Lincoln Speedway 98-09-26

G-MAN TAMES RAHMER, STELLAR LINCOLN FIELD IN MANUFACTURERS RACE Kevin Gobrecht ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 9/25/98 - Kevin Gobrecht started on the pole and led every lap in holding off track champ Fred Rahmer in the 25-lap Manufacturer’s ...


Kevin Gobrecht ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 9/25/98 - Kevin Gobrecht started on the pole and led every lap in holding off track champ Fred Rahmer in the 25-lap Manufacturer’s Appreciation Night super sprint feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Gobrecht, who picked up his second Lincoln win of the year in the Zemco Headers #1, set a torrid pace throughout, lapping all but six cars. He had to, with Rahmer putting on pressure the entire race. "To tell you the truth, this is one of the first times that I got out and my arms are tired," said Gobrecht in victory lane, "I must have been pumped up and holding on to the steering wheel...I'’m just plain tired and I drove the wheels off this thing. I'’m glad we made it here before Fred." Gobrecht talks "We got going except for tires again, and about four laps in the middle I thought we were done just like the last time. I started using the cushion and then it started driving real nice. Except for lapped cars, it was a pretty good drive. You still have to go through lapped cars." Driving through lapped traffic he did, many times making daring moves that car owner John Zemaitis acknowledged made him extremely nervous. "It was fast, but it was like I said before, you can'’t believe anything when you got Fred behind you," said Gobrecht, "He made a couple runs...I took a lot of chances in lapped cars."

Rahmer started third and passed front-row starter Donnie Kreitz, Jr. for second in the third and fourth turns of the first lap. Rahmer put heavy pressure on Gobrecht after fourth- and eighth-lap restarts. But Gobrecht held the 18-time ‘98 Lincoln winner both times, and drove away until his lead dwindled slightly in lapped traffic. Gobrecht’s margin of victory was 1.60 seconds. Rahmer crossed second, with Kreitz third, Jesse Wentz fourth, and Todd Shaffer fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Dave Haight, Danny Jones, Lance Dewease, Billy Brian, Jr. (driving the Bill and Kay Tanger #07), and Steve Siegel. Siegel actually made a pit stop during a red flag for Jeff Rohrbaugh, who flipped violently in the first turn on a fourth-lap restart attempt. Super sprint heats were won by Bill Brian, Shaffer, Kevin Gobrecht and Kreitz. Twin consolations were won by Dewease and Brian Montieth, who won the second consi after a push truck damaged his car while pushing out to start. Montieth got parts from Cliff Brian and help from several racing teams, allowing him to qualify for the feature and receive more than $1,300 in prizes from several manufacturers, who provided more than $40,000 in prizes to teams qualifying for the feature. The 10th Annual Manufacturers Appreciation Night was organized by Hank Gentzler from Hank’s Performance Products and Joey Kuhn from Weld Wheels. Don’t forget to check-out Lincoln Speedway On-line at for all the latest results, statistics and point standings. Next Saturday, October 3rd, Lincoln Speedway will be idle due to the Williams Grove National Open. Then the following Saturday, October 10th, it will the Second Annual Kenny Weld Memorial (Formerly the Pennsylvania State Sprint Car Championship) for the super sprints. The thundercars will round out the evening’s activities which will mark the final race of the 1998 racing season at the Pigeon Hills oval. Gates will open at 5 p.m., with hot laps at 7:00 p.m. and racing action getting underway at 7:30 p.m. LINCOLN SPEEDWAY RACE RESULTS SATURDAY - SEPTEMBER 26, 1998 MANUFACTURERS APPRECIATION NIGHT

SUPER SPRINTS Feature (25 laps) - 1. 1-Kevin Gobrecht ($2,500); 2. 77-Fred Rahmer; 3. 69-Donnie Kreitz Jr.; 4. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 5. 88-Todd Shaffer; 6. 10N-Dave Haight; 7. 8J-Danny Jones; 8. 461-Lance Dewease; 9. 07-Bill Brian Jr.; 10. 59-Steve Siegel; 11. 88M-Sean Michael; 12. 53-Shawn Keen; 13. 22-Jamie Chesson; 14. 16C-Cliff Brian; 15. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 16. 30-Daryl Stimeling; 17. 17E-Cris Eash (DNF); 18. 55-Mike Wagner (DNF); 19. 76-P.J. Chesson (DNF); 20. 12B-Brian Montieth (DNF); 21. 33-Jeff Thompson (DNF); 22. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh (DNF); 23. 17K-Rick Horn (DNF); 24. 48-Chris Knopp (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Kevin Gobrecht (1-25) 1st Heat (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 07-Bill Brian Jr.; 2. 17K-Rick Horn; 3. 10N-Dave Haight; 4. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 5. 77T-Jimmy Burns; 6. 76-P.J. Chesson; 7. 555-Mike Wells; 8. 34-Al DeAngelis; 9. 7E-Darren Eash; 10. 5G-Rod George. Time - 2:29.90 2nd Heat (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 88-Todd Shaffer; 2. 8J-Danny Jones; 3. 53-Shawn Keen; 4. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 5. 461-Lance Dewease; 6. 48-Chris Knopp; 7. 92-Brian Gobrecht; 8. 17N-Niki Young; 9. 43-Larry Shive; 10. 6W-Josh Wells. Time - 2:26.74 3rd Heat (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 1-Kevin Gobrecht; 2. 59-Steve Siegel; 3. 17E-Cris Eash; 4. 22-Jamie Chesson; 5. 12B-Brian Montieth; 6. 88M-Sean Michael; 7. 55-Mike Wagner; 8. 2H-Dave Hahn; 9. LT4-Dave Cook (DNF); 10. 2T-Tracey Readinger (DNF). No Time 4th Heat (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 69-Donnie Kreitz Jr.; 2. 77-Fred Rahmer; 3. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 4. 16C-Cliff Brian; 5. 30-Daryl Stimeling; 6. 33-Jeff Thompson; 7. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 8. I07-Mark Coldren; 9. 0-Ned Powers (DNF). No Time 1st Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 461-Lance Dewease; 2. 76-P.J. Chesson; 3. 48-Chris Knopp; 4. 92-Brian Gobrecht; 5. 5G-Rod George; 6. 77T-Jimmy Burns; 7. 555-Mike Wells; 8. 43-Larry Shive; 9. 6W-Josh Wells; 10. 7E-Darren Eash (DNF); 11. 34-Al DeAngelis (DNF); 12. 17N-Niki Young (DNF). Time - 2:28.26 2nd Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 12B-Brian Montieth; 2. 55-Mike Wagner; 3. 88M-Sean Michael; .4 30-Daryl Stimeling; 5. 33-Jeff Thompson; 6. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 7. 2H-Dave Hahn; 8. I07-Mark Coldren; 9. 2T-Tracey Readinger (DNF); DNS - 0-Ned Powers, LT4-Dave Cook. Time - 2:30.63

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers P.J. Chesson , Danny Jones , Mike Wells
Teams Williams