Mission Valley Speedway Results 2000-07-08

Mission Valley Speedway Saturday, July 8th, 2000 By: Stefanie Nordberg Pablo, MT - A record-breaking crowd welcomed the NSRA Winged Sprints first appearance in Montana this past Saturday at Mission Valley Speedway here! 21 open-wheeled, 1500...

Mission Valley Speedway Saturday, July 8th, 2000
By: Stefanie Nordberg

Pablo, MT - A record-breaking crowd welcomed the NSRA Winged Sprints first appearance in Montana this past Saturday at Mission Valley Speedway here! 21 open-wheeled, 1500 pound, cars hailing from as far away as Victoria, British Columbia, to Utah, Washington, and Oregon made the trek to Mission Valley.

The Jore Corporation of Ronan was the trophy sponsor of the night as well as partial sponsor of the NSRA purse. Leslie Olsen, a Ronan high school 2000 graduate, and daughter of Lynn and Kathy Olsen of Pablo, made trophy presentations. Special thanks to Dick and Glen Wunderlich who provided the trophy cars of the evening, a 99 Plymouth Prowler as well as a 99 Dodge Viper!

During time trials a new record for track speed was set by sprint driver #17, Trevor "Tornado" Montgomery of Victoria, BC, posting a 12.44 second lap on the 3/8th mile tri-oval track! Prior to the sprints arrival, the fasted lap at MVS had been held by Formula Indy driver Frank Miller of Lolo, a 14.87.

The winged sprints ran three heat races, 3 trophy dash's as well as a 35 lap main event! It is said that if a sprint car main event runs "green, white, checkered" with no yellow or red flag interruptions, the 35 laps are done in less than 9 minutes! Saturday night's main had several pile-ups however and ran considerably longer, giving the crowd quite a grand show!

Of the 7 individual NSRA Winged Sprint car races held, a different driver won each race! During the NSRA 35 lap main, driver #25, Mike Baisch of West Valley City, Utah took and held the lead for the majority of the race. However, driver #15, Craig Deaver of Sumner, Washington sped past Baisch on turn one during the last third of the race! Deaver held the lead taking the checkered!

Along with the sprints, the MVAR classes of Super Stocks and Krusers ran. Three Super Stock drivers that had not ran yet during this 2000 season at MVS made a showing for the nights racing.

Newcomer to the Super Stocks, #25, Kirk Hennefer, who had ran a Formula Indy at MVS during the 1999 season, took home the trophy dash win! Pablo driver #33, Mike Lyons had some bad luck during the dash, he and #9, Chris DeReu of Columbia Falls wrecked on turn one of the second lap. The incident caused Lyons car to be unable to run in the Heat or Main event races.

DeReu made his comeback with a win in the Heat race, holding off Ronan's Tracy Burland. Two laps into the 20 lap Super Stock Main event, Shawn Burland, #38 spun out on turn four, causing Don Nestegard, #6, to lock up his brakes, smoking his tires avoiding a collision with Burland! This caused the only red flag restart of the race. Tracy Burland, #7 held the lead the entire race, stretching out an impressive lead ahead of DeReu, #9. This was Burland's first Main event win in the Super Stock class!

The Kruser class ran a six-lap trophy dash, however their Main will be rescheduled for another date in the future. On the first lap out of the dash, the team of Lucas & Eaton, car #110 hit and put car #181, Ed & Dennis Stevenson out of commission! Lucas & Eaton were black flagged and had to pull to the pits. This left the teams of Steinebach & Emmett in car #155 and Duane & Justin Drake in car #169 in the race. Steinebach & Emmett passed the Drake team on lap four and held it for the win!

Next week will be the Mission Valley Auto's 5th Annual Ladies Night Out Race, the Budweiser Compacts, the MGD Light Hobby Stocks, and the Bombers. Also on tap is the 2nd Annual $1,000.00 Dollar cash blow away!

Twenty lucky spectators that buy programs will have their numbers called, getting the chance to grab as much cash as they can. $1,000.00 cash will be dropped from the bucket of a boom truck above the participants! They take home every dollar they can grab!

RACE RESULTS Saturday, July 8th, 2000

NSRA WINGED SPRINTS Fast time of the night: #17 Trevor "Tornado" Montgomery 12.44 Heat C: 1) Rick Brown, 2) Allen Goetz Heat B: 1) Randy Bauer, 2) Montgomery, 3) Todd Coleman Heat A: 1) Brett Marquardt, 2) Geoff Wade, 3) Craig Deaver Dash C: 1) Rick Leighty, 2) Marquardt, 3) Rich Leighty Dash B: 1) Mike Basher, 2) Michael Newman, 3) Randy Dubois Dash A: 1) Mike Baisch, 2) Bauer, 3) Deaver Main: 1) Deaver, 2) Baisch

SUPER STOCKS Fast time of the night: #9 Chris DeReu 16.00 Trophy Dash: 1) Kirk Hennefer, 2) Tracy Burland, 3) DeReu, 4) Mike Lyons Heat: 1) DeReu, 2) T.Burland, 3) Hennefer, 4) Shawn Burland, 5) Don Nestegard Main: 1) T.Burland, 2) DeReu, 3) Hennefer, 4) Nestegard, 5) S. Burland

DUAL CONTROLLED KRUSERS Fast time of the night: #110 Bud Lucas & Lee Eaton 21.90 Trophy Dash: 1) Randy Steinebach & Shawn Emmett, 2) Duane & Justin Drake Main: Unable to run due to safety reasons..will run at later date.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint