Lincoln Speedway race report 2001-07-28

Saturday - July 28, 2001 LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Abbottstown, PA Montieth Outruns Eash For Second Lincoln Win Of Year; Adrian Shaffer Claims first career win in "358" sprints; Prunkl wins second straight in thundercars ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/28/01 -On ...

Saturday - July 28, 2001
Abbottstown, PA

Montieth Outruns Eash For Second Lincoln Win Of Year; Adrian Shaffer Claims first career win in "358" sprints; Prunkl wins second straight in thundercars

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/28/01 -On Fridays, he runs the steel block at Williams Grove so he can "try for the bonus money and run tomorrow." On Saturdays, he drives like there is no tomorrow.

Phoenixville's Brian Montieth has a plan, and so far it seems to be working quite well. After sitting out the first half of the season waiting for the money to race, Montieth has again proven that the low-buck racer can win.

Montieth survived a mid-race scare while battling for second with Cris Eash, took the top spot on the 14th lap, and raced away to his second win of the season in the 25 lap super sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

"This car really works," said a happy Montieth upon exiting his Bill and Brian Montieth-owned Precision Hydraulics No.12B in victory lane. "I can't complain too much."

"I run Friday night with my steel motor (at Williams grove) and hopefully I can make the show so I can make a little bit of money ($200 steel block bonus) so I can run here on Saturday night," said Montieth on his interesting racing schedule. "Money is a big factor in how I run this year."

Polesitter Josh Wells outraced fellow frontrow starter Niki Young into the first turn at the drop of the green to take the lead and opened up a 1.29-second lead over Young, Billy Sims, Montieth, and Cris Eash by the fifth lap.

Eash, who started 10th, drove around Montieth, Sims, and then Young on the ninth lap to move into the runner-up spot on lap 10. But two laps later, Montieth drove around Eash for second and set his sights on Wells. Montieth powered around Wells exiting the second turn of lap 14. As the two entered lapped traffic on turn three of the same lap, Wells collided with the lapped car of Pierron Reasner and flipped, ending his night.

That put Eash on the back bumper of Montieth for the restart, but the Miller Brothers No.17E was no match for Montieth, who drove away from Eash on two other restarts to claim the win 2.11 seconds over Eash.

Billy Sims crossed third, ahead of 11th-starting Fred Rahmer and Young. Shawn "Big Block" Weaver, Steve Siegel, Cliff Brian, Chris Knopp, and Darren Eash completed the top ten.

"I have to apologize, I don't know if it was me," Montieth said in regard to the contact between himself and Eash as the two battled for the runner-up spot as the two came down to complete lap 11, "I'm still getting use to this's a little twitchy on me."

"I'm happy to make the top ten," Montieth was quick to add. "I'm going to run weekly here, and run the Grove as much as I can."

It's was Montieth's fourth career win in the Pigeon Hills.

Heats for the 21 super sprinters on hand were won by Sims and Young.

York's Adrian Shaffer claimed his first career win in a 20-lap "358" sprint feature that saw former micro-sprint drivers finish in the top six spots. Kevin Nouse drove one of four Dietrich cars from his pole position into the lead at the drop of the green and led the first six laps before yielding to Shaffer exiting the second turn of lap seven. Felton's Chad Trout started third and disposed of Will Urkuski on the first lap to run second the first five laps. After giving way to Shaffer, Trout ran third until passing Nouse on lap 10. Shaffer and Trout ran first and second the rest of the way, with Jim Siegel coming on late to finish third, Cory Haas advancing from his 11th starting spot to finish fourth, and Brian Eichelberger completing the top five. Nouse, Greg Leiby, Dan Dietrich, Joe Ilg, and Alan Krimes rounded out the top ten.

Points leader Eric Stambaugh needed a hook after getting together with Billy Dietrich while battling for eighth on the fourth turn of lap seven. Billy was able to come back through the field to finish 11th.

Heats for the 21 "358" sprinters were won by Nouse and Trout.

Sykesvile Maryland's David Prunkl assumed the lead when Craig Wagaman lost power as the caution was coming out on lap 11 on went on to win his second in-a-row and third of the year in the 20-lap thundercar feature. Prunkl, who started third, ran third thru the first nine laps before passing second-starting Cork Laughman for the runner-up spot on the 10th lap. Then on the 11th lap race-long leader Wagaman was side-lined with mechanical problems as the caution flag waved - handing the lead to Prunkl.

From there Prunkl held off Neil Smith and was able to survive a last lap dash to the checkered to register a .24 second win over Smith. Laughman hung on for third, with Mike Walls finishing forth, and Mike Ziegler Jr. fifth.

Heats for the 31 thundercars were won by Laughman, Steve Clabaugh, and Prunkl, with Allen Cullum winning the consolation.

Next Saturday night, August 4th, Lincoln Speedway will present the ANNUAL THUNDERCAR MANUFACTURERS APPRECIATION NIGHT featuring all three regular divisions - the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Super Sprints, the Budweiser/Motorsports Monthly 358 Sprints and the Miller Brothers Chevrolet Thundercars. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with hot laps at 7 PM and racing action getting under way at 7:30 PM.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Neil Smith
Teams Williams