Lincoln Speedway race report 2001-04-28

Saturday - April 28, 2001 LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Abbottstown, PA ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 4/28/01 - Salfordsville's Fred Rahmer picked up his second win of the weekend by claiming the 25-lap super sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Rahmer,...

Saturday - April 28, 2001
Abbottstown, PA

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 4/28/01 - Salfordsville's Fred Rahmer picked up his second win of the weekend by claiming the 25-lap super sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

Rahmer, hot off his win in the World of Outlaws Gumout series opener at Williams Grove the night before, caught leader Josh Wells exiting the second turn of the 18th lap and then pulled away over the remaining six laps to take the checkered in a non-stop 25-lap feature time of six minutes, 46.24 seconds.

Finishing second 5.43 seconds behind Rahmer at the checkered was Steve Siegel, who slid under Wells as the two passed under the white flag. Wells, in his best ever Lincoln run, finished third, with brothers Cris and Darren Eash completing the top five. Early race leader Billy Sims finished sixth, with Johnny Mackison Jr., Cliff Brian, Niki Young, and Chris Knopp rounding out the top ten.

"I'm just glad to be standing here again," said the happy winner upon exiting his Al and Betty Hamilton-owned Manheim Auto Auction/Cindy Rowe Auto Glass sprinter in victory lane, "Josh Wells was running a real good race. I've been telling you there are a lot of new guys running real well, and a lot of good people standing behind them - or they wouldn't be running that good."

Rahmer's pass for the lead came when Wells got boxed in behind a lapped car on the second turn. Asked about that after the race, Rahmer said, "The one thing my dad taught me when I first started was that the car right in front of you can't hurt you. You've got to look way ahead. That's helped me quite a bit over the years. We're just fortunate. I have more experience than him, and he led for a long time. I'm sure he's going to win his share."

Sims grabbed the lead from his outside front row starting spot and paced the field for the first five laps before yielding to Wells. The Thomasville driver had a 1.35-second lead when Darren Eash claimed the runner-up spot from Sims on lap nine. Meanwhile, Rahmer advanced from 11th starting spot to sixth by the end of the first lap, entered the top five on lap five, and battled Cris Eash for fourth over the next four laps. The two swapped fourth spot several times between laps six and ten.

I got by him, but then he got back by me," said Rahmer, "He went with a little softer tire than we did, but I think we just got a little bit luckier. You could race side-by-side with Cris forever. He runs a heck of a good race. Darren Eash ran a good race again. I thought he had the lead there, and I looked on the leader board and saw that Josh (Wells) did. Then I figured I better pick it up."

After settling his battle with Cris Eash, Rahmer disposed of Sims on lap ten and set his sights on Darren Eash. He raced wheel-to-wheel with Darren for three laps, Rahmer finally took control of second exiting the fourth turn of lap 15. His race-winning move past Wells came three laps later.

The $2,500 win was Rahmer's seventh win in eight races at the Pigeon Hills oval, his 106th career Lincoln win, and it was his eighth overall win in 2001.

Heats for the 20 super sprints on hand were won by Darren Eash and Cliff Brian.

Lancaster's Doug Esh became the third winner in as many races in the 20-lap "358" sprint feature. Esh, piloting the Larry Lamey #88x, started on the outside of the front row and battled Tim Hershey for the race lead over the first half of the race. Hershey was actually scored the leader as the two crossed under the flagstand to complete lap five. Esh never could shake Hershey, but the two leaders ran away from the rest of the field through heavy lapped traffic over the final five laps. Esh's final margin of victory was about ten car lengths. Jake Raudabaugh finished a distance third, with Cory Haas and Eric Stambaugh completing the top five.

The race ran caution-free over the final 18 laps. Polesitter Jimmy Layton got sideways on the first turn and collected points leader Billy Dietrich on the initial start. Mike Creaghan then flipped over the front end of Layton and brought out a red flag. None of the drivers were injured.

The win was the first for Esh with his new team. He took over for car owner Lamey when Lamey fell ill just before the consolation event last week, and said in victory lane that Lamey decided to hire him for the rest of the season after last week's race.

Heats for the 34 "358" sprints on hand were won by Billy Dietrich, Tim Hershey, and Scott Ausherman, with Brian Marriott winning the consolation.

Bernie Beard came from 17th starting spot to win his third race of the year in the 20-lap thundercar feature. Beard steered clear of several crashes in front of him to pass both Craig Wagaman and Steve Clabaugh as they were battling for the lead on lap 15. Clabaugh crossed second, but Wagaman climbed the outside wall on the final turns and was credited with an eighth-place finish. Alan Cullum finished third, with Bobby Beard (who started 16th) and Ron Shultz completing the top five.

Heats for the 33 thundercars on hand were won by Roy Warehime, Craig Wagaman, Mike Ziegler Jr., with Jerry Bingaman winning the consolation.

Lincoln Speedway swings back into action next Saturday night, May 5th, with the first of two visits by the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Series. Joining the All Stars will be the thundercars, along with a visit by 2001 Ms. Motorsports Mandy Fenstermacher. Gates will open at 5 p.m., with hot laps at 7 p.m., and time trials commencing at 7:30 p.m.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Teams Williams