Lincoln Speedway race report 2002-05-25

Annual Memorial Day Weekend Super Sprint Championship. Dewease celebrates holiday with third win; Smith, West capture thundercar, micro sprint victories ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 5/25/02 - Put together a race with some extra cash and some extra laps on...

Annual Memorial Day Weekend Super Sprint Championship.

Dewease celebrates holiday with third win; Smith, West capture thundercar, micro sprint victories

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 5/25/02 - Put together a race with some extra cash and some extra laps on the schedule and it's a sure thing that the best will be in contention at the finish.

That was the case on Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway, where the two leading drivers so far this season staged a second stirring duel within the past 10 days in the 30-lap Memorial Day Super Sprint Championship and Lance Dewease came out on top for his third win of the season.

"I'm sure Fred (Rahmer) wasn't real happy with his car and I wasn't real happy with mine, but we both were racing up through there and he was a little bit better early," Dewease said after earning the $3,000 first-place purse for his 30-lap victory which avenged his second place to Rahmer in last week's 50th Anniversary Show in the Pigeon Hills.

However, Rahmer's dissatisfaction showed up visibly when the Harz No. 88H began to lose air from its right rear tire as track officials towed the car of Brook Weibley, also suffering a flat right rear tire, with eight laps remaining.

On the restart, Dewease steered the Hamilton Motorsports No. 77 deep into the first turn while Rahmer sailed high along the wall. When the cars emerged from the second turn, Dewease's car had slid just in front of Rahmer and he had the lead.

"I saw Fred's tire start to lose some air there during that caution. After seeing how the tire was, I thought his car would roll a little bit up on entry (into the corner) ... He got high and I got a little bit of a run on him," Dewease said.

Despite the deflating tire, Rahmer remained on the track and attempted to race with it despite another caution flag on the next lap for the spin of Chappy Knaack's car in the first turn. While Dewease would eventually win by 2.3 seconds, Rahmer, the five-time defending track champion, surrendered second place to Cris Eash with four laps remaining and then lost third spot to Johnny Mackison Jr. before the checkered flag.

Meanwhile, Dewease's second win of the weekend after his Friday night victory at Williams Grove Speedway was his 17th career feature triumph at Lincoln. That puts Dewease in sole possession of 15th place on the all-time win list just one win behind World of Outlaws veteran Stevie Smith and makes Al Hamilton one proud car owner.

"I've enjoyed this year like you'd never believe," Hamilton said. "I just enjoy watching him race this car. Over the years, I've enjoyed watching my car with other drivers as well, but I'll tell you, he's sure putting the icing on the cake."

Sean Michael took fifth place ahead of Steve Siegel, who made a miraculous recovery from his car's flip in its heat race and its 22nd starting position in the feature. Bobby Weaver took seventh place ahead of Glenndon Forsythe, who led 12 laps of the feature before Rahmer passed him on the 15th lap. Todd Gracey was ninth and Chris Knopp took 10th spot.

Heats for the 21 super sprints on hand were won by Rahmer and Michael.

In the thundercar feature, Hanover's Neil Smith grabbed the lead from Randy Zechman on the third lap and endured several early caution flags to drive away to his second feature win of the season. The win was Smith's 26th career win at Lincoln, tying him with Jeremy Miller for second place behind all-time winner Bernie Beard.

Smith held off Bernie Beard, who came from the rear after he was involved in a mishap, for the victory. Last week's feature winner, Mike Walls, was third ahead of Duane Watson, Steve Clabaugh, Chet McCormick, Mike Potts, Craig Wagaman, Greg Feltch and Randy Doty.

Heats for the 32 thundercars on hand were won by Mike Zeigler Sr., Smith and Doug Devilbiss, with Mike Zeigler Jr. winning the consolation.

Randy West eased past race-long leader Steve Lenig to complete a charge from 11th starting spot and won the 15-lap micro sprint feature in the division's first appearance of the 2002 season.

Lenig held onto second spot and held off Brad McClelland. Shawn Seifert, who started 21st, charged in the late laps to take fourth place ahead of Jeff Young, Wayne Karcher, John Copeland, Greg Miller, A.J. Bast and Andrew Dehoff.

Heats for the 49 micro sprints on hand were won by McClelland, West, Pat Webb and Jeremy Mondock, with Seifert and Rick Hare winning consolations.

Lincoln Speedway comes right back this Monday night, May 27th for a special Memorial Day show featuring the 358 Sprint and thundercar regulars. Also joining them will be the Silver Spring Super Sportsmen and Street Stocks. Gates will open at 4 PM, with warm-ups at 5:30 PM, and the first heat taking the green at 6 PM.

Then next Saturday night, June 1st, it will be the AUTO RACING CLUB OF HAGERSTOWN (ARCH) NIGHT at Lincoln Speedway featuring all three point divisions - the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Super Sprints, the Budweiser 358 Sprints, and the Miller Brothers Chevrolet Thundercars. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with warm-ups at 7 PM, and the first heat taking the green at 7:30 PM.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Chappy Knaack , Neil Smith
Teams Williams