Lincoln Speedway results May 10

Cris Eash won the twenty five lap feature at Lincoln Speedway near Hanover, PA. on Saturday night. Eash took the lead on lap three and wasn't challenged until late in the race. Joey Allen took the lead at the drop of the green and led the...

Cris Eash won the twenty five lap feature at Lincoln Speedway near Hanover, PA. on Saturday night. Eash took the lead on lap three and wasn't challenged until late in the race.

Joey Allen took the lead at the drop of the green and led the first two laps. Just as the bulk of the field came off turn four to complete lap two, several cars got together to bring out the first red of the evening. Fred Rahmer, Brook Weibley, Cliff Brian and Chris Knopp were involved, with Brian and Knopp unable to continue.

With one lap in the book the running order was Joey Allen, Steve Siegel, Shawn Weaver, Dan Jones, Cris Eash, Bill Brian and Don Kreitz in seventh.

The green light appeared for only one lap when the #45 of Jeff Rohrbough stopped on the front straight.

Eash, Brian and Kreitz were able to improve their positions during the one lap of racing before the yellow appeared. At the restart the order was Joey Allen, Steve Siegel, Cris Eash, Bill Brian, Shawn Weaver, Don Kreitz, Dan Jones and Todd Shaffer in eighth.

Eash, third in line for the restart, was hooked up on the high side, passing Siegel for second in one and two and taking the lead through three and four.

Just two more laps went into the book before the red appeared once again. This time for the #43 of Larry Shive who stopped in turn four. No word on Shive's condition as it was reported that Shive had been hit in the chest. Shive received medical attention at the track.

Dewease, who qualified through the consi and started 19th, was in tenth for the restart. Jeff Shepard in the Jim Shuttlesworth #41 lined up fifth.

While Eash decided to check out with the lead, several battles developed behind the leader. Joey Allen and Siegel battled for third while Kreitz and Bill Brian battled for fifth. Dewease continued his drive through the field and engaged Jeff Shepard in a tremendous battle, swapping the sixth postion several times in the last five laps of the race.

Bill Brian's car seemed to improve over the course of the race. Brian was third at half distance and may have had something for the leader if given a few more laps.

Heat One Results (10laps/6 to qualify) 1. 69-Shawn Weaver; 2. 69k-Don Kreitz; 3. 8j-Dan Jones; 4. 88-Todd Shaffer; 5. 45-Jeff Rohrbough; 6. 10n-Jeff Thompson; 7. 8-Dan Dietrich; 8. 29m-Keith McMannus (DNF); 9. 43-Larry Shive (DNF) (DNS)-4h-Robin Johnston Time: 2:24.49

Heat Two Results 1. 2$-Joey Allen; 2. 15d-Brook Weibley 3. 59-Steve Siegel; 4. 17e-Cris Eash; 5. 41-Jeff Shepard; 6. 2w-Jesse Wentz; 7. 461-Lance Dewease; 8. 5g-Rod George; 9. 73-Lonnie Ryan (DNF); 10. 12-Kevin Gobrecht (DNF) Time: 2:23.93

Heat Three Results 1. 48-Chris Knopp; 2. 16-Bill Brian; 3. 77-Fred Rahmer; 4. 16c-Cliff Brian; 5. 07-Dave Haight; 6. 5-Craig Eshenauer; 7. 16t-Brian Timmons; 8. 121-Judi Bates; 9. 92-Brian Gobrecht (DNF); 10. 94-Glendon Forsythe (DNF) Time: 2:28.00

Consolation (10 laps/6 to qualify) 1. 461-Lance Dewease; 2. 5g-Rod George; 3. 73-Lonnie Ryan; 4. 121-Judi Bates; 5. 8-Dan Dietrich; 6. 43-Larry Shive; 7. 16t-Brian Timmons; 8. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 9. 29m-Keith McMannus (DNF);

Feature Results (25 laps) 1. Cris Eash ($2,500) 2. Bill Brian 3. Joey Allen 4. Don Kreitz 5. Steve Siegel 6. Lance Dewease 7. Jeff Shepard 8. Dan Jones 9. Todd Shaffer 10. Dave Haight 11. Jeff Thompson 12. Jesse Wentz 13. Rod George 14. Jeff Rohrbough 15. Shawn Weaver 16. Fred Rahmer 17. Craig Eshenauer 18. Lonnie Ryan 19. Judi Bates (DNF) 20. Brook Weibley (DNF) 21. Larry Shive (DNF) 22. Chris Knopp (DNF) 23. Cliff Brian (DNF) 24. Dan Dietrich (DNF)

Sprint Notes:

In the 358 sprint race, Becca Anderson showed that she's a force to contend with this season. Becca led 15 laps of the twenty lap feature before being passed by eventual winner Greg Leiby on lap seventeen. Shortly after being passed for the lead, Becca ran into the back of a lapped car and ended up finishing 12th.

The program for next Saturday night at Lincoln includes sprints, thundercars and microsprints. The microsprint division has been well represented at Lincoln with over sixty cars in attendance at the last race. Gates open at five with races at 7:30 p.m.

Jim Shuttlesworth, owner of the #41 sprinter driven by Jeff Shepard, won the Late Model Feature at Silver Spring Speedway on Saturday night.

Both members of the Gobrecht Gang had a bad crash in their heats. Kevin Gobrecht walked away uninjured while rookie sprint car driver Brian Gobrecht was not as lucky. Brian's car caught fire after it overturned and Brian was burned on his lower legs where his suit met his shoes. Brian was taken to Hanover Hospitol. Track officials had no word from the hospitol by the end of the evening's activities. We hope Brian is OK and we wish all the Gobrecht Gang all the best. We should mention another of the Gobrecht brothers, Scott Gobrecht won both his both his kart races a couple of weeks ago. Scott was racing at Summit Point Raceway, a two mile road course located near Charles Town, West Virginia. __ David Reininger's Paper Race

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dan Jones , Becca Anderson