Lincoln Speedway opening day results

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 2/21/04 - The winless streak is over. Salfordsville's Fred Rahmer, the second-winningest driver in the history of Lincoln Speedway, claimed career win number 123 in the Northeast's season-opening "Icebreaker 30" Saturday ...

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 2/21/04 - The winless streak is over.

Salfordsville's Fred Rahmer, the second-winningest driver in the history of Lincoln Speedway, claimed career win number 123 in the Northeast's season-opening "Icebreaker 30" Saturday afternoon.

He dominated the race after surviving three red flags at the start of the race, one of which took out front-row starter Greg Hodnett. Even before that, a drive-line problem forced polesitter and defending Lincoln champ Lance Dewease into the pits, ending his day before the green flag was even thrown.

Rahmer, originally slated for a fifth starting position, advanced to third for the start after Dewease was side-lined, then assumed the pole when new polesitter and leader Darren Eash backed into the first turn wall before the entire field crossed the flagstand to complete the first lap. Eash was taken to Hanover Hospital for a checkup after the race.

That put Rahmer beside Hodnett on the front row. Rahmer was the race leader when the next two first-lap red flags came out. In the first, Brian Leppo got sideways in turn three, collecting six other cars and resulting in a Keith Kauffman flip on turn four. A few seconds after the crash, Brook Weibley flipped on the backstretch. The third and final first lap red flag came out when Brian Montieth (driving the Jerry Parrish No.21) had a drive line let loose, leading to a tangle with Greg Hodnett in turn three while racing for second. That resulted in an Adrian Shaffer flip, with Hodnett coming to a stop on the front stretch with front end damage.

By the fourth attempt to start the race, only six cars of the 20 that started had escaped any damage. Rahmer took the lead at the green flag and pulled away from the field until a caution came out for a spinning Brian Leppo on turn two of lap six. Rahmer's lead was over seven seconds by lap 20 and was nearly three-quarters of-a-lap in distance when the final caution of the race came out for a turn two spin by Sam Schlosberg on lap 27.

Rahmer's final margin of victory over Cris Eash was 1.92 seconds, with Doug Esh crossing third, Donnie Kreitz, Jr. fourth, and Mark Smith fifth. Esh, who was slated to start 16th after a flip in his heat, actually started fourth after the three first-lap red flags. Kreitz was slated for a 12th starting spot after finishing seventh in his heat and was one of the few cars to survive all the crashes at the start. Smith battled electrical problems all afternoon and advanced through the field from his 18th starting spot to score a top-five finish.

Rahmer's win, his first at Lincoln since October 5, 2002, was worth $3,000.

Heats for the 20 410-Sprints were won by Dewease and Kauffman.

The thundercars heated up a chilly afternoon with a classic three-car battle that included the father-son team of Mike Zeigler Sr. and Jr. and Ron Shultz. In the end, Zeigler Jr. got the best of his dad and passed Shultz for tenth place on the all-time Lincoln thundercar win list with the opening day win.

Polesitter Mike Walls led the first two laps before fourth-starting Zeigler Jr. took over the top spot on lap three. Zeigler Sr., who started third, wrestled the top spot away from his son on lap nine, and led through the middle stages of the race before slipping high exiting turn four of lap 16. Zeigler Jr. grabbed the lead at that point and paced the field the rest of the way for his 10th career win in the Pigeon Hills. Shultz watched in third the entire time and finished there, with Walls crossing fourth and Chet McCormick fifth.

Completing the top-10 were Duane Watson, Tom Slusser, Bernie Beard, Mike Gladfelter and Mike Johnson.

Heats for the 23 Thundercars were won by Walls, Schultz and Zeigler Sr..

Next Saturday afternoon, February 28th @ 2 PM, both the 410 Sprints and Thundercars will be back in action for the second straight weekend.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday - February 21, 2004

410 Sprints:

Feature (30 Laps) - 1. 88H-Fred Rahmer ($3,000); 2. 17E-Cris Eash; 3. 30-Doug Eash; 4. 69K-Donnie Kreitz Jr.; 5. 1-Mark Smith; 6. 10N-Niki Young; 7. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 8. 71-Brian Leppo; 9. 70-Sam Schlusberg; 10. 6W-Josh Wells (DNF); 11. 12-Greg Hodnett (DNF); 12. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF); 13. 25-Adrian Shaffer (DNF); 14. 59-Jim Siegel (DNF); 15. 7-Keith Kauffman (DNF); 16. 32-Brook Weibley (DNF); 17. 22-Darren Eash (DNF); 18. 31D-Kevin Drury (DNF); DNS - 77-Lance Dewease, X-Bobby Weaver. No Time

Lap Leaders - Fred Rahmer (1-30)

1st Heat (10 Laps) - 1. 77-Lance Dewease; 2. 88H-Fred Rahmer; 3. 17E-Cris Eash; 4. 25-Adrian Shaffer; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 10N-Niki Young; 7. 69K-Donnie Kreitz Jr.; 8. 4-Eric Stambaugh (DNF); 9. 30-Doug Eash (DNF); DNS - X-Bobby Weaver. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps) - 1. 7-Keith Kauffman; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 32-Brook Weibley; 4. 12-Greg Hodnett; 5 22-Darren Eash; 6 70-Sam Scholsberg; 7. 71-Brian Leppo (DNF); 8. 31D-Kevin Drury (DNF); DNS - 6W-Josh Wells, 1-Mark Smith (DNS). No Time


Feature (20 Laps) -1. 21A-Mike Zeigler Jr.; 2. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 3. 31-Ron Schultz; 4. B52-Mike Walls; 5. 14-Chet McCormick; 6. 3R-Duane Watson; 7. 91-Tom Slusser; 8. X-Bernie Beard; 9. 3-Mike Gladfelter; 10. 9J-Mike Johnson; 11. 33-Jeff Allen; 12. 12-Jake Markey; 13. 37-Frankie Dee; 14. 8-Robert Bopst (DNF); 15. 4J-Jeff Racine (DNF); 16. 30-Craig Wagaman (DNF); 17. 52-Nat Tuckey; 18. 11R-Jim Rost (DNF); 19. 76-Bob Bare (DNF); 20. 4-Neil Smith (DNF); 21. 7X-Tony Rose (DNF); DNS - 3-Bobby Rudisill. No Time

Lap Leaders - Mike Walls (1-2), Mike Zeigler Jr. (3-8), Mike Zeigler Sr. (9-15), Mike Zeigler Jr. (16-2)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. B52-Mike Walls; 2. 21A-Mike Zeigler Jr.; 3. 91-Tom Slusser Jr.; 4. 33-Jeff Allen; 5. 11R-Jim Rost; 6. 30-Craig Wagaman; 7. 52-Nat Tuckey (DNF); DNS - 41-Howard Williams. No Time

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 31-Ron Schultz; 2. X-Bernie Beard; 3. 9J-Mike Johnson; 4. 4J-Jeff Racine; 5. 76-Bob Bare; 6. 3-Mike Gladfelter; DNS - 4-Neil Smith, 3R-Bobby Rudisill. Time - 2:45.91

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 2. 3R-Duane Watson; 3. 8-Robert Bopst; 4. 14-Chet McCormick; 5. 12-Jake Markey; 6. 7X-Tony Rose; 7. 37-Frankie Dee. No Time


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Mike Johnson , Neil Smith
Teams Williams