Midwest Region Cameron results 2006-09-08

Morgan Tops ASCS Midwest Region Season Finale at US 36 Raceway CAMERON, Mo. (September 8, 2006) -- Chris Morgan collected his first career American Sprint Car Series feature win in grand style by wiring the field in Friday night's ...

Morgan Tops ASCS Midwest Region Season Finale at US 36 Raceway

CAMERON, Mo. (September 8, 2006) -- Chris Morgan collected his first career American Sprint Car Series feature win in grand style by wiring the field in Friday night's season-ending 25-lap feature for the ASCS Midwest Region at U.S. 36 Raceway.

Morgan earned the pole position for the feature with a last corner pass to win the evening's third heat race then gunned into the lead at the outset, pacing the field the distance aboard the Redtail Paint & Body No. 7c Eagle.

"It's about time, we were needing a win bad," Morgan commented afterward. "I'm always nervous when I start up front because all the pressure is on you then, and I stayed pretty nervous the whole race."

While Morgan scored his first career series win, it was Lincoln, Nebraska's Toby Chapman putting the finishing touches on the 2006 ASCS Midwest Region championship aboard Rick and Michele Bowers' Eckley-powered Select Auto Body No. 84 Maxim with a strong fourth-place run.

Morgan outgunned outside front row starter Larry Pinegar for the point at the drop of the green flag, with Johnny Anderson chasing the lead pair in the opening circuits. Anderson, an ASCS Midwest Region winner last year at U.S. 36 Raceway, made his way past Pinegar for second by the sixth lap and set his sights on the leader.

Anderson closed to Morgan's tailtank and pressured the leader for several rounds before Morgan opened up a slight lead. Morgan encountered lapped traffic on the 15th circuit and effectively put the race away with a nifty move around a pair of cars to open up an advantage.

Morgan charged to the stripe unabated in front of Anderson, with Pinegar taking the show position. Chapman claimed fourth, with Mike Chadd rounding out the top five. Rick Ideus picked off a pair of positions in the latter stages to snare sixth, with Tracy Nichols, Joe Beaver, Jay Jordan and 18th-starter Skip Jackson completing the top ten.

The feature was interrupted by a wild tangle exiting turn four on the fifth round when Rodney Droud looped his mount, collecting a handful of cars in the process. Droud was eliminated from the race along with Jay Russell, Devin Frisbie and Jack Dover. Mark Pace rejoined the chase after spending a few minutes with medical personnel.

Anderson, Pinegar, Morgan and Chapman topped heat race action, with Randy Hibbs winning the 15-lap "B" Main.

Josh Higday held down second in the "B" Main until tagging the turn two fencing after encountering a lapped car. Higday restarted at the tail but was unable to climb back up to a transfer position.

Brian Brown suffered engine problems in hot laps and scratched for the night.

ASCS Midwest Region Results:

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 2. 4-Mike Chadd, 3. 15-Jon Corbin, 4. 2d-Rodney Droud, 5. 71-Mike Trent, 6. 23-Eric Jobe, 7. 11-Tyler Thompson. DNS: 21-Brian Brown.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 7w-Larry Pinegar, 2. 53-Joe Beaver, 3. 5b-Rick Ideus, 4. 24-Josh Higday, 5. 18-Tim Newman, 6. 9-Rager Phillips, 7. 7-Dustin Selvage.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. 7c-Chris Morgan, 2. 5ma-Mallory Armfield, 3. 38F-Devin Frisbie, 4. 76-Jay Russell, 5. 1m-Skip Jackson, 6. 53x-Jack Dover, 7. 38-Todd Frisbie.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. 84-Toby Chapman, 2. 19-Tracy Nichols, 3. 19J-Jay Jordan, 4. 2a-Randy Hibbs, 5. 31-Mark Pace, 6. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 7. 38k-Kevin Frisbie.

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. 2a-Randy Hibbs, 2. 71-Mike Trent, 3. 76-Jay Russell, 4. 2d-Rodney Droud, 5. 31-Mark Pace, 6. 1m-Skip Jackson, 7. 53x-Jack Dover, 8. 9-Rager Phillips, 9. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 10. 23-Eric Jobe, 11. 7-Dustin Selvage, 12. 24-Josh Higday, 13. 38-Todd Frisbie, 14. 38k-Kevin Frisbie, 15. 18-Tim Newman, 16. 11-Tyler Thompson. DNS: 21-Brian Brown.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7c-Chris Morgan, 2. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 3. 7w-Larry Pinegar, 4. 84-Toby Chapman, 5. 4-Mike Chadd, 6. 5b-Rick Ideus, 7. 19-Tracy Nichols, 8. 53-Joe Beaver, 9. 19J-Jay Jordan, 10. 1m-Skip Jackson, 11. 2a-Randy Hibbs, 12. 9-Rager Phillips, 13. 71-Mike Trent, 14. 31-Mark Pace, 15. 15-Jon Corbin, 16. 2d-Rodney Droud, 17. 76-Jay Russell, 18. 38F-Devin Frisbie, 19. 53x-Jack Dover, 20. 5ma-Mallory Armfield.

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Toby Chapman 1,594, 2. Jack Dover 1,501, 3. Mike Chadd 1,475, 4. Rick Ideus 1,393, 5. Jason Danley 1,211, 6. Mark Pace 1,109, 7. Jake Peters 1,099, 8. Chad Humston 1,039, 9. Luke Cranston 989, 10. Chuck Swenson 968.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brian Brown , Chris Morgan