sprint Challenge" finishes out Speedweek at Grays Harbor Raceway.

New to Speedweek in 2005 is the "Beach Hut Vacation Evergreen State Sprint Challenge Fanfest Party" on Thursday the 14th. It is dedicated to the loyal fans of NST and features a live remote radio broadcast, Car Show & Meet, Greet & Autograph Session, Favorite Driver & Best Appearing Car contest, Great Eats and Drinks and Live Music. Thursday is usually used only as a rest and repair day by the racers but now becomes another exciting day for fans and racers alike.

August's only Northern Sprint Tour race comes on the Thursday, 25th when the first North / South Sprint Challenge with put the best drivers from Canada to California on the Grays Harbor Raceway clay track. This race will also open the "Big E" Weekend, featuring three fun filled days topped off by two nights of the world's best sprint car drivers, the Dirt Inc. "World of Outlaws Sprint Series".

September will see the final 2005 visits to Willamette and Cottage Grove Speedways on the 16th and 17th. The Northern Sprint Tour will again end the season with a two day show at Central Washington State Fair Raceway in Yakima, WA on the 23rd and 24th during the Central Washington State Fair.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Roger Crockett , Shawn Smith