Lincoln Speedway Results 98-04-25

RAHMER'S LINCOLN WIN STREAK REACHES FOUR; Richard win ends Lehman win streak in 358 division ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 4/25/98 - Maybe the All Star Circuit of Champions can cool down Fast Freddie Rahmer. The rest of the Lincoln ...

RAHMER'S LINCOLN WIN STREAK REACHES FOUR; Richard win ends Lehman win streak in 358 division ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 4/25/98 - Maybe the All Star Circuit of Champions can cool down Fast Freddie Rahmer. The rest of the Lincoln regulars will likely welcome reinforcements after Rahmer's fourth straight win in the 25-lap super sprint feature Saturday night. For a second straight week, Rahmer passed race leader Kevin Gobrecht for the win. The Salfordville driver started 11th and drove around Kevin Gobrecht coming off the second turn on lap 17. The win was Rahmer's 61st career Lincoln victory and worth $2,500. "It might look easy, but every week it gets tougher (to win here)", said Rahmer in victory lane. Rahmer was quick to credit mechanic Moon Byers with changing everything around on the car after his slow start (over the first six races) to again become the car to beat at Lincoln Speedway. Shawn "Big Block" Weaver broke from his pole starting position and led the first five laps over Darren Eash and Kevin Gobrecht until the pace slowed for Jeff Thompson, who stalled on the backstretch. Gobrecht made a charge on the restart, moving into second inside of one lap and took the lead on the 7th circuit, with Fred Rahmer advancing to third. Those two drivers moved ahead of the rest of the field and were moving through lapped traffic when the caution flew on lap 11 for Johnny Mackison Jr., who came to a stop with a flat tire while running fourth. Gobrecht brought the field slow for the restart and as the field stacked up at the cone, Danny Jones nosed the back of Jesse Wentz's car, knocking loose Jones' front wing. The wing flew off the car on lap 14, slowing the race again. Rahmer then started working on Gobrecht, trying on the low side for two straight laps until he moved to the cushion in turn one to start lap seventeen and made his way around Gobrecht for the lead. From there, Rahmer moved away to record a 1.23 second win over Gobrecht, with Cris Eash coming home third. Darren Eash and Tim Shaffer completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Sean Michael, Mackison (returning from the rear), Jones, Bill Brian, Jr., and Jesse Wentz. Heat races for the 29 super sprints were won by Jeff Thompson, Mackison and Shaffer. Billy Wilburn broke a five-year-old 6-lap track record in winning the consolation. Landisburg's Mark Richard survived two red flags and a five-car battle for the lead over the last quarter of the race to win the 20-lap "358" sprint feature over Jeremy Trout and Greg Leiby. Defending "358" track champion Terry Leininger and Mike Lehman completed the top five.

It was Richard's first win with the Mike Gertizen team sponsored by Diehl Toyota in York. Bob Hagan was uninjured when he vaulted the catch fence in turn one on the second lap and ended up in the outside pit area. As the red was coming out, Lehman was rear-ended and spun on the first turn, forcing him to the rear for a 23rd-place restart. Dale Hammaker was also a flip victim, turning his car over on lap four, but he also walked away uninjured. 41 "358" sprints signed in with Leiby, Doug Esh, Richard and Lehman each winning a heat race. Hammaker and Eric Stambaugh won the two consolation events. _________________________________________________________________ LINCOLN SPEEDWAY RACE RESULTS SATURDAY - APRIL 25, 1998 SUPER SPRINTS Feature (25 laps) - 1. 77-Fred Rahmer ($2,500); 2. 92-Kevin Gobrecht; 3. 17E-Cris Eash; 4. 7E- Darren Eash; 5. 12-Tim Shaffer; 6. 88M-Sean Michael; 7. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 8. 8J-Danny Jones; 9. 16-Bill Brian Jr.; 10. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 11. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 12. 19-Mike Woodring; 13. 32-Brook Weibley; 14. 8-Dan Dietrich; 15. 77E-Dave Ely; 16. 69-Shawn Weaver; 17. 10N-Jeff Thompson; 18. 2T-Tracy Readinger; 19. 25E-Jon Eldreth; 20. 43-Larry Shive; 21. 32G-Randy Glover; 22. 2C-Mike Dillman; 23. 0-Billy Wilburn (DNF); 24. 86-Sam Ross. No Time Lap Leaders - Shawn Weaver (1-6), Kevin Gobrecht (7-16), Fred Rahmer (17-25) 1st Heat (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 10N-Jeff Thompson; 2. 7E-Darren Eash; 3. 92-Kevin Gobrecht; 4. 88M-Sean Michael; 5. 8J-Danny Jones; 6. 25E-Jon Eldreth; 7. 81-Bob Beidleman; 8. 2C- Mike Dillman; 9. 25-Todd Gracey (DNF); 10. 59-Steve Siegel (DNF). No Time 2nd Heat (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 2. 32-Brook Weibley; 3. 77-Fred Rahmer; 4. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 5. 77E-Dave Ely; 6. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 0-Billy Wilburn; 8. 32G-Randy Glover; DNS - 2T-Tracy Readinger; 73-Lonnie Ryan. Time - 2:20.05 3rd Heat (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 12-Tim Shaffer; 2. 17E-Cris Eash; 3. 69-Shawn Weaver; 4. 16-Bill Brian Jr.; 5. 8-Dan Dietrich; 6. 19-Mike Woodring; 7. 43-Larry Shive; 8. 86-Sam Ross; DNS - 12B-Brian Montieth. No Time Consolation (6 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 0-Billy Wilburn; 2. 43-Larry Shive; 3. 86-Sam Ross; 4. 2T-Tracy Readinger; 5. 32G-Randy Glover; 6. 2C-Mike Dillman; 7. 81-Bob Beidleman (DNF). Time - 1:27.53 (New 6-lap Track Record - old record 1.29.81 by Dan Dietrich set on 9/11/93) "358" SPRINTS

