Lincoln Speedway results 2004-10-23

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 10/23/04 - Lincoln's "Mr. Excitement" put the lid on the 2004 Lincoln Speedway season by claiming his second win of the year in the season finale for sprint cars in the Pigeon Hills Saturday night. Phoenixville's Brian Montieth...

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 10/23/04 - Lincoln's "Mr. Excitement" put the lid on the 2004 Lincoln Speedway season by claiming his second win of the year in the season finale for sprint cars in the Pigeon Hills Saturday night.

Phoenixville's Brian Montieth was in the right place at the right time to score his sixth career Lincoln win after disaster struck race leaders on two different occasions.

Montieth started fourth and watched track champ Cliff Brian, Sam Schlosberg, and Fred Rahmer battle for the top spot over the first nine laps.

Rahmer, who started sixth after the pill draw by the first four finishers from each of the three heats, was up to third by the end of the first lap. Brian, who started second, led the first four laps before yielding to polesitter Schlosberg. Two laps after the Green Lane Auto Sales/Northeaster Wilderness Outfitters #70 took the lead, Rahmer passed both Brian and Schlosberg in one sweeping motion through turns three and four of lap seven to grab the lead.

Rahmer paced the field for the next ten laps before his smoking Miller Brothers Chevrolet/Materials Handling Systems/Media Camping Center #88H dropped off the pace exiting turn four of lap 17. Rahmer made it to the infield, and the green stayed out as Schlosberg reclaimed the lead.

Schlosberg dominated over the next seven laps and appeared to be on his way to his second career Lincoln win when he lost control and spun in turn two of lap 24, bringing out the only caution of the race.

That handed the lead to Montieth, who got by Brian for third on lap ten and assumed second when Rahmer dropped from the field. Despite some smoke out of the side of the Jerry Parrish Auto Locator #21 just before the caution, Montieth drove away from the field to score a 1.35-second win over Brian, with eighth-starting Lance Dewease third, Darren Eash (driving the E&G Classics/Macri Concrete #17e) fourth, and Jason Johnson (in the Jim and Sandy Kline J&S Fabrication #22) fifth. Sixth through tenth were 22nd-starting Eric Stambaugh, Niki Young, Brian Leppo, T.J. Stutts, and Johnny Mackison, Jr. They were the only cars on the lead lap.

"I knew he was getting tired," quipped Montieth of Schlosberg's spin on lap 24 in victory lane, "I was tired, too. The track was really fast tonight, and it takes a lot of effort to get it to go around."

Earlier in the evening, Montieth announced he would be back in the Parrish #21 again next year.

"Everyone remembers who won the last race," said Parrish in victory lane, "And that's what we were counting on. Brian did a great job. We got a little break there at the end, but you can say enough about him. Brian is the most exciting driver here, and nobody can dispute that."

Heats for the 23 sprinters were won by Young, Dewease and Rahmer.

Gettysburg's Mike Walls became the leading feature winner at Lincoln Speedway in 2004 with his sixth win of the season in the 20-lap thundercar finale.

Walls grabbed the lead from race-long leader Tom Slusser Jr. on the eighth-lap and led the rest of the way to take the checkered 2.43 seconds ahead of second-place Neil Smith. Slusser, Robert Stough and Mike Gladfelter finished third through fifth respectively.

Completing the top-10 were Mike Ciezobka, Robert Bopst, Gary Warehime, Duane Watson and David Prunkl.

By virtue of his 12th place finish, Mike Zeigler Sr. captured his second Lincoln Thundercar title (1988) over his son, Zeigler Jr. In a battle that came down to the final race. Zeigler Sr. also owns titles in the semi-late (1983) and late models (1985).

Heats for the 28 thundercars were won by Nat Tuckey, Tom Slusser Jr. and Mike Zeigler Jr..

