Lincoln Speedway 98-07-11

EMOTIONS FUEL RAHMER TO 12TH CONSECUTIVE WIN; ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/11/98 -Fred Rahmer got some inspiration from the crowd in storming to his 12th straight win at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

EMOTIONS FUEL RAHMER TO 12TH CONSECUTIVE WIN; ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/11/98 -Fred Rahmer got some inspiration from the crowd in storming to his 12th straight win at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Hearing cheers from the stands after his sprinter crashed into the second turn outside wall in a nine-car melee on the original start, Rahmer received the help of a wrecker into the pits and sat patiently while his crew made repairs during the red flag. Hecklers booed as he returned to the track in time for the restart. After that, he was on a mission. "I knew that if there was anyway possible I was going to win!" said Rahmer in victory lane. Everybody at Lincoln thought the streak was over when the Al Hamilton-owned Cindy Rowe sponsored No.77 sprinter sustained the frontend damage. But when the dust settled at the end of the caution-marred 25-lap, Rahmer had somehow been able to sort through the field to win his record-setting 12th in-a-row in the Pigeon Hills. Brook Weibley flipped and Sean Michael ended up on his side on the original start. Also unable to continue were Dave Ely, Johnny Mackison, Jr., and Steve Siegel. For the restart, Rahmer was placed 16th. Three cautions later, he was back in his original 12th starting spot. He was eighth when the next caution came out for Eric Mathiot on the third turn of the second lap, and climbed into fifth place after passing Jeff Shepard in lapped traffic on lap nine. Kevin Gobrecht (piloting the Zemco Headers #1) was the next victim on lap 10. The Eash brothers were battling for the lead when Rahmer passed Jesse Wentz for third on lap 12. Just in front of him, Cris Eash was passing race-long leader Darren Eash for the front spot. Three laps later, Rahmer caught Darren Eash as Cris Eash opened up a 1.5 second lead. The margin was wiped out, however, on the 17th lap when Tim Shaffer brought out the final caution flag with a fourth-turn spin. Rahmer took advantage of a slight bobble by Eash exiting the second turn to grab the lead for good on lap 22. It was Rahmer's 69th Lincoln win, moving him to within two wins of Kenny Weld for third place and within four wins of Bobby Allen for second place on the all-time Lincoln win list. Eash settled for another second-place finish, with Gobrecht, Shepard, and Darren Eash completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Wentz, Danny Jones, Dave Haight, Billy Brian, Jr., and Jeff Rohrbaugh. Heats for the 27 super sprints on hand were won by Jones, Rahmer, and Darren Eash. Chris Knopp won the consolation. Eash came back to claim the 20-lap "358" sprint feature, grabbing the lead on lap 13 from his 11th starting spot in the Leach #30E team car. Cris announced in victory lane that Dick and Tom Leach will field a "358" sprinter for him to run at the remaining Lincoln shows. LINCOLN SPEEDWAY RACE RESULTS SATURDAY - JULY 11, 1998 SUPER SPRINTS Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 77-Fred Rahmer ($2,500); 2. 17E-Cris Eash; 3. 1-Kevin Gobrecht; 4. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 5. 7E-Darren Eash; 6. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 7. 8J-Dan Jones; 8. 10N-Dave Haight; 9. 16-Bill Brian Jr.; 10. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 11. 8-Dan Dietrich; 12. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 13. 32G-Randy Glover; 14. 43-Larry Shive; 15. 12-Tim Shaffer (DNF); 16. 25-Todd Gracey (DNF); 17. 6-Eric Mathiot (DNF); 18. 48-Chris Knopp (DNF); 19. 3H-Kevin Higgins (DNF); 20. 32W-Brook Weibley (DNF); 21. 88M-Sean Michael (DNF); 22. 59-Steve Siegel (DNF); 23. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr. (DNF); 24. 