Lincoln Speedway Results 98-03-14

EASH BREAKS INTO VICTORY LANE IN SPRINT MAIN; Dicely, Bernie Beard score mini-sprint, thundercar wins Cris Eash ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 3/14/98 - Cris Eash showed why they'’re called "sprint" cars Saturday afternoon, motoring around...

EASH BREAKS INTO VICTORY LANE IN SPRINT MAIN; Dicely, Bernie Beard score mini-sprint, thundercar wins Cris Eash ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 3/14/98 - Cris Eash showed why they'’re called "sprint" cars Saturday afternoon, motoring around the front two rows from his sixth starting spot to grab the lead by the end of the first lap and go on to win his first of the season in the 25-lap super sprint feature. Eash, piloting the Miller Brothers Chevrolet/E&G Classics #17e, looked like he was shot out of a cannon at the start, building a sizable lead as several cars battled for second over the early stages of the race. But he worked hard to hold off Billy Pauch over the second half of the race. Pauch, who started eighth, pulled onto Eash’s back bumper as they headed into lapped traffic on lap six. He appeared to be setting up for the pass when the event’s first caution waved for All-Star Keith Kauffman, who spun in turn two on the tenth lap. Pauch closed again when the leaders approached lapped traffic on lap 14, but a Billy Dietrich spin brought out a second caution flag. The third time Pauch closed in, Brian Paulus flipped right in front of the leaders on lap 23, bringing out a red. Over the final few laps, Pauch was more concerned with finishing, because of a failing rear end. The final margin of victory was 1.64 seconds. It was Eash’s 21st career win in the Pigeon Hills, moving him into sole possession of ninth place on the all-time Lincoln win list.

"We got to start towards the front and that always helps," said Eash in victory lane, "Davey (Brown) and Wayne (Bull) put their heads together on the tire (choice), and the it really worked good. The car was just ran perfect." Speaking on his quick start, Eash explained, "Sometimes things just open up for you, and I just kind of lucked out. It surprised me to be leading that early, but things worked out for us." Smiling Cris Eash "I could see him (Pauch) and I was saying I hope he don’t slide a couple feet further because he might take us both out. Billy'’s a real good racer and he didn’t do anything dirty...he raced me clean. We like night racing, I don’t really care for this day racing. We got all the gremlins off our back...we really had some bad luck them first couple of races...fortunately we didn'’t tear anything up." "Boy, this is a really tough field here. These guys get tougher each year and it gets harder to win each year and we’re just thankful we came out on top today." In a great race for the third spot, Jeff Shepard passed Kevin Gobrecht on the next-to-last lap, with Tim Shaffer crossing fifth. Sixth through tenth were Todd Shaffer, Fred Rahmer, Steve Siegel, Lance Dewease, and Donnie Kreitz, Jr. Heats for the 28 super sprints were won by Pauch, Eash and Kauffman. Dewease won the consolation event.

