Lincoln Speedway race report 2002-06-08

Rahmer remains undefeated on Manheim Auto Auction Night; defending champ Stambaugh scores first of the year in 358s; Smith wins third in thundercars. ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/8/02 - Fred Rahmer kept his Manheim Auto Auction Night record intact at ...

Rahmer remains undefeated on Manheim Auto Auction Night; defending champ Stambaugh scores first of the year in 358s; Smith wins third in thundercars.

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/8/02 - Fred Rahmer kept his Manheim Auto Auction Night record intact at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

Fast Freddy grabbed the lead from Doug Esh exiting the second turn following an 18th lap caution restart and then led the rest of the way to claim his 117th career win in the 25 lap super sprint feature. Until this year, Rahmer had piloted the Manheim car and won every night Manheim Auto Auction sponsored races in the Pigeon Hills. This time he was driving the Joe Harz-owned Miller Brothers/CnB Mushroom No.88H as he scored his fifth Lincoln win of the year by 2.24 seconds over last week's first-time winner Doug Esh. The win, worth $2,500, was Rahmer's third win out of the last five races at the Abbottstown oval.

Rahmer started 11th and entered the top five when he passed the Manheim Auction No.77 of Lance Dewease in heavy lapped traffic on turn four of lap 10. Less than a lap later, Dewease smashed his front wing during tight racing by several front runners in turn one. Dewease brought out the caution and rejoined the field after removing the wing.

From that point on, Rahmer looked as good as he has all season. After third-place driver Todd Gracey dove into the pits on an 11th-lap caution for a spinning Josh Wells, Rahmer caught Brook Weibley for third on lap 14. He then disposed of early race leader Niki Young a lap later, and pulled onto the back bumper of Esh during the 18th-lap caution for Cris Eash, who hit the outside guardrail and spun on the backstretch. He made quick work of Esh on the restart.

"We've been struggling and we changed the car around this week," said a happy Rahmer in victory lane. "Timmy (Elwell) and the guys did a good job, and hopefully we can get back on track. We've been looking a little bit off. I screwed up there in the heat race and turned it around. It was a pretty tough heat, and you have to make something happen...and I just over did it.

"We were better tonight, and we were better last night (Williams Grove). Joe (Harz) gives me good equipment, and Jeff, Rob, Nathan, and everybody, they all do a good job working on the car."

Rahmer then turned his attention to the huge crowd in attendance, Lincoln, and Manheim Auto Auction.

"Before I start sounding like a commercial, I just want to say thanks to everybody. They've been getting great crowds here at Lincoln. Lincoln management did a great job in making it better viewing for all the fans, and they're turning out and making it worth their while."

"Manheim Auto Auction is one of the most impressive places I've ever been to," said Rahmer on the night's sponsor, which brought over 900 employee's to the evening's racing action. "They support every form of racing from NASCAR to sprint cars. I appreciated them when I was there, and I just didn' t think it would be right if I didn't win it tonight."

"The only win I'm worrying about now is 118," said Rahmer after being asked about closing in on Steve Smith's Lincoln record of 150 wins, "150 wins is really unrealistic, I just want the next one."

Esh crossed second, with Weibley, Johnny Mackison, Jr., and Greg Hodnett completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Bobby Weaver, Donnie Kreitz, Jr., Young, Dewease, and Chris Knopp.

Heats for the 26 super sprints were won by Weaver, Young, and Gracey.

Defending track champ Eric Stambaugh became the sixth different winner in six races in the 20-lap "358" sprint feature event. Stambaugh, who missed last week's show after a spin in his heat, started 10th and entered the top five on lap three. On lap four, Stambaugh drove around Michael Creaghan for fourth, then took third from Siegel when he hit the outside wall on the frontstretch of lap seven. A lap later, Siegel came to a stop on the backstretch, ending his night. On the restart, Stambaugh used the high side to move into the runner-up spot, and then stayed up top to track down race-long leader Shawn "Big Block" Weaver on lap nine.

Points leader Cory Haas, who started 18th, followed Stambaugh into second the next lap, and the two raced away from the rest of the field over the second half of the race.

Greg Leiby came on late to finish third, with Weaver crossing fourth and Dale Hammaker completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Danny Warrick, Billy Dietrich, Adrian Shaffer, Judd Shepard, and Joe Ilg.

Heats for the 42 "358" sprints on hand were won by Weaver, Stambaugh, Creaghan, and Stan Fleming. Twin consolations were won by Shaffer and Haas.

Hanover's Neil Smith passed boyhood hero Kenny Slaybaugh on lap 14 and drove away to his division-leading third win of the season in the 20-lap thundercar feature. Polesitter Slaybaugh dominated the first half of the race until a 14th-lap caution put Smith and Craig Wagaman on the 1963 Lincoln late model champ's back bumper. Smith drove under the Slaybaugh's No.61S for the lead on the restart, with Wagaman moving into second on the next-to-last lap. Slaybaugh held on for third, with Duane Hahn and Nat Tuckey completing the top five.

Bobby Rudisill crossed sixth, with points leader Bernie Beard piloting the borrowed car of Doug White to a seventh place finish after blowing a motor in his own car during his heat.

Heats for the 29 thundercars were won by Mike Walls, Jeremy Brown, and David Prunkl, with Ron Schultz winning the consolation.

Next Saturday night, June 15th, it will be NATIONAL SPRINT CAR FANS ASSOCIATION NIGHT with the United Racing Club sprinters visiting Lincoln Speedway for there only visit of the season. They will be joined by the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Super Sprints and the Miller Brothers Chevrolet Thundercars. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with warm-ups at 7 PM, and the first heat taking the green at 7:30 PM.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Steve Smith , Doug White , Neil Smith
Teams Williams