77E-Dave Ely (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Darren Eash (1-11), Cris Eash (12-21), Fred Rahmer (22-25) 1st Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 8J-Dan Jones; 2. 17E-Cris Eash; 3. 12-Tim Shaffer; 4. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 5. 10N-Dave Haight; 6. 94-Glendon Forsythe; 7. 48-Chris Knopp; 8. 32G-Randy Glover; 9. 2C-Mike Dillman. No Time 2nd Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 77-Fred Rahmer; 2. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 3. 32-Brook Weibley; 4. 8-Dan Dietrich; 5. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 6. 16-Bill Brian Jr.; 7. 43-Larry Shive; 8. 6-Eric Mathiot; 9. 3H-Kevin Higgins. No Time 3rd Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 7E-Darren Eash; 2. 88M-Sean Michael; 3. 25-Todd Gracey; 4. 59-Steve Siegel; 5. 1-Kevin Gobrecht; 6. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 77E-Dave Ely; 8. 8D-Billy Dietrich (DNF); DNS - 07-Mike Lutz. Time - 2:25.73 Consolation (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 48-Chris Knopp; 2. 77E-Dave Ely; 3. 43-Larry Shive; 4. 32G-Randy Glover; 5. 6-Eric Mathiot; 6. 3H-Kevin Higgins; 7. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 8. 2C-Mike Dillman. No Time 358 SPRINTS Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 30E-Cris Eash; 2. 88-Terry Leininger; 3. 77-Greg Leiby; 4. 8-Billy Dietrich; 5. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 6. 53R-Randy Rhoads; 7. 9C-Bill Case Jr.; 8. 30-Tom Leach; 9. 3-Jeremy Trout; 10. 2-Bill Laughman; 11. 22J-Joe Ilg; 12. 7-Judd Shepard; 13. 50-Mark Richard; 14. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 15. 34-Bob Camilli; 16. 59-Mike Lehman; 17. 27-Larry Jackson (DNF); 18. 76-P.J. Chesson (DNF); 19. 53-Peirron Reasner (DNF); 20. 22-James Chesson (DNF); 21. 1R-Mike Rabold (DNF); 22. 55-Scott Ausherman (DNF); 23. 5-Bob Hagan (DNF); 24. 4-Eric Stambaugh (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - P.J. Chesson (1-12), Cris Eash (13-20) 1st Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 8-Billy Dietrich; 2. 53R-Randy Rhoads; 3. 77-Greg Leiby; 4. 7-Judd Shepard; 5. 3-Jeremy Trout; 6. 50-Mark Richard; 7. 63N-Bob Nace; 8. 53W-Russ Shoop; 9. 3D-Ron Orwig; DNS - 80-Todd Reed. Time - 2:02.47 2nd Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 76-P.J. Chesson; 2. 1R-Mike Rabold; 3. 5-Bob Hagan; 4. 88-Terry Leininger; 5. 22-James Chesson; 6. 30-Tom Leach; 7. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 8. 1H-Dan Haines (DNF); 9. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus (DNF). Time 1:59.56 (New 8-lap track record - old record was 2:00.91 by Mike Lehman on 3/28/98) 3rd Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 2-Bill Laughman; 2. 9C-Bill Case Jr.; 3. 30E-Cris Eash; 4. 27-Larry Jackson; 5. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 6. 34-Bob Camilli; 7. 10-Chad Wolf; 8. 2S-Jerry Stinson; 9. 5A-Brian Allman. Time - 2:04.04 4th Heat (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. A18-Becca Anderson; 2. 53-Pierron Reasner; 3. 22J-Joe Ilg; 4. 59-Mike Lehman; 5. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 6. 03-Jeff Miller; 7. 55-Scott Ausherman; 8. 47-P.H. Reasner; 9. 11-Ron Kramer (DNF). Time - 2:04.97 1st Consolation (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 3-Jeremy Trout; 2. 22-James Chesson; 3. 50-Mark Richard; 4. 30-Tom Leach; 5. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 6. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus; 7. 63N-Bob Nace; 8. 53W-Russ Shoop; 9. 1H-Dan Haines; DNS - 3D-Ron Orwig, 80-Todd Reed. Time - 2:05.64 2nd Consolation (8 Laps\4 to qualify) - 1. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 2. 55-Scott Ausherman; 3. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 4. 34-Bob Camilli; 5. 10-Chad Wolf; 6. 03-Jeff Miller; 7. 47-P.H. Reasner; 8. 2S-Jerry Stinson (DNF); 9. 5A-Ron Kramer (DNF). No Time

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Dan Jones , James Chesson , Jeff Miller , P.J. Chesson , Becca Anderson , Danny Jones