Lincoln Speedway results 2004-07-10

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/10/04 - Fred Rahmer likes to get to the front first. But Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway, the Salfordville driver had to follow Doug Esh until the 24th lap before executing a slider under Esh to capture his 130th career...

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/10/04 - Fred Rahmer likes to get to the front first. But Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway, the Salfordville driver had to follow Doug Esh until the 24th lap before executing a slider under Esh to capture his 130th career win in the Pigeon Hills.

While it appeared Esh was ready to end a dry spell aboard the Leach Brothers Motorsports No. 30 sprinter, Fast Freddie moved in for the kill in lapped traffic to extend his nation-leading 16th overall sprint car win.

"I don't waste my tires till we get to lapped cars because Doug Esh is too good a racer on an open track," Rahmer said after win number eight this season at Lincoln. "I knew when we were racing Bobby Weaver it was gonna be hard. I just needed to get to the front first. I just got held up at the beginning but I was trying to take my time but not lose the race. It almost didn't work out tonight."

Peter Attard led the first four laps before Weaver moved out front.

Two consecutive yellows on the fifth lap slowed the pace. Doug Rohrbaugh stopped in turn two and then on the restart, Pat Cooper's car lost power and collected Josh Wells in turn two.

Weaver held the point as Esh, who started 10th moved into the runner-up spot on lap eight and began to chase down the leader.

After starting 11th, Rahmer moved into third spot with 11 laps complete as Esh made pass on Weaver to take the lead on lap 13, just when Cris Eash slowed on the frontstretch.

Rahmer made several bids for the lead when the green replaced the yellow but Esh, of Lancaster was able to pull away. Esh's comfortable lead disappeared in traffic late in the event when Rahmer did the slider for the lead in turn four on the 24th lap.

"This is definitely not 2003 because we've turned it around," said the winner. "I'm able to drive hard again this year. It looks like I forgot how to drive last year and it's really hard to imagine how much fun I'm having this year."

Despite the win, Rahmer's Joe Harz Racing, Miller Brothers, Materials Handling Systems, West Point Group, Media Camping Center No 88H was overheating during the late portions of the feature.

"This motor is due for a rebuild, it's been running warm all night for some reason," Rahmer said after another $2,500 payday. "Don Ott continually gives us the best motors in Pennsylvania and anybody that leaves his establishment has got to be brain dead."

Esh finished second followed by 13th starting Brian Montieth, defending Cindy Rowe Auto Glass champion Lance Dewease and Greg Hodnett. Sixth through 10th were Eric Stambaugh, Kenny Jacobs, Weaver, Brian Leppo and Jim Siegel.

Heats for the 22 "410" Sprinters were won by Pat Cooper, Bobby Weaver and Peter Attard.

Mike Slaybaugh led the first four laps of the 20-lap thundercar feature before eighth starting Neil Smith took over.

Smith, of Hanover then held off repeated challenges of current points leader Mike Zeigler, Jr for the lead. Zeigler started 12th and moved into the runner-up spot on lap nine but could not make a pass on Smith, who is now tied with Mike Walls as the leading feature winner this season in the Pigeon Hills.

Third went to Walls over Duane Watson, Slaybaugh, Mike Zeigler, Sr., Dan Zechman, Dave Prunkl and Bernie Beard.

Heats for the 26 thundercars were won by Dan Zechman, Mike Zeigler, Jr and Mike Walls.

Next Saturday night, July 17th, Lincoln Speedway will host the ANNUAL DARYL GOHN/GLENN GOHN SR. MEMORIAL. The night will feature all three point divisions - the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass 410 sprints, 358 sprints and thundercars.

Racing action gets underway at 7:30 PM, with gates opening at 5:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


410 Sprints:

Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 88H-Fred Rahmer ($2,500); 2. 30-Doug Esh, 3. 21- Brian Montieth, 4. 77-Lance Dewease, 5. 12-Greg Hodnett, 6. 4-Eric Stambaugh, 7. 22-Kenny Jacobs, 8. X-Bobby Weaver, 9. 71-Brian Leppo, 10. 59-Jim Siegel, 11. 10N-Niki Young, 12. 70-Sam Schlosberg, 13. 47J-Jeff Busby, 14. 31D-Kevin Drury, 15. 55-Phil Weinsteiger, Jr., 16. 17-Peter Attard, 17. 8D-Mike Dillman, 18. 17E-Cris Eash (DNF), 19. Josh Wells (DNF), 20. 26-Pat Cooper (DNF), 21. Doug Rohrbaugh (DNF), 22. 3W-Chris Webb (DNS).

Lap Leaders - Peter Attard (1-4), Bobby Weaver (5-12), Doug Esh (13-23), Fred Rahmer (24-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1.26-Pat Cooper, 2. 21-Brian Montieth, 3. 10x-Doug Rohrbaugh, 4.4- Eric Stambaugh, 5. 70-Sam Schlosberg, 6. 17E-Cris Eash, 7. 31D-Kevin Drury, 8. 10N-Niki Young (DNF). 34M-Jim Martz Jr.

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. X-Bobby Weaver, 2.77- Lance Dewease, 3. 22-Kenny Jacobs, 4. 88H-Fred Rahmer, 5. 71-Brian Leppo, 6. 55-Phil Weinsteiger, Jr., 7.8D- Mike Dillman.

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 17-Peter Attard, 2. 6W-Josh Wells, 3. 30-Doug Esh, 4. 12-Greg Hodnett, 5. 47J-Jeff Busby, 6. 59-Jim Siegel, 7. 3W-Chris Webb (DNS).


Feature (20 Laps) 1. 1-Neil Smith, 2. 21A-Mike Zeigler, Jr., 3. B52-Mike Walls, 4. 3R-Duane Watson, 5. 61S-Mike Slaybaugh, 6. 81-Mike Zeigler, Sr., 7- Jim Martz, Jr., 8. 2-Dan Zechman, 9. 8Md-Dave Prunkl, 10. X-Bernie Beard, 11. 61-Mike Ciezobka, 12. 12-Jake Markey, 13. 39-Wane Dutterer, 14. 1E-Greg Emlet, 15. 8-Mike Gladfelter I, 16. 57-Willie Godfrey, 17. 72-Wayne Esbenshade, 18. 25-Sean Herrick (DNF), 19. 31-Ron Shultz (DNF), 20. O-Eric McClane (DNF), 21. 37-Jim Rost (DNF), 22. 3-Mike Gladfelter (DNF), 23. 52 Nat Tuckey (DNF).

Lap Leaders - Mike Slaybaugh (1-4), Neil Smith (5-20).

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1.2- Dan Zechman, 2. 37-Jim Rost, 3. 34M-Jim Martz, Jr., 4. 52-Nat Tuckey, 5. 81-Mike Zeigler, Sr., 6. 25-Sean Herrick, 7. 12-Jake Markey, 8. 0-Eric McClane, 9. 61-Mike Ciezobka (DNF).

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21A-Mike Zeigler, Jr., 2. 8MD-Dave Prunkl, 3. 1-Neil Smith, 4. X-Bernie Beard, 5. 57-Willie Godfrey, 6. 1E-Greg Emlet, 7. 29-Randy Doty (DNF), 8. 72-Shelly Renfrow (DNF), 9. 54-Roy Warehime (DNS).

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. B52-Mike Walls, 2. 3R-Duane Watson, 3. 61S-Mike Slaybaugh, 4. 3-Mike Gladfelter, 5. 39-Wayne Dutterer, 6. 31-Ron Shultz (DNF), 7. 8-Mike Gladfelter II (DNF), 8. 14-Chet McCormick (DNF).


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Neil Smith