Feature (20 laps) - 1. 50-Mark Richard; 2. 3-Jeremy Trout; 3. 77-Greg Leiby; 4. 88-Terry Leininger; 5. 59-Mike Lehman; 6. 10K-Mark Yinger; 7. 27-Scott Ausherman; 8. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 9. 7-Dave Gable Jr.; 10. 81-Bob Beidleman; 11. 12-Jimmy Stitzel; 12. 6E-Doug Esh; 13. 22J-Joe Ilg; 14. 9C-Bill Case; 15. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 16. 5L-Chad Layton; 17. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus; 18. 03-Jeff Miller (DNF); 19. A18-Becca Anderson (DNF); 20. 5N-Rusty Pressley (DNF); 21. 84-Dale Hammaker (DNF); 22. 6F-Bill Fannasy (DNF); 23. 6-Tim Hershey (DNF); 24. 5-Bob Hagen (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Mark Richard (1-20) 1st Heat (10 laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 77-Greg Leiby; 2. 5-Bob Hagen; 3. 12-Jimmy Stitzel; 4. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 5. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 6. 6-Tim Hershey; 7. 66-Eric Patteson; 8. 1R-Mike Rabold; 9. 9M-Mark Moody; 10. 75-Bret Whitcraft; 11. 1M-Babe Mader. No Time 2nd Heat (10 laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 6E-Doug Esh; 2. 5L-Chad Layton; 3. 88-Terry Leininger; 4. A18-Becca Anderson; 5. 55-Jimmy Layton; 6. 84-Dale Hammaker; 7. 9C-Bill Case; 8. 5A- Brian Allman; 9. 29T-Neil Amspacker; DNS - 10-Chad Wolf. Time - 2:05.22 3rd Heat (10 laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 50-Mark Richard; 2. 10K-Mark Yinger; 3. 27-Scott Ausherman; 4. 3-Jeremy Trout; 5. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 6. 55E-Brian Eichelberger; 7. 3D-Ronnie Orwig; 8. 22J-Joe Ilg (DNF); 9. 54-Ted Baker (DNF); 10. 31D-Kevin Drury (DNF). No Time 4th Heat (10 laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 59-Mike Lehman; 2. 7-Dave Gable Jr.; 3. 03-Jeff Miller; 4. 81-Bob Beidleman; 5. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 6. 5N-Rusty Pressley; 7. 31-Tim Higgins; 8. 47-Dave Bobb; DNS - 00-Elmer Stoltzfus, 16-Scott Murrell. Time - 2:07.85 1st Consolation (8 laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 84-Dale Hammaker; 2. 6-Tim Hershey; 3. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 4. 9C-Bill Case; 5. 66-Eric Patteson; 6. 1R-Mike Rabold; 7. 5A-Brian Allman; 8. 9M-Mark Moody; 9. 75-Bret Whitcraft; 10. 1M-Babe Mader; 11. 29T-Neil Amspacker; 12. 10-Chad Wolf; DNS - 55-Jimmy Layton. Time - 2:08.28 2nd Consolation (8 laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 2. 5N-Rusty Pressley; 3. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus; 4. 22J-Joe Ilg; 5. 47-Dave Bobb; 6. 54-Ted Baker; 7. 3D-Ronnie Orwig; 8. 55E-Brian Eichelberger; 9. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 10. 31-Tim Higgins; DNS - 16-Scott Murrell, 31D-Kevin Drury. No Time Visit Lincoln Speedway Online at:

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Jeff Miller , Becca Anderson , Danny Jones