Midwest Region I-80 debut race summary

McCarl the Master in ASCS Midwest Region Debut at I-80! GREENWOOD, Neb. (April 15, 2005) -- Terry McCarl etched his name into the American Sprint Car Series records books by charging from the 16th starting slot to top Friday night's...

McCarl the Master in ASCS Midwest Region Debut at I-80!

GREENWOOD, Neb. (April 15, 2005) -- Terry McCarl etched his name into the American Sprint Car Series records books by charging from the 16th starting slot to top Friday night's inaugural 20-lap feature for the ASCS Midwest Region as 46 cars filled the pit area at Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway.

After chasing down Don Droud, Jr., on the eighth round to win the evening's second "B" Main, McCarl raced through the field and took advantage of a late caution to overtake race long pacesetter Brian Brown on the 16th round en route to victory lane aboard Mark Burch's Morgan Farms/Engler Tool & Machine/Big Game Tree Stands No. 1m Wolfweld machine.

"We caught a little break with that last caution, I'm not too sure we could have caught Brown without it," McCarl commented in victory lane.

While McCarl gridded the feature field outside the eighth row, Brown led the way to green flag after racing from eighth to win the evening's fourth heat race with first heat race winner Jason Martin alongside.

After a pair of waved off attempts, the second of which followed Gary Taylor's hard ride in turn one after contact with the wall, Brown jumped into the early lead with Martin, Tony Bruce, Jr., Mike Chadd and Billy Alley in pursuit, while McCarl advanced eight positions to eighth on the opening circuit.

Following a lap four caution for Natalie Sather's second unassisted spin in turn four, Alley made a quick move to third as McCarl broke into the top five.

Brown proceeded to slip away from Martin and company as Chadd battled past Alley for third on the seventh round with McCarl moving Alley another spot back the next time around. Lapped traffic on the tenth round did little to deter Brown's quick pace as the battle for second heated up in his wake.

With Brown a half straightaway ahead, Chadd took second from Martin on the twelfth circuit, with McCarl advancing to third the next time around. McCarl raced past Chadd for the runner-up spot on the 14th lap with the caution flying moments later for Brock Dump's disabled mount in turn three, setting up a six-lap dash to the checkered flag.

With McCarl, Alley and Chadd nipping at his heels on the restart, Brown stuck to the low side to preserve his lead. McCarl deftly took to the high side and swept into the lead exiting turn four upon the completion of the 16th lap.

McCarl raced to the checkered flag unabated over the final four laps, with Alley disposing of Brown as well to claim the runner-up slot after starting sixth. Brown settled for the show position, as Chadd nipped Martin at the line for fourth.

Bruce, Jr., settled for sixth after battling amongst the top-five all the way, with 18th-starter Droud, Jr., in seventh. Jake Peters crossed the stripe in eighth, with 15th-starter Toby Chapman and Seth Brahmer completing the top ten.

Martin claimed the first checkered flag in ASCS Midwest Region action by topping the first heat race, with Peters, Brahmer, Brown and Bruce, Jr., winning the ensuing heats. Bruce, Jr., was awarded the victory in the fifth heat when apparent winner Chuck Swenson earned a disqualification by weighing in at 1,470 pounds, five pounds under the required minimum.

Chapman picked up the victory in the first 12-lap "B" Main when apparent winner Johnn Cressman failed to report directly to the scales with McCarl topping the second "B" Main.

The opening lap of the first "B" Main was marred by a frightening crash that involved Gene Ackland and Terry Ledger. Ackland flipped into the inside railing as a pack of cars bunched up down the backstretch, with Ledger caught up in the melee. As Ackland flipped inside the railing and landed aflame, the barrier went through Ledger's cockpit. While Ackland was unscathed, Ledger was eventually extricated from his mount and life-flighted to an Omaha hospital where he is listed in fair and stable condition with facial injuries including a broken eye socket, nose and jaw.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Jeff Lowery, 3. John Klabunde, 4. Jay Russell, 5. C.J. Johnson, 6. Lyle Howey III, 7. Terry Ledger, 8. Joe Beaver, 9. Bruce Divis, 10. Dean Chadd.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jake Peters, 2. Kerry Grabill, 3. Brock Dump, 4. Johnn Cressman, 5. Ken Klabunde, 6. Terry Hinck, 7. Bobby Becker, 8. Kevin Hulse, 9. Larry Lapoint.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Seth Brahmer, 2. Gary Taylor, 3. Billy Alley, 4. Don Droud, Jr., 5. Dusty Zomer, 6. Jason Danley, 7. Frankie Heimbaugh, 8. Bryan Gossel, 9. Keith Rauch.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Brian Brown, 2. Chad Humston, 3. Mike Gabelhouse, 4. A.J. Selenke, 5. Rick Ideus, 6. Shawn Van Wyhe, 7. Mike Boston, 8. Gene Ackland. DNS: Dirk Mitchell.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. Mike Chadd, 3. Natalie Sather, 4. Terry McCarl, 5. Toby Chapman, 6. Chris Roseland, 7. Gage Dorr. DNS: Doug Lovegrove. Disqualified: Chuck Swenson (weighed in five pounds too light after taking the checkered flag in first place).

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Toby Chapman, 2. Terry Hinck, 3. Joe Beaver, 4. Frankie Heimbaugh, 5. Dusty Zomer, 6. John Klabunde, 7. Lyle Howey III, 8. Gage Dorr, 9. Larry Lapoint, 10. Mike Gabelhouse, 11. Shawn Van Wyhe, 12. Terry Ledger, 13. Gene Ackland. DNS: Dean Chadd, Doug Lovegrove. Disqualified: Johnn Cressman (failed to report directly to scales after taking the checkered flag in first).

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Terry McCarl, 2. Don Droud, Jr., 3. Rick Ideus, 4. Chuck Swenson, 5. C.J. Johnson, 6. Ken Klabunde, 7. Jason Danley, 8. A.J. Selenke, 9. Mike Boston, 10. Chris Roseland, 11. Keith Rauch, 12. Bryan Gossel, 13. Bobby Becker. DNS: Kevin Hulse, Bruce Divis, Dirk Mitchell.

A Feature (20 Laps): 1. Terry McCarl, 2. Billy Alley, 3. Brian Brown, 4. Mike Chadd, 5. Jason Martin, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Don Droud, Jr., 8. Jake Peters, 9. Toby Chapman, 10. Seth Brahmer, 11. Kerry Grabill, 12. Chad Humston, 13. Rick Ideus, 14. Jeff Lowery, 15. Joe Beaver, 16. Terry Hinck, 17. Jay Russell, 18. Brock Dump, 19. Natalie Sather, 20. Gary Taylor.

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Terry McCarl 150, 2. Billy Alley 146, 3. Brian Brown 144, 4. Mike Chadd 142, 5. Jason Martin 140, 6. Don Droud, Jr. 138, 7. Jake Peters 136, 8. Toby Chapman 134, 9. Seth Brahmer 132, 10. Kerry Grabill 130.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brian Brown , C.J. Johnson , Gary Taylor