Lincoln Speedway will hold it's annual racer's flea market in three weeks on Saturday, November 13th. Then followed by the annual awards banquet the following week, Saturday, November 20th at the Holiday Inn Holidome, 2000 Loucks Road in York.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday - October 23, 2004

410 Sprints:

Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($2,500); 2. 13-Cliff Brian; 3. 77-Lance Dewease; 4. 17E-Darren Eash; 5. 22-Jason Johnson; 6. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 7. 10N-Niki Young; 8. 71-Brian Leppo; 9. 11T-TJ Stutts; 10. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 11. 70-Sam Schlosberg; 12. U1-Chad Layton; 13. 7K-Dan Shetler; 14. 35-Alan Cole; 15. 66-Glenndon Forsythe; 16. 26-Pat Cooper; 17. 3B-Randy Baughman; 18. 1R-Mike Rabold; 19. 31D-Kevin Drury (DNF); 20. 88H-Fred Rahmer (DNF); 21. 32-Brook Weibley (DNF); 22. 85-Nathan Berwager (DNF); 23. 12-Greg Hodnett (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders - Cliff Brian (1-4), Sam Schlosberg (5-6), Fred Rahmer (7-16), Sam Schlosberg (17-23), Brian Montieth (24-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 10N-Niki Young; 2. 17E-Darren Eash; 3. 31D-Kevin Drury; 4. 7K-Dan Shetler; 5. 11T-T.J. Stutts; 6. 35-Alan Cole; 7. U1-Chad Layton; 8. 4-Eric Stambaugh (DNF). Time - 2:19.10

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 77-Lance Dewease; 2. 70-Sam Schlosberg; 3. 71-Brian Leppo; 4. 22-Jason Johnson; 5. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 6. 1R-Mike Rabold; 7. 26-Pat Cooper; 8. 85-Nathan Berwager. Time - 2:16.59

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 88H-Fred Rahmer; 2. 32-Brook Weibley; 3. 21-Brian Montieth; 4. 13-Cliff Brian; 5. 66-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 3B-Randy Baughman; 7. 12-Greg Hodnett (DNF). No time.


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 52-Mike Walls; 2. 1-Neil Smith; 3. 91-Tom Slusser, Jr.; 4. 07-Robert Stough; 5. 8-Mike Gladfelter; 6. 61-Mike Ciezobka; 7. 8X-Robert Bopst; 8. 93-Gary Warehime; 9. 33-Duane Watson; 10. 8MD-David Prunkl; 11. 67-Randy Doty; 12. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 13. 39-Wayne Dutterer; 14. 1B-Greg Feltch; 15. 43M-Jim Martz Jr. (DNF); 16. 76-Bob Bare (DNF); 17. 0-Eric McClane (DNF); 18. 21A-Mike Zeigler Jr. (DNF); 19. 61S-Mike Slaybaugh (DNF); 20. 22-Nat Tuckey (DNF); 21. 20-Sam Gallagher (DNF); 22. 37-Jim Rost (DNF); 23. 22X-Steve Clabaugh (DNF); 24. 25-Sean Herrick (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Tom Slusser Jr. (1-7), Mike Walls (8-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 22-Nat Tuckey; 2. 22X-Steve Clabaugh; 3. 8MD-David Prunkl; 4. 81-Mike Zeigler, Sr.; 5. 76-Bob Bare; 6. 8-Mike Gladfelter; 7. 61-Mike Ciezobka; 8. Y-Kenny Slaybaugh; 9. 18-Bob Johnson. No Time

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 91-Tom Slusser, Jr.; 2. 52-Mike Walls; 3. 20-Sam Gallagher; 4. 1-Neil Smith; 5. 07-Robert Stough; 6. 67-Randy Doty; 7. 8-Robert Bopst; 8. 93-Gary Warehime; 9. 34M-Jim Martz, Jr.; 10. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21A-Mike Zeigler, Jr.; 2. 33-Duane Watson; 3. 61S-Mike Slaybaugh; 4. 37-Jim Rost; 5. 0-Eric McClane; 6. 25-Sean Herrick; 7. 39-Wayne Dutterer; 8. 1-Greg Feltch; DNS - 56-Chuck Dell. No Time


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Jason Johnson , Neil Smith