Little Rock race results 2003-09-06

Stewart strikes again in O'Reilly ASCS action at Little Rock LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (September 6, 2003) - Shane Stewart completed a sweep of the weekend's racing action for the O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's ...

Stewart strikes again in O'Reilly ASCS action at Little Rock

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (September 6, 2003) - Shane Stewart completed a sweep of the weekend's racing action for the O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers by wiring the field in Saturday night's 30-lap feature at I-30 Speedway.

"The car was awesome tonight," exclaimed Stewart following his sixth O'Reilly ASCS National Tour feature triumph of the season. "Rob Hart had the Maxim chassis dialed in perfectly, I could drive it anywhere I needed to go, and the Wesmar engine was running great. I don't think the car could have been much better than it was tonight," Stewart concluded.

After charging from seventh to win the fifth heat for the competitive 37- car field, Stewart led the feature field to the green flag with Aaron Berryhill alongside. Stewart bolted into the lead at the drop of the green flag, with third-starter Mike Ward shooting into second on the opening round.

Utilizing the high line flawlessly, Stewart amassed a half straightaway advantage by the time lapped traffic came into play on the eighth round. Traffic did little to deter Stewart's pace however, as he worked the entire track to pick his way through traffic, keeping pursuers Ward, Zach Chappell, Berryhill and Travis Rilat at a safe distance.

After the race's first caution appeared with fourteen laps complete for a turn four tangle involving Darren Stewart and Justin Sturch, Shane Stewart resumed the pace with four lapped cars between himself and second-running Ward.

Ward made quick work of the lapped machines as well and when the caution appeared again four rounds later for Lewis Jenkins, Jr., stalled mount in turn four, Ward found himself on Stewart's rear bumper for the restart.

Ward made bid for the lead on the restart, but Stewart proved too strong and slipped away from the field, taking the checkered flag aboard Scott Chilcutt's Pro Lube Center/Sander Engineering/Penske Shocks machine with nearly a straightaway advantage over Ward, who prevailed in a wheel-to- wheel battle with Rilat for the runner-up slot.

Ninth-starter Gary Wright and Berryhill battled for the fourth position over the final ten rounds, with Berryhill spinning in the final corner after contact as the duo avoided the spinning machine of Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Wright crossed the stripe in fourth, with 12th-starter Pete Butler rounding out the top five.

Tim Crawley earned the race's Hard Charger award by racing from 18th to finish sixth, with 15th-starter Jan Howard, Nick Smith, 16th-starter Toby Brown and Garry Bell completing the top ten.

Chappell's streak of seventeen consecutive top-ten finishes came to an end when he clipped an infield tire and suffered race-ending front end damage following the lap 18 restart.

Bell, Ward, Chappell, Berryhill and Shane Stewart each claimed 10-lap heat race victories. A.G. Rains nipped Stenhouse at the line to win the first 12-lap B Feature, with Crawley scoring a convincing victory in the second B Main.

Jason Martin and Jenkins performed a double-flip off the turn four embankment in the fourth heat after an attempted slide by Jenkins. Jenkins made quick repairs and finished second in the heat to qualify for the feature. Martin returned for B Feature action but after charging from the tail to third, front end damage ended his run.


First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Garry Bell, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Dale Howard, 4. Justin Sturch, 5. Darren Stewart, 6. Richard Herring, 7. Jerry Kamer, 8. Joe Young.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. Mike Ward, 2. Pete Butler, 3. Skip Wilson, 4. Toby Brown, 5. A.G. Rains, 6. Josh Howard, 7. Rick Pringle, 8. Wade Oliver.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Cody Branchcomb, 3. Matt Billings, 4. Tim Crawley, 5. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 6. Tony Higgins, 7. Jimmy Taylor.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Aaron Berryhill, 2. Lewis Jenkins, Jr., 3. Nick Smith, 4. Mark Harrison, 5. Rob Jenkins, 6. Brian Bell, 7. Jason Martin.

Fifth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Jan Howard, 4. Stephen Chevallier, 5. Sammy Stuart, 6. Scott Bolden, 7. Scott Robertson.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. A.G. Rains, 2. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 3. Darren Stewart, 4. Mark Harrison, 5. Brian Bell, 6. Tony Higgins, 7. Wade Oliver, 8. Rob Jenkins, 9. Jerry Kamer, 10. Jimmy Taylor, 11. Scott Robertson.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Tim Crawley, 2. Justin Sturch, 3. Richard Herring, 4. Rick Pringle, 5. Stephen Chevallier, 6. Sammy Stuart, 7. Josh Howard, 8. Jason Martin, 9. Joe Young. DNS: Scott Bolden.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Mike Ward, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Gary Wright, 5. Pete Butler, 6. Tim Crawley, 7. Jan Howard, 8. Nick Smith, 9. Toby Brown, 10. Garry Bell, 11. Dale Howard, 12. Aaron Berryhill, 13. Cody Branchcomb, 14. A.G. Rains, 15. Skip Wilson, 16. Justin Sturch, 17. Matt Billings, 18. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 19. Jimmy Taylor, 20. Lewis Jenkins, Jr., 21. Zach Chappell, 22. Darren Stewart.

O'Reilly ASCS Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Travis Rilat 4,898, 2. Gary Wright 4,850, 3. Zach Chappell 4,838, 4. Darren Stewart 4,802, 5. Cody Branchcomb 4,560, 6. Toby Brown 4,421, 7. Shane Stewart 2,512, 8. Jimmy Taylor 2,391, 9. Rick Behr 2,241, 10. Tim Crawley 2,120, 11. Nick Smith 1,790, 12. Kevin Ramey 1,768, 13. Matt Clevenger 1,642, 14. A.G. Rains 1,625, 15. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 1,471.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Scott Robertson , Aaron Berryhill , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Tim Crawley