Lincoln Speedway 98-06-06

Lincoln Speedway 98-06-06
May 8, 1998, 12:19 PM

SATURDAY - JUNE 6, 1998 LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Abbottstown, Pa. 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8 CONSECUTIVE WINS FOR RAHMER ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/6/98 - The Rahmer win streak continued at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Fast Freddy pulled to within ...


ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/6/98 - The Rahmer win streak continued at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Fast Freddy pulled to within one win of Steve Smith’s 1978 record of nine straight victories within an impressive 3.28 second win over Steve Siegel in the 25-lap super sprint feature. "I come through the gate every Saturday night and it's harder for me to win than anybody else," said Rahmer in victory lane, " The odds are against me, but the guys keep working hard and getting my out front. We got lucky tonight and here we stand again." Reflecting on the Lincoln competition, Rahmer said, "Last week was the best win I ever had in my life," said Rahmer, "But I have raced harder to win local shows. These guys keep me honest. We got through there and got some breaks and that made the difference." The complexion of the race changed at the start when Tim Shaffer bounced off the outside wall and spun backwards on the frontstretch, collecting Kevin Gobrecht and Mike Dillman. All three cars were damaged and unable to continue. On the complete restart, outside front row starter Danny Jones grabbed the lead over polesitter Chris Knopp and led the field for two laps until the caution flag came out for Billy Dietrich, who spun on the third turn. Sean Michael, who passed Knopp for second just before the caution, snatched the lead on the restart in the first and second turns and pulled away from the field over the next several laps. Meanwhile, Rahmer advanced from his 11th starting spot to third by the fourth lap, and passed Jones for the runner-up spot on lap 7 as Michael was racing away to a 1.82-second advantage. On lap nine, Rahmer quickly closed the gap as Michael entered lap traffic. Michael used lapped traffic to keep Rahmer at bay for the next three laps, until Rahmer drove under Michael in the third and fourth turns of lap 12. After that, the race was for second. Steve Siegel caught Michael for second following an 18th-lap caution for Jeff Shepard, who slid sideways to a stop on the third turn. Cris Eash moved into third a lap later, with Johnny Mackison moving into fourth on lap 23. Michael crossed fifth, with Jesse Wentz, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Jones, Dave Haight, and Dan Dietrich completing the top ten. The win was Rahmer's 16th of the year overall and his 65th at Lincoln Speedway. Heats for the 25 super sprints were won by Siegel, Shaffer, and Cris Eash. Darren Eash was uninjured after barrel-rolling his sprinter in turns one and two while leading his heat. LINCOLN SPEEDWAY RACE RESULTS SATURDAY - JUNE 6, 1998 SUPER SPRINTS Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 77-Fred Rahmer ($2,500); 2. 59-Steve Siegel; 3. 17E-Cris Eash; 4. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 5. 88-Sean Michael; 6. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 7. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 8. 8-Danny Jones; 9. 10N-Dave Haight; 10. 8-Dan Dietrich; 11. 32W-Brook Weibley; 12. 48-Chris Knopp; 13. 32G-Randy Glover; 14. 4J-Jeff Shepard (DNF); 15. 12B-Brian Montieth (DNF); 16. 77E-Dave Ely (DNF); 17. 94-Glendon Forsythe (DNF); 18. 8D-Billy Dietrich (DNF); 19. 2S-Burt Shoop (DNF); 20. 12-Tim Shaffer (DNF); 21. 92-Kevin Gobrecht (DNF); 22. 2C-Mike Dillman (DNF); 23. 40-Mike Kostic (DNF); DNS - 7E-Darren Eash. No Time Lap Leaders - Danny Jones (1-2), Sean Michael (3-11), Fred Rahmer (12-25) 1st Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 59-Steve Siegel; 2. 8-Danny Jones; 3. 10N-Dave Haight; 4. 8-Dan Dietrich; 5. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 6. 32-Randy Glover; 7. 2C-Mike Dillman; 8. 3-Eric Allen (DNF); 9. 94-Glendon Forsythe (DNF). No Time 2nd Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 12-Tim Shaffer; 2. 2W-Jesse Wentz; 3. 88-Sean Michael; 4. 77E-Dave Ely; 5. 92-Kevin Gobrecht; 6. 2S-Burt Shoop (DNF); 7. 8D-Billy Dietrich (DNF); 8. 7E-Darren Eash (DNF). No Time 3rd Heat (10 Laps\6 to qualify) - 1. 17E-Cris Eash; 2. 77-Fred Rahmer; 3. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 4. 48-Chris Knopp; 5. 32W-Brook Weibley; 6. 4L-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 40-Mike Kostic; 8. 12B-Brian Montieth (DNF). Time - 2:23.68 358 SPRINTS Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 6E-Doug Esh; 2. 30-Cris Eash; 3. 88-Terry Leininger; 4. 3-Jeremy Trout; 5. 50-Mark Richard; 6. 55-Scott Ausherman; 7. 77-Greg Leiby; 8. 1B-Jimmy Burns; 9. 22J-Joe Ilg; 10. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 11. 00-Elmer Stoltzfus; 12. 6F-Bill Fannasy; 13. 71-Joe Whitcomb; 14. 53R-Andy Rhoads; 15. 5-Bob Hagan; 16. 22-James Chesson; 17. 03-Jeff Miller; 18. 63N-Bob Nace; 19. 34-Bob Cammilli; 20. 53-Pieron Reasner; 21. 3W-Clair Wintermyer; 22. 10-Chad Wolf; 23. 29T-Neil Amspacher (DNF); 24. 60-Bernie LeMaster (DNF). No Time Lap Leaders - Bob Hagan (1-3), Jimmy Burns (4), Doug Esh (5-20)

Next Sprint article
ALLSTAR: Points after Grandview

Previous article

ALLSTAR: Points after Grandview

Next article

East Bay Results 98-05-09

East Bay Results 98-05-09
Load comments

About this article

Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Jeff Miller , Danny Jones
Article type News