Lincoln Speedway race report 2002-08-24

Rahmer claims 6th straight Cindy Rowe title with 9th Lincoln win of year; Stambaugh class of field in 358s; Clabaugh earns second in thundercars. ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 8/24/02 - When close friends race against each other every week, it's inevitable...

Rahmer claims 6th straight Cindy Rowe title with 9th Lincoln win of year; Stambaugh class of field in 358s; Clabaugh earns second in thundercars.

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 8/24/02 - When close friends race against each other every week, it's inevitable that they'll eventually get together. Saturday night they did...while racing for the lead.

Lancaster's Doug Esh and Salfordville's Fred Rahmer collided while running first and second on a 16th-lap restart, sending Esh into a spin which resulted in a red flag for the flipping cars of Marshall Whitsel and Jerry Parrish, among a gaggle of cars caught up in the restart melee. Esh sustained front end damage in the incident, and was unable to continue. Other spinners included Kevin Drury and Jesse Wentz, racing for the first time this year in the Rick Horn No.60.

As he has done so many times before, Rahmer was able to keep going, and assumed the race lead for the restart. Rahmer dominated the rest of the way to score his ninth win of the year and 121st of his career in the Pigeon Hills.

"Doug was running the top and he went to the bottom and I was already committed," said Rahmer over a chorus of boos in victory lane. "I came together with was one of them deals."

"We didn't hurt nothing," Rahmer responded when asked if the collision caused any damage to the Harz Racing Miller Brothers/CnB Mushroom Farms No.88H. "I went in there and I was under him. Everybody sees it different ways. I'm friends with Doug and I sure didn't want it to happen. It was just one of them deals."

Polesitter Craig Smith led the first lap before fourth-starting Esh took over the lead on lap two. Sixth-starting Niki Young got around Smith for second on lap three, and ran second for the next 11 laps before 12th-starting Rahmer grabbed the runner-up spot from Young on a 15th-lap restart after Chris Knopp flipped in turn one and brought out the red.

Young then got sideways exiting the second turn of the 16th lap and collected fourth-place Brook Weibley, sending both cars to the pits for repairs.

That set up the anticipated showdown between Esh and Rahmer, which lasted less than a quarter of-a-lap.

"I went in there committed to the bottom, and he came down there and we came together. I sure didn't want to win that way. The guys had our car really good tonight, and we got up through there. I was just one of them deals."

"I'm glad to win it for Joe," said Rahmer on clinching his sixth-straight Cindy Auto Glass Super Sprint track championship for car owner Joe Harz. "He gave us good stuff. It just took us a while to get going. Tonight was the best we've had the car all year. The track was good. It was just unfortunate the way things went."

Rahmer made it clear he had no damage by dominating the rest of the way, crossing 3.34 seconds ahead of Cris Eash (who started 11th). Glenndon Forsythe, Bobby Weaver, and Jeff Rohrbaugh completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Johnny Mackison, Jr., Craig Smith, Weibley, Dan Shetler, and Young.

Heats for the 25 super sprints were won by Eash, Rahmer, and Young.

Defending champ Eric Stambaugh wasted no time getting to the front and claiming his second win of the year in the 20-lap "358" sprint feature. Stambaugh started 11th and drove under Kenny Foor for second on turn two of a lap-four restart and around Matt Boland for the race lead on turn four of lap five.

Points leader Cory Haas took himself out of contention on the fourth lap when he got together with Mike Creaghan, bringing out the caution. Haas came from the rear to finish eighth, and maintains a healthy points lead over Stambaugh with two points races remaining this season.

Dan Dietrich came from 10th starting spot to finish third, with Boland and Foor holding on for fourth and fifth. Completing the top ten were Brian Eichelberger, Will Urkuski, Haas, Jim Siegel, and Dale Hammaker.

Heats for the 35 "358" sprinters were won by Dietrich, Foor, Urkuski, and Boland. Twin consolations were won by Bob Gutshall and Brian Leppo.

Bonneville's Steve Clabaugh drove from his eighth starting spot to grab the lead with a power move to the outside of Neil Smith in the third and fourth turns of the 13th lap and led the rest of the way to score his second win of the season in the 20 lap thundercar feature. Clabaugh's win was never certain as several late race cautions kept Smith and point leader Bernie Beard on his bumper. But the battle between Smith and Beard for second helped clear the way for Clabaugh's 24th career win at the Pigeon Hills oval as he took the checkered .63-seconds over Smith, Beard, Nat Tuckey, and Mike Ciezobka.

Heats for the 23 thundercars were won by Duane Watson, Mike Zeigler Sr., and Bobby Rudisill.

Next Saturday night, August 31st, Lincoln Speedway will hold the 8th Annual Bobby Abel Memorial for the super sprints. This event mark the final Cindy Rowe Auto Glass point race for the super sprinters who have only two more race dates at the Pigeon Hills oval following the Abel Memorial. Joining them will be the 358 sprints and INEX Legends. In addition, a spectacular FIREWORKS display will cap off the evening racing activities. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with hot-laps getting underway at 7 PM, and the first heat getting underway at 7:30 PM.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Neil Smith