Lincoln Speedway 98-09-05

David Reininger - Motorsport News International Hanover, PA (September 5, 1998) - Cris Eash won his second 410 sprint car race in as many nights, taking top honors in the 30 lap, fourth annual Bobby Abel Memorial race at Lincoln Speedway tonight.

David Reininger - Motorsport News International

Hanover, PA (September 5, 1998) - Cris Eash won his second 410 sprint car race in as many nights, taking top honors in the 30 lap, fourth annual Bobby Abel Memorial race at Lincoln Speedway tonight. To cap the evening, Eash took a swig of Gatorade, wiped the sweat from face, jumped into his 358 sprinter and soundly defeated the field of 24 358 racers. No easy feat considering that the field of 24 was drawn from the 47 cars signed into the pits.

Five yellows and a red flag marred the first 19 laps of the Super Sprint race. Niki Young, of Hanover, Penna., brought out the red flag when he flipped in turn four while racing for the lead with Darren Eash. Young and D. Eash started first and second on the restart, with three laps complete, when the accident occured. Six other cars were involved in the chain reaction further back in the field. Dan Dietrich, who flipped, and Young were the only two unable to continue. Neither driver was hurt.

My calendar shows a full moon on September 6. The sprint feature was over an hour shy of the 6th. That was close enough for the effects of the full moon or there was a curse on the lead car tonight. Darren Eash, who inherited the lead when Young flipped, pulled out a commanding lead in the four tours that he enjoyed. While racing through the backmarkers, Eash was collected by Von McGee and Al DeAngelis when they tangled in turn three. Eash, who runs a first class operation on a limited budget, was towed to the pits, his evening over early.

Glendon Forsythe was next to inherit the lead, and the curse. Forsythe actually led the most laps of the evening, leading laps 8 to 19. A lap 19 restart, for the final yellow of the race, saw Forsythe slip over the cushion, nearly tagging the wall. By the time Forsythe regained control, he found himself struggling to stay in the top ten.

Todd Gracey, driving the No. 07 car after his No. 25 suffered an engine failure in hot laps, was next in line when Forsythe relinquished the lead. 358 driver Mike Lehman had been scheduled to drive the No. 07 as a one-off deal at tonight's race.

With five laps to go, Cris Eash reeled in Gracey. The pair raced around the top as the track dried out and started to get slick. Gracey started to slip over the cushion on the exit of turn two so he tried the bottom on the white flag lap. Eash stayed on top and got a better run off the turn. With a good run down the backstretch, Eash dove under Gracey as the pair raced into three. Eash took the white flag two car lengths ahead of Gracey. It was a sweet victory for Eash who was sent to the rear of the field when he was involved in the lap three red flag for Young's flip.

1998 track champion Fred Rahmer, who was looking to capture the record for 18 wins in one season at Lincoln Speedway, started on the outside of the sixth row, alongside Cris Eash. Rahmer was sent to the rear of the field for a lap ten restart after reporting to the pits to change a tire, the result of nipping the guardrail a lap earlier. Rahmer drove through the field like a madman to seventh place when the checkered fell.

Lincoln Speedway hosts the 358 Spint Car Championships next week on September 12. Also on the card for the evening are the ARDC midgets in a special non-wing show.

