MSA Monster Hall Raceway results 2003-036-15

Unity, WI - Troy Wondra drove off with another Midwest Sprintcar Association feature win Sunday June 15th at Monster Hall Raceway. Doug Schenck moved into the season points lead holding a narrow margin. Lloyd Dykstra jumped out to the lead from...

Unity, WI - Troy Wondra drove off with another Midwest Sprintcar Association feature win Sunday June 15th at Monster Hall Raceway. Doug Schenck moved into the season points lead holding a narrow margin.

Lloyd Dykstra jumped out to the lead from the front row with Kenjay Fiedler in hot pursuit with the pair putting some distance on the field. A fourth lap caution erased the lead and with the return to action Wondra bided his time slipping past both Fiedler and Dykstra a couple laps later. While Wondra's car improved, Fiedler's faded a bit as first Leroy Ostrowski then K.J. Skelton advanced.

After the race, an elated Wondra said "the car really hooked up for me, I started hunting for traction and found the car was sticking anywhere on the track". Wondra would go on to claim the checker in the 20 lap race, Dykstra followed in second and Ostrowski third. Skelton and Schenck both advanced well to round out the top five.

Fiedler held on to the sixth spot and Al Schlafer finished seventh. Lance Fassbender and Scott Conger both had impressive runs advancing seven spots to finish eighth and ninth. Michael Emme recovered from an opening lap spin returning to the ten. Andy Hunt finished 11th, and rookie Jeff Harder advanced nine spots to claim the KSE Hard Charger award finishing 12th.

In the Triton Trailers B-Main, Lance Fassbender and Kenjay Fiedler went wheel to wheel for several laps before Fassbender was able to edge out the lead over Fiedler. A mid race red flag was brought out for Mark Wernes Jr. and Chris Wiser, Wiser was tipped over onto his wing however repairs were made in time for Wiser to return to the action. Fassbender would notch the win, Fiedler followed in second. Rounding out the top seven transferring were Andy Hunt, T.J. Luedke, Jeff Becker, Jeff Harder and Chris Wiser.

In the Hepfner Race Products first heat, K.J. Skelton darted out to first lead to handily take the checkers, David O'Neal followed in second. The second heat sponsored by JB Enterprises had Keith Olejnik jumping out from the front row to take the win and holding off the hard advances of Al Schlafer.

The MPD third heat was a wild opening lap battle as Danny Schalfer and Troy Wondra swapped the lead several times, Schlafer held on for the win with Michael Emme entering the fray and finishing second. The Wisconsin PC Fast Time Award went to Doug Schenck with a fast lap of 14.004.

The next appearance for the MSA will be at Hales Corners Speedway, Franklin, in a co-appearance with the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association on Friday June 28th. For all of the latest standings, results, pictures and more, visit the MSA website at

Midwest Sprintcar Association - Results for Jun 15, 2003

Feature -- 1. Troy Wondra, Lomira, WI; 2. Lloyd Dykstra, Waupun, WI; 3. Leroy Ostrowski, Milwaukee, WI; 4. K. J. Skelton, Cascade, WI; 5. Doug Schenck, Madison, WI; 6. Kenjay Fiedler, Sheboygan, WI; 7. Al Schlafer, Sussex, WI; 8. Scott Conger, Eagle, WI; 9. Lance Fassbender, Horicon, WI; 10. Michael Emme, Manitowoc, WI; 11. Andy Hunt, Randolph, WI; 12. Jeff Harder, Glenbeulah, WI; 13. Keith Olejnik, Sun Prarie, WI; 14. Bill Taylor, Cascade, WI; 15. Chris Wiser, Neosho, WI; 16. Jeff Becker, Kiel, WI; 17. Chad Tessman, Jefferson, WI; 18. Jerry Ski, Milwaukee, WI; 19. David O'Neal, Milwaukee, WI; 20. Danny Schlafer, Sussex, WI; 21. Dean Erfurth, Oregon, WI; 22. Tim Haddy, Lomira, WI; DNS T.J. Luedke, Plymouth, WI.

B-Main Feature -- 1. Fassbender; 2. Fiedler; 3. Hunt; 4. Luedke; 5. Becker; 6. Harder; 7. Wiser; 8. Tessman; 9. Alex Bliesner, Adell, WI; 10. Joe Pantely, Beaver Dam, WI; 11. Mark Wernes Jr., West Allis, WI.

Heat Race -- First: 1. Skelton; 2. O'Neal; 3. Conger; 4. Ostrowski; 5. Taylor; 6. Fiedler; 7. Wernes; 8. Bliesner; 9. Luedke. Second: 1. Olejnik; 2. Al Schlafer; 3. Ski; 4. Haddy; 5. Dykstra; 6. Becker; 7. Hunt; 8. Wiser; 9. Tessman. Third: 1. Danny Schlafer; 2. Emme; 3. Erfurth; 4. Schenck; 5. Wondra; 6. Fassbender; 7. Harder; 8. Pantely;

Time Trials - 1. Schenck, 14.004; 2. Haddy, 14.186; 3. O'Neal, 14.223; 4. Emme, 14.308; 5. Al Schlafer, 14.310; 6. Skelton, 14.369; 7. Erfurth, 14.474; 8. Ski, 14.588; 9. Ostrowski, 14.599; 10. Wondra, 14.605; 11. Dykstra, 14.729; 12. Fiedler, 14.781; 13. Danny Schlafer, 14.805; 14. Olejnik, 14.809; 15. Conger, 14.883; 16. Fassbender, 14.886; 17. Becker, 14.957; 18. Wernes, 14.958; 19. Luedke, 14.969; 20. Tessman, 15.286; 21. Harder, 15.363; 22. Taylor, 15.407; 23. Wiser, 15.470; 24. Pantely, 15.625; 25. Bliesner, 16.327; 26. Hunt, 90.000.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Jeff Becker