RACE RESULTS Saturday - March 14, 1998 LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Abbottstown, Pa. SUPER SPRINTS Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 17E-Cris Eash ($2,500); 2. 1-Billy Pauch; 3. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 4. 92-Kevin Gobrecht; 5. 12-Tim Shaffer; 6. 88-Todd Shaffer; 7. 77-Fred Rahmer; 8. 59-Steve Siegel; 9. 461-Lance Dewease; 10. 69-Donnie Kreitz Jr.; 11. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 12 .8J-Danny Jones; 13. 0-Billy Wilburn; 14. 69-Shawn Weaver; 15. 10-Len Thompson; 16. 07-Dave Haight; 17. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 18. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 19. 17N-Niki Young; 20. 28-Brian Paulus (DNF); 21. 88X-Sean Michael (DNF); 22. 53-Shawn Keen (DNF); 23. U2-Keith Kauffman (DNF); 24. 10N-Jeff Thompson (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Cris Eash (1-25) 1st Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 1-Billy Pauch; 2. 28-Brian Paulus; 3. 88-Todd Shaffer; 4. 12-Tim Shaffer; 5. 10N-Jeff Thompson; 6. 77-Fred Rahmer; 7. 17N-Niki Young; 8. 25-Todd Gracey (DNF); 9. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr. (DNF). No Time 2nd Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 17E-Cris Eash; 2. 8J-Danny Jones; 3. 69-Shawn Weaver; 4. 53-Shawn Keen; 5. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 6. 59-Steve Siegel; 7. 461-Lance Dewease; 8. 10-Len Thompson; 9. 0-Billy Wilburn. Time - 2:24.41 3rd Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. U2-Keith Kauffman; 2. 92-Kevin Gobrecht; 3. 07-Dave Haight; 4. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 5. 69-Donnie Kreitz Jr.; 6. 88-Sean Michael; 7. 8-Dan Dietrich; 8. 22J-Joe Ilg (DNF); 9. 8D-Billy Dietrich (DNF); 10. 32-Randy Glover (DNF). No Time Consolation (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 461-Lance Dewease; 2. 10-Len Thompson; 3. 0-Billy Wilburn; 4. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 5. 17N-Niki Young; 6. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 7. 32-Randy Glover; 8. 22J-Joe Ilg (DNF); 9. 8-Dan Dietrich (DNF); DNS - 25-Todd Gracey. No Time THUNDERCARS Feature (15 Laps) - 1. X-Bernie Beard; 2. 47-Bob Scott Jr.; 3. 95-Fred Cullum; 4. 21A-Mike Zeigler; 5. 16-Steve Clabaugh; 6. 3-Duane Watson; 7. 88-Bill Brown; 8. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 9. 0-John Garrett; 10. 5-Bobby Beard; 11. 102-Chuck Schomann; 12. 77-Ken Berwager (DNF); 13. 4J-Jeff Racine (DNF); 14. 1-Neil Smith (DNF); 15. 42-Ken Acworth (DNF); 16. 93-Eric McClain (DNF); 17. 7-Duane Hahn (DNF); 18. 00-Bobby Chenault (DNF); 19. 11R-Jim Rost (DNF); 20. 61-Mike Ciezobka (DNF); 21. 41-K.T. Shaw (DNF); 22. 12W-Will Fair (DNF); 23. 30-Craig Wagaman (DNF); DNS - 24K-Corey Knaub. No Time Lap Leaders - Bernie Beard (1-15) MICRO-SPRINTS Feature (12 Laps) - 1. 44-Mike Dicely; 2. 16-Steve Owings; 3. 9-Scott Tritle; 4. 117-Brent Scheonly; 5. 99-Joe Trone Jr.; 6. 23R-Randy West; 7. 7-Billy Vent; 8. 91-Mark Hendershot; 9. 1K-Kristine Dow; 10. 21P-Jerry Parrish; 11. 25-Steve Buckwalter; 12. 1-Gary Kreiss Jr.; 13. 88-George Ulmer; 14. 77-Greg Miller; 15. 21-Adrian Shaffer; 16. 6E-Andy Naugle; 17. 99M-Dennis McKeon; 18. 40-Henry Schlegel; 19. 23R-Nathan Gramley; 20. 54-Jake Mays; 21. 7C-Chad Trout; 22. 53-Ron Kreider; 23. 23T-Terry Schaffer (DNF); 24. 15-Scott Ellerman (DNF); 25. 75-Dusty Schatzer (DNF); 26. 33-Randy Ruff (DNF); 27. 8K-Kevin Bastian (DNF); 28. 70-Wayne Karcher (DNF); 29. 4-Shawn Floyd (DNF); 30. 8V-Snookie Vent (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Jake Mays (1), Mike Dicely (2-12) Source: Lincoln Speedway Online -

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Bill Brown , Brian Paulus , Billy Pauch , Neil Smith