Lincoln Speedway report 2001-06-02

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/2/01 - Aspers' Glenndon Forsythe finally shook the monkey off his back Saturday by picking up his first career super sprint win at Lincoln Speedway. "I knew they had to be back there somewhere, but I wasn't looking ...

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/2/01 - Aspers' Glenndon Forsythe finally shook the monkey off his back Saturday by picking up his first career super sprint win at Lincoln Speedway.

"I knew they had to be back there somewhere, but I wasn't looking back," said a jubilant Forsythe of Cris Eash, Fred Rahmer, and other top guns upon exiting the Bill and Kay Tanger/Materials Handling Systems #07 in victory lane.

Forsythe, who started on the pole, took the lead from outside frontrow starter and race-long leader Cliff Brian of Ephrata exiting the fourth turn of the eighth lap and then held off Cris Eash, Fred Rahmer, and Greg Hodnett in a final four-lap dash to the checkered to become the fifth different winner in 13 races at the Pigeon Hills oval.

"What a deal!" said Forsythe, "I've got to thank Bill and Kay for giving me this opportunity...we were running on a rather slim budget in my car and I gave this one a try. We got here pretty quick, maybe we'll be back soon!"

"We've been pretty decent, and it's a matter of luck, too, I guess," Forsythe quickly added. "I've got to thank Art Green. He helped us out a good bit with the set-up tonight. He was helping me on my car and then we didn't use him for a couple races...maybe we can keep him around now."

"They gave me enough shots starting on the front row, we knew we get one of these sometime - and we're here."

Indeed, Forsythe started on the pole. But a terrible start which stacked up the inside of rows two through five saw Forsythe yield to Cliff Brian and cross second after one lap. Forsythe then followed Brian for the first seven laps before diving under the No.16 car to take the lead while bearing down on lapped traffic exiting the fourth turn of lap eight. Bobby Weaver got by Brian for second a lap later, and chased Forsythe for the next nine laps before giving way to Cris Eash on lap 19. Eash, who started tenth, had closed to about five carlengths of Forsythe when the caution came out for a Dan Shetler spin on the backstretch of the 21st lap. Eash challenged over the final four laps, but was unable to catch Forsythe, whose margin of victory was .72 seconds.

Eight-time winner Fred Rahmer started 11th and passed Weaver for third on the final restart. Greg Hodnett, who started 16th, caught Weaver for fourth as the two passed under the white flag. Weaver completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Steve Siegel, Niki Young, Darren Eash, Craig Keel, and Brian.

The win, worth $2,500, made Forsythe 134th different winner in super sprint history at Lincoln Speedway.

And, as owner Bill Tanger pointed out in victory lane, the win came in a motor bought from Cris Eash last year. "We beat Cris with his own motor!"

Heats for the 25 sprinters on hand were won by Forsythe, Brian, and Rahmer.

East Berlin's Eric Stambaugh used a lot of borrowed equipment to score his first Lincoln win of the year and second of his career at Lincoln in the 20-lap "358" sprint feature. "We discovered some major motor problems this week, and started making phone calls," said Stambaugh in victory lane, "Rich Eichelberger lent us this motor today, so I want to thank him...and offer to buy it!" Stambaugh also borrowed a torsion bar from Kenny Foor, the driver he had to pass for the lead on lap 13.

Foor, a second-year, second-generation driver from Everett, PA, led the first 12 laps. He settled for third after losing the runner-up spot to 22nd-starting Billy Dietrich on lap 16. Dietrich went home to get another car after crashing in his heat and qualifying through the second consolation event.

Stambaugh came from the 17th starting spot after winning one of the two consolation events, and his pass for the lead followed a nine-car crash that involved six of the top nine cars on lap 12. Doug Esh, Brian Eichelberger, and Gary Gollub all got together while racing for second entering the third turn. Eichelberger ended up on his side and collected Gollub and three other cars. Though he got through the crash site, Esh was forced to the pits to make repairs.

Completing the top five at the finish were Jim Siegel and Alan Krimes. Rounding out the top ten were Cory Haas, Kevin Drury, Bob Fisher, Dan Dietrich, and Judd Shepard.

Heats for the 37 "358" sprints were won by Eric Patteson, Siegel, Foor, and Krimes. In winning the second heat, Jim Siegel set a new eight-lap track record of one minute 58.85 seconds, besting the old record of one minute 59.56 set by P.J. Chesson on July 11, 1998. Twin consolation events were won by Stambaugh and Rick Horn.

Outside frontrow starter Gregg Messersmith of Littlestown grabbed the lead over polesitter M.R. Teal at the drop of the green and withstood the challenges of Duane Watson and, eventually, Gary Potts to win his first of the year and fourth career Lincoln win in the 20-lap thundercar feature. Potts, who started sixth, snatched the runner-up spot from Watson during a four-car battle for the lead in the waning laps. Watson, last week's winner, finished third, with Bobby Rudisill and Neil Smith completing the top five. Messersmith became the 7th different winner in 13 races so far this year.

The crash-marred event included a fourth-lap red flag for points leader Bernie Beard and two-time defending track champ Bobby Beard, who collided on the backstretch. Bobby Beard came to rest on top of the inside guardrail, but was uninjured. Bernie was able to make repairs and return to the rear, and finished 13th. Bobby was credited with 22nd, moving Steve Clabaugh into sole possession of second in the season-long Miller Brothers points race.

Heats for the 27 thundercars were won by Bobby Beard, David Prunkl, and Teal, with Mike Ciezobka winning the consolation.

It will be MANHEIM AUTO AUCTION NIGHT next Saturday night, June 9th at 7:30 PM with all three regular divisions in action. It will be a full night of racing as the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Super Sprints, the Budweiser/Motorsports Monthly 358 Sprints, and the Miller Brothers Chevrolet Thundercars do battle. Gates will open at 5 p.m., with hot laps at 7 p.m., with the first heat scheduled to take the green flag at 7:30 p.m.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers P.J. Chesson , Neil Smith