Lincoln Speedway results 2003-08-16

Abbottstown, PA, 8/16/03 - Cris Eash was racing like the wind on Saturday night, trying to outrun a determined driver attempting to gain his first career win and trying to beat a storm, indicated by frequent lightning beyond the backstretch at ...

Abbottstown, PA, 8/16/03 - Cris Eash was racing like the wind on Saturday night, trying to outrun a determined driver attempting to gain his first career win and trying to beat a storm, indicated by frequent lightning beyond the backstretch at Lincoln Speedway.

As it turned out, Eash succeeded on both counts and solved his problems to boot to claim his 34th career victory on Kids Night and Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown Night.

Then, after the victory lane ceremonies, rain from the looming storm forced the halt to the program prior to the start of the thundercar feature. That race will be conducted on Saturday, Aug. 23.

"We really need this because we've been horrible the last few weeks at both tracks," Eash said, referring to Lincoln, where he earned his track-leading fifth feature victory of the season, and Williams Grove Speedway. "We worked today on the car and it paid off tonight."

However, the night didn't start well for the Hanover driver, who improved only one spot in his heat race to finish sixth, just enough to make the feature field. The finish forced Eash to start from 16th position, but from there, Eash and his Advance Settlement/Macri Concrete/E&G Classics No. 17E crew went back to the basics.

"We kind of did our normal deal tonight, went back to the books of what we've been doing and did about the same thing and it turned us around," Eash said.

Therefore, while Spring Grove's Brian Leppo raced away to the lead from his outside pole position, Eash steadily worked his way forward, gaining spots with each restart after five caution flags, including two waved for Eash's brother, Darren, whose car stopped and then slowed in the first four laps.

Meanwhile, Thomasville's Josh Wells drove to second place past Jeff Busby on the fourth lap and chased Leppo until Eash dove beneath Wells in the third turn to take the runner-up spot with 12 laps down. The pursuit then lasted seven more laps until a four-car crash in the first turn brought out the red flag and ended the nights of Billy Sims and Busby.

On the restart, Eash drove beneath Leppo in the first turn and came out of the second corner with the point. Slowed by the stopped car of Dan Shetler with five laps remaining, Eash then was able to keep command over the remaining distance to claim the $2,500 first-place purse.

"My motor was stumbling and he (Leppo) was getting pretty good starts. The start before, he had me way slowed down and my motor wouldn't take off," Eash said. "I hung back a little bit and was ready for the next one and got to slide up in front of him."

The victory was important for Eash, whose father Dave is recovering from recent medical problems.

"It's just nice to see my dad back here at the race track supporting us both (Cris and Darren)," Cris said. "We wouldn't be up here without him."

For the victory, Eash also received a golf shirt from Joan Shadle of the Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown.

Leppo settled for second place ahead of Brook Weibley, Niki Young, Wells, Johnny Mackison Jr., Doug Esh, Chris Knopp, Jeff Rohrbaugh and Craig Smith, who surged from 15th starting spot.

Heats for the 24 "410" sprints were won by Rohrbaugh, Busby and Leppo.

Heats for the 25 thundercars were won by Doug Devilbiss, Gregg Messersmith and Bernie Beard. All qualifying events were non-stop races.

Next Saturday night, August 23rd, all three point divisions will be in action - the Cindy Rowe Paintless Dent Removal 410 Sprints, 358 Sprints & Thundercars. For the thundercars, they will now make-up the feature from tonight's rained-out show (8/16), and run an entire racing program too. With the racing season beginning the homestretch run towards the final point races of the season, each race will carry a lot excitement as teams look to advance themselves up the standings.

The 410 sprints will have only two more point races on the following two weeks before ending there point season, while the 358 sprints have only three more point shows in consecutive weeks before concluding there 2003 point battle.

Gates will open at 5:30 PM next Saturday night, August 23rd, with the first heat taking the green at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

RACE RESULTS Saturday - August 16, 2003

410 Sprints:
Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 17E-Cris Eash ($2,500); 2. 71-Brian Leppo; 3. 32-Brook Weibley; 4. 10N-Niki Young; 5. 6W-Josh Wells; 6. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 7. 30-Doug Esh; 8. 6K-Chris Knopp; 9. 38-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 10. 33-Craig Smith; 11. 21P-Jerry Parrish; 12. 31D-Kevin Drury; 13. 66-Jim Siegel; 14. 85-Ken Berwager; 15. 25-Nik Gower; 16. 43-Larry Shive; 17. 23-Todd Zinn; 18. 7K-Dan Shetler (DNF); 19. 47J-Jeff Busby (DNF); 20. 55S-Billy Sims (DNF); 21. 21-Glenndon Forsythe (DNF); 22. X-Bobby Weaver (DNF); 23. 22-Darren Eash (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Brian Leppo (1-19), Cris Eash (20-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 38-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 6K-Chris Knopp; 3. 21-Glenndon Forsythe; 4. 6W-Josh Wells; 5. X-Bobby Weaver; 6. 17E-Cris Eash; 7. 25-Nik Gower; 8. 23-Todd Zinn. Time-2:35.27.

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 47J-Jeff Busby; 2. 10N-Niki Young; 3. 7K-Dan Shetler; 4. 32-Brook Weibley; 5. 55S-Billy Sims; 6. 31D-Kevin Drury; 7 21P-Jerry Parrish; 8. 85-Ken Berwager. Time-2:28.6.

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 71-Brian Leppo; 2. 30-Doug Esh; 3. 22-Darren Eash; 4. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 5. 33-Craig Smith; 6. 66-Jim Siegel; 7. 43-Larry Shive. DNS-27-Jay Galloway. Time-2:25.23.

Feature (20 Laps) -Rained out, rescheduled to Saturday, Aug. 23.

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 15-Doug Devilbiss; 2. 30-Craig Wagaman; 3. 8MD-David Prunkl; 4. 4-Greg Feltch; 5. 7X-Doug Rose; 6. 52-Nat Tuckey; 7.3-Mike Gladfelter; 8. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 9. 6G-Ronald Grim. Time-2:58.11.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 34-Gregg Messersmith; 2. 21A-Mike Zeigler Jr.; 3. 61S-Mike Slaybaugh; 4. 95-Allen Cullum; 5. 10-Steve Clabaugh; 6. 14-Chet McCormick; 7. 63-William Knaus; 8. 39-Wayne Dutterer. Time-2:57.09.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. X-Bernie Beard; 2. 25-Sean Herrick; 3. 98-Dan Zechman; 4. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 5. 61-Mike Ciezobka; 6. 9-Al Crammer; 7. 70-Duane Hahn; 8. 1-Neil Smith. Time-3:00.39.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Neil Smith
Teams Williams