National series Elma preview

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars; $10,092 Up for Grabs in Brownfield Memorial! TULSA, Okla. (July 12, 2010) -- After a quick Saturday night outing in South Dakota, the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters National series moves on to...

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars; $10,092 Up for Grabs in Brownfield Memorial!

TULSA, Okla. (July 12, 2010) -- After a quick Saturday night outing in South Dakota, the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters National series moves on to the Northwest for the second year in a row with this weekend's Fourth Annual Fred Brownfield Memorial at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, WA.

Following a full card of racing action on Friday night, a whopping $10,092 awaits the winner of Saturday night's Brownfield Memorial championship main event atop the 3/8-mile Grays Harbor dirt oval.

The middle portion of the North by Northwest Swing, which is followed by Oregon's Cottage Grove Double on July 23-24, marks the first of four Lucas Oil ASCS National events that will feature a winner's share of $10,000 or more in 2010.

After Saturday's $10,092 to win title, other five-figure events include the $10,000-to-win ASCS Knoxville Nationals finale in Iowa on August 7, Little Rock's 23rd Annual Short Track Nationals $15,000 to-win-finale on October 30 and USA Raceways' $15,000-to-win 43rd Annual Western World Championships finale in Tucson on November 20.

The question is, will this weekend's winner's share stay in the northwest or will one of the invading forces take the big money, as has been the case in the first three editions of the Brownfield Memorial.

Reigning Lucas Oil ASCS National champion Shane Stewart of Bixby, OK, topped the initial two editions of the Fred Brownfield Memorial, while Travis Rilat of Forney, TX, topped the first Memorial event under the ASCS banner last year after Oregon's Roger Crockett rolled across the scales seven pounds below the required minimum.

Louisiana's Jason Johnson, the 2008 ASCS National champion, leads a full contingent of 18 Lucas Oil ASCS title contenders to the Northwest after taking over the top spot on the point charts on Saturday night when Broken Arrow, Oklahoma's Brady Bacon was collected in Austen Wheatley's flip while running fourth.

Johnson posted a fifth-place finish to jump to 28-point lead over the 20-year-old Bacon, who escaped the night just two points ahead of third-ranked Stewart, who collected his first Lucas Oil ASCS National win of the year.

Lanky 20-year-old Nebraska shoe Jack Dover has climbed to fourth in points on the strength of three consecutive runner-up feature finishes, with Kansan Tony Bruce, Jr., just one point ahead of Oklahoma's Zach Chappell in fifth.

Collected in the Wheatley crash as well, three-time ASCS National champion Tim Crawley of Benton, AR, slipped to seventh in points, with veteran Oklahoma shoe Danny Wood in eighth.

California's Kyle Hirst leads the Brodix Rookie of the Year contenders with a ranking of ninth, just 63 points ahead of fellow rookie contender Matt Covington of Glenpool, OK.

Past ASCS National champ and defending Fred Brownfield Memorial winner Travis Rilat is just outside the top ten in points, with other Lucas Oil National contenders including the likes of Little Rock native Ricky Logan and Ohio's Darren Long along with the rest of the rookie crop that includes Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK), 17-year-old Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA), 16-year-old Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA), 19-year-old Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) and Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK).

Coming off a recent Cottage Grove sweep of ASCS Northwest action, Roger Crockett leads the Northwest forces into Grays Harbor. Crockett currently holds a 42-point lead over Jason Solwold in Northwest points, with Seth Bergman, Brock Lemley and Mitch Olson rounding out the current top five. The ASCS Northwest Region is in action this week with the initial three rounds of ASCS Northwest Speedweek in Oregon leading into the Fred Brownfield Memorial.

The Series: Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters

When & Where: Friday night, July 16 at 6:30 p.m. -- Grays Harbor Raceway Saturday night, July 17 at 6:30 p.m. -- Grays Harbor Raceway

Track Information:

Grays Harbor Raceway (Elma, WA) -- 3/8-mile, high-banked clay oval located 21 miles west of US 101 on SR 8 to the junction of US 12, then 0.2miles north, then 0.6 miles east on Elma-McCleary Road. For more information, contact the track at 360-482-4374 or check

Lucas Oil ASCS Grays Harbor Raceway History:

The Lucas Oil Sprint Cars made a Washington debut last year and after Oregon's Roger Crockett topped the preliminary event, it was Texas shoe Travis Rilat pocketing $10,092 in the Third Annual Fred Brownfield Memorial.

-source: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Dustin Morgan , Tim Crawley , Kyle Hirst , Justyn Cox , Roger Crockett , Mitch Olson , Matt Covington , Jason Johnson