NSC Poll 'Driver of the Year' Fall report

Steve Kinser retains ...

Steve Kinser retains #1 ranking in "Dave Bradway Memorial" Poll.

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (OCT. 3, 2002) - Ageless Steve Kinser of Bloomington, Indiana, a 10-time National Sprint Car Poll "Driver of the Year", shows no sign of slowing down in winged 410-cubic-inch sprint car racing. Kinser is once again the top-ranked driver in the nation, according to the National 410 Sprint Car Poll's voting panel of manufacturers, media members, promoters and sanctioning officials. The Knoxville Nationals and Chico Gold Cup Race of Champions winner earned twenty-six (26) of the twenty-eight (28) first-place ballots cast in the Fall poll, which annually honors the late Dave Bradway, Jr., of Roseville, California.

Defending "Driver of the Year" Danny Lasoski of Higginsville, Missouri, and rising star Craig Dollansky of Elk River, Minnesota, each received one first place vote as they are ranked second and third, respectively. Another one of WoO's young guns, Joey Saldana of Brownsburg, Indiana, is ranked fourth, while recent Williams Grove National Open upset winner Lance Dewease of Fayetteville, Pennsylvania is rated fifth in the country.

Rounding out the top ten drivers are Tim Shaffer of western Pennsylvania, Donny Schatz of North Dakota, Greg Hodnett of Tennessee, Tyler Walker of southern California, and Mark Kinser of Indiana, respectively.

The National 410 Sprint Car Poll is an official awards program of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation, Inc. Other polls include the National 360 Sprint Car Poll, the National Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll, and the Australian National Sprintcar Poll.

<pre> Fall 2002 National 410 Sprint Car Poll: "Dave Bradway, Jr., Memorial"

   Rank  Driver (First Place Votes)  Hometown/State      Points
    1.   Steve Kinser        (26)    Bloomington, IN     2,590
    2.   Danny Lasoski       ( 1)    Higginsville, MO    1,460
    3.   Craig Dollansky     ( 1)    Elk River, MN         682
    4.   Joey Saldana                Brownsburg, IN        661
    5.   Lance Dewease               Fayetteville, PA      434
    6.   Tim Shaffer                 Aliquippa, PA         417
    7.   Donny Schatz                Fargo, ND             408
    8.   Greg Hodnett                Arlington, TN         393
    9.   Tyler Walker                Santa Clarita, CA     371
   10.   Mark Kinser                 Oolitic, IN           351
   11.   Brad Furr                   Dublin, CA            176
   12.   Chad Kemenah                Findlay, OH           162
   13.   Jac Haudenschild            Wooster, OH           144
   14.   Stevie Smith                New Oxford, PA        135
   15.   Tim Kaeding                 Campbell, CA          124
   16.   Daryn Pittman               Owasso, OK            114
   17.   Jeff Shepard                Upperco, MD            98
   18.   Fred Rahmer                 Salfordville, PA       94
   19.   Kenny Jacobs                Holmesville, OH        63
   20.   Shane Stewart               Bixby, OK              54
   21.   Terry McCarl                Pleasant Hill, IA      38
   22.   Randy Hannagan              Brownsburg, IN         32
   23.   Keith Kauffman              Mifflintown, PA        19
   24.   Brent Kaeding               Campbell, CA           17
   25.   Greg Wilson                 Benton Ridge, OH       13

Also receiving multiple votes: P.J. Chesson, Johnny Herrera, Kasey Kahne, Ed Lynch (Jr.), Kerry Madsen, Paul McMahan, Jason Meyers, Joe Roe, Sammy Swindell, Danny Wood, Gary Wright.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Brad Furr , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Tyler Walker , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Joey Saldana , Kerry Madsen , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Shane Stewart , P.J. Chesson , Greg Wil , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Chad Kemenah , Tim Kaeding
Teams Williams