LOS 360 Nationals Sunday results

LOS 360 Nationals Sunday results
Sep 6, 2004, 6:50 PM

Stewart Sweeps O'Reilly ASCS LOS 360 Nationals for $5k Payday ELDON, Mo. (September 5, 2004) - Shane Stewart completed a sweep of the inaugural Lake Ozark Speedway 360 Nationals by racing to a wire-to-wire victory in Sunday night's ...

Stewart Sweeps O'Reilly ASCS LOS 360 Nationals for $5k Payday

ELDON, Mo. (September 5, 2004) - Shane Stewart completed a sweep of the inaugural Lake Ozark Speedway 360 Nationals by racing to a wire-to-wire victory in Sunday night's 30-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and Classic trailers feature event.

After fending off Gary Wright as the pair dealt with lapped traffic in the race's mid-stages, Stewart raced to a half straightaway victory in the final rounds to pocket Sunday night's $5,000 winner's share, running his weekend sweep total to $6,500.

"Man, lapped traffic was killing me," Stewart exclaimed after his third ASCS National Tour triumph of the season. "Eric (Manfrass) and Brendan (Telfer) did a great job getting the Wesmar-powered mIn Motorsports Maxim dialed in, the car was awesome again tonight."

After winning Saturday night's preliminary event, Stewart led the 26-car feature field to the green flag with Jason Johnson alongside. Stewart jumped into the early lead, with third-starter Gary Wright quickly moving into second.

After a lap two caution for Eric Schrock's turn three spin, the next 21 laps were run in non-stop fashion, with Stewart and Wright racing away from the field. Stewart held a six car-length advantage over Wright until lapped traffic came into play after nine rounds.

Wright closed to Stewart's rear bumper as the pair delicately worked through lapped traffic. Stewart stuck flawlessly to the preferred low line, never allowing Wright an opportunity to slip underneath.

The lead duo was mired behind a trio of lapped machines on the 24th round when Sam Hafertepe, Jr., spun in turn two and collected Aaron Berryhill, precipitating a caution period. The caution flew again one lap later for debris in turn four. On the ensuing restart, Toby Brown's strong run ended when he spun entering turn three while battling Garry Lee Maier for fourth.

Set for a six-lap dash to the checkered flag, Stewart broke away from Wright and raced to the checkered flag with a comfortable advantage aboard Scott Chilcutt's mIn Motorsports/Rudeen Racing No. 4m, with Wright settling for second.

Johnson held the show position throughout, while Tim Montgomery, the only driver successfully utilizing the high line, turned in the strongest passing performance of the feature by charging from 21st to fourth, giving Wesmar powerplants a sweep of the top four finishing positions. After surrendering fourth to Montgomery on the 28th lap, Maier settled for a fifth place finish.

A.G. Rains raced amongst the lead pack throughout before crossing the stripe in sixth, with Zach Chappell in seventh. Brian Brown was eighth, with Rob Standridge and Lake Ozark Speedway point leader Randy Martin completing the top ten.

Rains, Brian Brown, Standridge, Maier and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., topped heat race action for Sunday night's 47-car field, with Darren Stewart and Tracy Nichols splitting victory honors in the twin 12-lap B Mains.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. A.G. Rains, 2. Randy Martin, 3. Zach Chappell, 4. Eric Jobe, 5. Eric VanderPloeg, 6. Tim Montgomery, 7. Jon Corbin, 8. Adam Jones, 9. Steve Beach.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Brian Brown, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Tony Crank, 4. Tracy Nichols, 5. Cody Branchcomb, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Lanny Carpenter, 8. Johnny Anderson, 9. Ed Wagner.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Rob Standridge, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. Jimmy Taylor, 4. Terry Hinck, 5. Aaron Berryhill, 6. Frank Brown, 7. Hunter Schuerenberg, 8. Eric Schrock, 9. J.P. Bailey.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Garry Lee Maier, 2. Jesse Hockett, 3. Ron Standridge, 4. Bryan Grimes, 5. Eddie Rhine, 6. Stan Boch, 7. Mace May. Disqualified: Jeff Stanley (failed to report to scales after finishing first).

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 2. Mike Trent, 3. Marshall Skinner, 4. Darren Stewart, 5. Bobby Hawks, 6. Dean Adams, Jr., 7. Rex Combs, 8. Doug Wilson.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. Tim Montgomery, 3. Terry Hinck, 4. Ron Standridge, 5. Lanny Carpenter, 6. Bryan Grimes, 7. Eric VanderPloeg, 8. Doug Wilson, 9. Eddie Rhine, 10. Ed Wagner, 11. Jeff Stanley, 12. Mace May, 13. Rex Combs, 14. Eric Schrock, 15. Frank Brown.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Tracy Nichols, 2. Cody Branchcomb, 3. Aaron Berryhill, 4. Johnny Anderson, 5. Jon Corbin, 6. J.P. Bailey, 7. Dean Adams, Jr., 8. Bobby Hawks, 9. Hunter Schuerenberg, 10. Adam Jones, 11. Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. Steve Beach, 13. Eric Jobe, 14. Stan Boch.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Jason Johnson, 4. Tim Montgomery, 5. Garry Lee Maier, 6. A.G. Rains, 7. Zach Chappell, 8. Brian Brown, 9. Rob Standridge, 10. Randy Martin, 11. Cody Branchcomb, 12. Darren Stewart, 13. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 14. Marshall Skinner, 15. Jesse Hockett, 16. Mike Trent, 17. Travis Rilat, 18. Jimmy Taylor, 19. Tracy Nichols, 20. Terry Hinck, 21. Toby Brown, 22. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 23. Aaron Berryhill, 24. Bryan Grimes, 25. Eric Schrock, 26. Tony Crank.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Gary Wright 3,906, 2. Travis Rilat 3,808, 3. Zach Chappell 3,692, 4. Garry Lee Maier 3,275, 5. Toby Brown 3,209, 6. Darren Stewart 3,129, 7. A.G. Rains 2,975, 8. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,812, 9. Jimmy Taylor 2,712, 10. Cody Branchcomb 2,568, 11. Natalie Sather 2,336, 12. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,953, 13. Shane Stewart 1,694, 14. Marshall Skinner 1,480, 15. Tim Crawley 1,461.


Next Sprint article
ALLSTAR: Lernerville results 2004-09-03

Previous article

ALLSTAR: Lernerville results 2004-09-03

Next article

Rocky Mountain Region Colby results 2004-09-05

Rocky Mountain Region Colby results 2004-09-05
Load comments