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY RACE RESULTS SATURDAY - SEPTEMBER 5, 1998 SUPER SPRINTS FOURTH ANNUAL BOBBY ABEL MEMORIAL Feature (30 Laps) - 1. 17E-Cris Eash ($3,000); 2. 07-Todd Gracey; 3. 8J-Danny Jones; 4. 59-Steve Siegel; 5. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 6. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 77-Fred Rahmer; 8. 48-Chris Knopp; 9. 10N-Dave Haight; 10. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 11. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 12. 76-P.J. Chesson; 13. 10-Len Thompson; 14. 1/2-Von McGee; 15. 32W-Brook Weibley; 16. 22-James Chesson (DNF); 17. 12B-Brian Montieth (DNF); 18. 555-Mike Wells (DNF); 19. 713-Bob Fisher (DNF); 20. 7E-Darren Eash (DNF); 21. 34-Al DeAngelis (DNF); 22. 32G-Randy Glover (DNF); 23. 17N-Niki Young (DNF); 24. 8-Dan Dietrich (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Niki Young (1-3), Darren Eash (4-7), Glendon Forsythe (8-19), Todd Gracey (20-28), Cris Eash (29-30) 1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 2. 48-Chris Knopp; 3. 8J-Dan Jones; 4. 77-Fred Rahmer; 5. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 6. 32G-Randy Glover; 7. 1/2-Von McGee; 8. 34-Al DeAngelis; 9. 12B-Brian Montieth (DNF); 10. 555-Mike Wells (DNF). No Time 2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 7E-Darren Eash; 2. 2-James Chesson; 3. 59-Steve Siegel; 4. 17N-Niki Young; 5. 8-Dan Dietrich; 6. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 10N-Dave Haight; DNS - 10W-Chad Wolf. Time - 2:26.86 3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 17E-Cris Eash; 2. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 3. 76-P.J. Chesson; 4. 07-Todd Gracey; 5. 32W-Brook Weibley; 6. 713-Bob Fisher; 7. 10-Len Thompson (DNF); 8. 43-Larry Shive (DNF); DNS - 57S-Ron Kramer. No Time Consolation (5 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 10N-Dave Haight; 2. 10-Len Thompson; 3. 12B-Brian Montieth; 4. 34-Al DeAngelis; 5. 555-Mike Wells; 6. 1/2-Von McGee; 7. 57S-Ron Kramer; DNS - 43-Larry Shive, 10W-Chad Wolf. Time - 1:16.52 358 SPRINTS Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 30E-Cris Eash; 2. 6E-Doug Esh; 3. 77-Greg Leiby; 4. 30-Tom Leach; 5. 66H-Dale Hammaker; 6. 88-Terry Leininger; 7. 10K-Mark Yinger; 8. 50-Mark Richard; 9. 46-Jimmy Layton; 10. 1R-Mike Rabold; 11. 55-Scott Ausherman; 12. 11-Roger Grubb; 13. 13K-Rick Kaylor; 14. 4F-T.J. Stutts; 15. 59X-Ray Miller; 16. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 17. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus; 18. 59-Mike Lehman (DNF); 19. 1B-Jimmy Burns (DNF); 20. 4-Eric Stambaugh (DNF); 21. 2-Bill Laughman (DNF); 22. 9C-Bill Case Jr. (DNF); 23. 53-Peiron Reasner (DNF); 24. 27-Ron Kramer (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Jimmy Layton (1-6), Cris Eash (7-20) 1st Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 59-Mike Lehman; 2. 11-Roger Grubb; 3. 10K-Mark Yinger; 4. 6E-Doug Esh; 5. 80-Todd Reed; 6. 59X-Ray Miller; 7. 34-Bob Camilli; 8. 53R-Randy Rhoads; 9. 60-Bernie LeMaster; 10. 47-P.H. Reasner (DNF); 11. 29T-Neil Amspacher (DNF); DNS - 16-Jim Fowler. Time - 2:01.45 2nd Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 30-Tom Leach; 2. 4F-T.J. Stutts; 3. 2-Bill Laughman; 4. 77-Greg Leiby; 5. 13K-Rick Kaylor; 6. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 7. 5L-Chad Layton; 8. 53-Peiron Reasner; 9. 31D-Kevin Drury; 10. 1M-Babe Mader; DNS - 69-Scott Weaver. Time - 2:04.59 3rd Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 50-Mark Richard; 2. 30E-Cris Eash; 3. 1R-Mike Rabold; 4. 9C-Bill Case Jr.; 5. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 6. 5-Bob Hagan; 7. 55-Scott Ausherman; 8. 2D-Denny Gross; 9. 37J-Ray Kozimor; 10. 3D-Ronnie Orwig (DNF); 11. 2K-Jerry Stinson (DNF); DNS - 66-Eric Patteson. No Time 4th Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 46-Jimmy Layton; 2. 66H-Dale Hammaker; 3. 27-Ron Kramer; 4. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus; 5. 88-Terry Leininger; 6. 22J-Joe Ilg; 7. 7G-Dave Gable Jr.; 8. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 9. 63N-Bob Nace; 10. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 11. 01-Rick Horn (DNF). Time - 2:09.91 1st Consolation (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 2. 59X-Ray Miller; 3. 13K-Rick Kaylor; 4. 53-Peiron Reasner; 5. 53R-Randy Rhoads; 6. 34-Bob Camilli; 7. 60-Bernie LeMaster; 8. 31D-Kevin Drury; 9. 1M-Babe Mader; 10. 5L-Chad Layton (DNF); 11. 47-P.H. Reasner (DNF); 12. 69-Scott Weaver (DNF); 13. 80-Todd Reed (DNF); 14. 29T-Neil Amspacher (DNF); DNS - 16-Jim Fowler. No Time 2nd Consolation (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 88-Terry Leininger; 2. 55-Scott Ausherman; 3. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 4. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 5. 7-Dave Gable Jr.; 6. 22J-Joe Ilg; 7. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 8. 37J-Ray Kozimor; 9. 63N-Bob Nace; 10. 5-Bob Hagan; 11. 3D-Ron Orwig; 12. 66-Eric Patteson; 13. 2D-Denny Gross (DNF); DNS - 01-Rick Horn, 2K-Jerry Stinson. No Time

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dan Jones , James Chesson , P.J. Chesson , Danny Jones , Von McGee , Mike Wells