NARC Kings Speedway Results 98-08-22

BK CLAIMS SPANKY MATTHEWS MEMORIAL AT GOLDEN STATE FINALE "Randy Hannagan claims 1998 King of California crown" Hanford, CA (August 22) . . . Brent Kaeding laid claim to his first Budweiser Golden State Challenge feature...

BK CLAIMS SPANKY MATTHEWS MEMORIAL AT GOLDEN STATE FINALE "Randy Hannagan claims 1998 King of California crown"

Hanford, CA (August 22) . . . Brent Kaeding laid claim to his first Budweiser Golden State Challenge feature event victory of the season, winning Saturday's Spanky Matthews Memorial at the King of California series finale at Kings Speedway.

Although Kaeding won the race in Al Peterson's Al's Roofing Supply-backed Shaver-Maxim, he surrendered his King of California sprint car crown to Randy Hannagan after a five-year reign as the state champion.

Hannagan, who finished fifth in the nonstop 30-lap contest aboard Terry Hannagan's Gaerte-powered Hurricane, secured the title by a 576-541 point margin after a hard fought 11-race series. He became only the fourth driver in the series 14-year history to win the crown.

Kaeding spent the first half of the seven minute, three second race reeling in his son and polesitter Bud Kaeding. The younger Kaeding, a winner of three of his four NARC career wins at Kings, had the field covered until his efforts were momentarily stalled in slower traffic.

The third generation driver made only one mistake, bobbling trying to get past a slower car exiting the second turn on the 16th circuit. A split second later, his father had the lead and the incentive to search out his 137th career Northern Auto Racing Club victory.

Sixth starter and quick qualifier Randy Tiner overhauled the Bu. Kaeding with only seven lefts left and quickly gained ground on the leader. The two were nose to tail in lapped traffic with less than a half mile remaining, but Kaeding held on to secure the win.

"This was a tough series for my team this year," said Kaeding, after notching the $3,600 payday. "I might have finished second in points, but my team is still number one."

"Spanky Matthews was a good friend of my family," continued Kaeding. "I am just glad that we could win this race for the second year in a row."

Tiner, who set a new 13.125 second one-lap track record in qualifying, settled for the runner-up spot. His adventure came in Rod Tiner's Eldorado Casino-sponsored Tri-C Tiner sprinter.

Sixteen year old Roger Crockett was on the prowl in the final handful of laps. He passed Hanangan, Tommy Tarlton, and Bud Kaeding to earn the show position in Roger Henderson's GT Parts J & J.

Bud Kaeding held onto fourth in George Maciel's Alviso Rock Maxim.

Hannagan was fifth.

"My team worked really hard to earn this title," said Hannagan. "We picked up our maintenance program and tried to go out every night and just be consistent. Consistency is what wins championship and what it takes to beat Brent (Kaeding)."

Rounding out the top ten finishers were Bobby McMahan, 15th starter Greg DeCaires, Steve Kent, Blake Robertson, and Jason Meyers. DeCaires earned the River City Copy & Graphics hardcharger award for his passing job.

Tim Kaeding, McMahan, and Robertson were heat race winners.


FAST TIME: Randy Tiner - 13.125 seconds

SUPERTRAPP FIRST HEAT (10 laps): Tim Kaeding, Randy Hannagan, Steve Kent, Randy Tiner, Jim Taves, Jason Meyers, Jerry Bonemma

LYNCH PRO-FORMANCE PRODUCTS SECOND HEAT (10 laps): Bobby McMahan, Brent Kaeding, Brian Coelho, Roger Crockett, Ryan Bailey, Kevin Pylant, Daniel Hood

MPD RACING PRODUCTS THIRD HEAT (10 laps): Blake Robertson, Bud Kaeding, Greg DeCaires, Tommy Tarlton, Graydon Cross, Ryan Riley, Charlie Louder

30-LAP BUDWEISER SHOOT OUT: Br. Kaeding, Tiner, Crockett, Bu. Kaeding, Hannagan, McMahan, DeCaires, Kent, Robertson, Meyers, Tarlton, Pylant, Cross, Taves, Coelho, Riley, Bailey, Hood, Bonemma, Louder, T. Kaeding.

LAP LEADERS: Bu. Kaeding 1-15, Br. Kaeding 15-30.

BUDWEISER GOLDEN STATE CHALLENGE FINAL KING OF CALIFORNIA POINT STANDINGS - 8/23/98 (AFTER 11 EVENTS IN 11-RACE SERIES) 1. Randy Hannagan 576 2. Brent Kaeding 541 3. Randy Tiner 510 4. Bobby McMahan 493 5. Steve Kent 467 6. Tommy Tarlton 442 7. Kevin Pylant 434 8. Jason Meyers 431 9. Graydon Cross 410 10. Greg DeCaires 393 11. Jim Taves 390 12. Peter Murphy 349 13. Jason Statler 341 14. Brian Coelho 325 15. Todd Bammer 279 16. Jason York 266 17. Lee Brewer 264 18. Bud Kaeding 263 19. Daniel Hood 260 20. Paul McMahan 222

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Bud Kaeding , Jason Meyers , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Tim Kaeding , Jason Statler , Bobby McMahan , Peter Murphy , Jason York , Roger Crockett