Midwest/Northern Plains I-80 results 2007-04-14

Brown Best in ASCS Regional Showdown Opener at I-80 GREENWOOD, Neb. (April 14, 2007) -- Missouri's Brian Brown continued his mastery of Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway by wiring the field in Saturday night's 20-lap American...

Brown Best in ASCS Regional Showdown Opener at I-80

GREENWOOD, Neb. (April 14, 2007) -- Missouri's Brian Brown continued his mastery of Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway by wiring the field in Saturday night's 20-lap American Sprint Car Series Midwest vs. Northern Plains Region feature event.

Starting from the pole aboard Tim and Gina Doogs' Ostrich-powered Maxim Racing No. 21, Brown weathered a pair of aborted starts then charged to his fourth victory in five ASCS outings atop the I-80 Speedway clay, besting a field of 53 entries in the process.

"The track was fast and this Maxim Chassis with Ostrich power was awesome," Brown commented from victory lane. "This place and Knoxville are two of my favorites. I love taking the Kosiski's money and I hope to take some more tomorrow night."

The initial attempt to start the feature was red-flagged when Jake Peters and Ricky Montgomery tangled in spectacular fashion on the frontstretch, with Peters' mount ripped apart. The ensuing start brought more of the same, as Chad Humston and Gregg Bakker crashed violently. There were no reported injuries.

With the 20-car field reduced to thirteen, Brown took off on the third try and cruised to the win in non-stop fashion. Brown lapped up to sixth place, taking the checkered flag with nearly a half-lap advantage.

Wayne Johnson and Scott Winters battled in side-by-side fashion over the first half of the race before Johnson took the spot for keeps. Defending ASCS Northern Plains Region champion Chuck Swenson took the third position at the stripe, with Clint Garner and Don Droud, Jr., rounding out the top five.

Skip Jackson advanced nine positions to finish sixth, with 20th-starter Rick Ideus, 17th-starter J.D. Johnson, outside front row starter Mike Boston and Jeff Mitrisin completing the top ten.

Heat race victories were claimed by Mitrisin, Boston, Johnson, Humston and Swenson, with Bakker and Peters besting the "B" Mains.

ASCS Midwest vs. Northern Plains Region Results from I-80 Speedway:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 2. 40-Clint Garner, 3. 6-Jody Rosenboom, 4. 5-Rick Ideus, 5. 11X-Gregg Bakker, 6. 2-Bryan Dobesh, 7. 45x-C.J. Johnson, 8. 3-Jeff Griffis, 9. 31-Mark Pace, 10. 43-A.J. Selenke, 11. 81-Jon Freeman.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 51-Mike Boston, 2. 21-Brian Brown, 3. 57X-Jake Peters, 4. 53-Jack Dover, 5. 13-Seth Brahmer, 6. 98-J.D. Johnson, 7. 4-Mike Chadd, 8. 2D-Stu Snyder, 9. 2x-Josh Higday, 10. 82-Jason Danley, 11. 28-Ken Klabunde.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 94-Wayne Johnson, 2. 9M-Ricky Montgomery, 3. 1x-Don Droud, Jr., 4. 18-Ryan Roberts, 5. 27-Patrick Bourke, 6. 20G-Chris Graf, 7. 2G-Kerry Grabill, 8. 11P-Preston Peebles II, 9. 17B-Ryan Bickett, 10. 5MA-Mallory Armfield, 11. 7-Roger Sundquist.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 23C-Chad Humston, 2. 71-Tige Jensen, 3. R19-Scott Winters, 4. 9N-Wade Nygaard 5. 53X-Joe Beaver, 6. 84-Toby Chapman, 7. 5L-Eric Lutz, 8. 87-Curt Lund, 9. 99V-Gordy Vogelaar, 10. 96KX-Adam Gullion.

Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. X-Chuck Swenson, 2. 1M-Skip Jackson, 3. 94S-Natalie Sather, 4. 20-Dusty Ballenger, 5. 5X-Dave Glennon, 6. 4J-Lee Grosz, 7. 76-Jay Russell, 8. 99-Shawn Van Wyhe, 9. 17-Gage Dorr, 10. 00-Larry Pinegar II.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 51-Mike Boston, 3. R19-Scott Winters, 4. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 5. 23C-Chad Humston, 6. 94-Wayne Johnson.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 11X Gregg Bakker, 2. 1M-Skip Jackson, 3. 98-J.D. Johnson, 4. 6-Jody Rosenboom, 5. 94S-Natalie Sather, 6. 3-Jeff Griffis, 7. 53X-Joe Beaver, 8. 27-Patrick Bourke, 9. 2X-Josh Higday, 10. 76-Jay Russell, 11. 2G-Kerry Grabill, 12. 45X-C.J. Johnson, 13. 20G-Chris Graf, 14. 82-Jason Danley, 15. 17-Gage Dorr, 16. 7-Roger Sundquist, 17. 5X-Dave Glennon, 18. 99V-Gordy Vogelaar, 19. 81-Jon Freeman, 20. 00-Larry Pinegar II, 21. 96KX-Adam Gullion.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 57X-Jake Peters, 2. 9N-Wade Nygaard, 3. 4-Mike Chadd, 4. 5-Rick Ideus, 5. 53-Jack Dover, 6. 2-Bryan Dobesh, 7. 11P-Preston Peebles II, 8. 13-Seth Brahmer, 9. 2D-Stu Snyder, 10. 4J-Lee Grosz, 11. 87-Curt Lund, 12. 20-Dusty Ballenger, 13. 84-Toby Chapman, 14. 17B-Ryan Bickett, 15. 5L-Eric Lutz, 16. 28-Ken Klabunde, 17. 99-Shawn Van Wyhe, 18. 5MA-Mallory Armfield, 19. 31-Mark Pace, 20. 43-A.J. Selenke.

A Feature (20 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 94-Wayne Johnson, 3. X-Chuck Swenson, 4. 40-Clint Garner, 5. 1X-Don Droud, Jr. 6. 1M-Skip Jackson, 7. 5-Rick Ideus, 8. 98-J.D. Johnson, 9. 51-Mike Boston, 10. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 11. 18-Ryan Roberts, 12. 71-Tige Jensen, 13. R19-Scott Winters, 14. 23C-Chad Humston, 15. 9M-Ricky Montgomery, 16. 11X-Gregg Bakker, 17. 57X-Jake Peters, 18. 4-Mike Chadd, 19. 6-Jody Rosenboom, 20. 9N-Wade Nygaard.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Preston Peebles , Jeff Mitrisin , Brian Brown , Robert Ryan , C.J. Johnson , Jody Rosenboom , Wayne Johnson