Lincoln Park Speedway results 2005-06-26

PUTNAMVILLE -- After picking up his third sprint car feature win in four weeks at Lincoln Park Speedway, it might be said that Mitch Wissmiller has the hot hand at the 3/8th mile clay oval. There certainly is no doubt however that the ...

PUTNAMVILLE -- After picking up his third sprint car feature win in four weeks at Lincoln Park Speedway, it might be said that Mitch Wissmiller has the hot hand at the 3/8th mile clay oval.

There certainly is no doubt however that the Easton, IN native has a hot foot.

Wismiller found a quick line in feature action after placing second to Bobby Stines in his heat race and was able to pull away for another win in the JFR Trucking mount.

"We changed a lot of stuff from last week because we had a higher cushion on the track," said Wismiller. "It's all seemed to work. The track has been different every week which is a good thing."

If the Lincoln Park oval has provided a different sort of test each week, Wismiller has certainly passed with flying colors over the last month.

Starting from the fifth spot in the feature, Wismiller moved up to second just a couple of laps into the main event, trailing only Terre Haute's Shawn Krockenberger. Wismiller stayed on a high line with his right rear tire dug firmly in the cushion as Krockenberger maintained the lead through several early caution flags. Kyle Wismiller and Jason Robbins were close behind along with Stines.

However, on a restart, Wismiller drove deep into turn four and was able to get a run past Krockenberger just before another caution flag flew.

But when the green resumed the action, it was obvious that Wismiller was going to be tough to catch, pulling out to a comfortable lead. Busch and Kyle Wismiller were both able to catch Krockenberger by the end as Troy Link capped the top-5 and LPS points leader Kenny Carmichael Sr. took sixth place.

Brian Shaw and Brad Robinson put together an exciting early battle in UMP Modified feature action and had a host of other challengers including James Tumey and Jeff Wellum.

Robinson held the early feature lead over Tumey with Shaw and Wellum fighting for position behind them. Wellum, holding fourth, nosed beneath Shaw as both competitors closed the gap on Tumey leading up to a caution for a spin by Brent Payne.

On the restart, Robinson held the point ahead of Tumey and Shaw with a three-way battle developing for fifth between Phil VanSant, Jimmy Hayden and Paul Bumgardner who started 12th. Shaw would make his move by diving low to edge out Tumey for the second spot as Wellum and Bumgardner began to challenge Tumey.

A caution flag reset the field and set the stage for Shaw to make a strong move to the inside of Robinson in turns one and two. The pair raced side-by-side for a couple of laps before Shawn finally got position. He would hold onto that spot in the Hovis Racing Engine/IP Transit and Murphy Masonry machine as Bumgardner continued to close the distance but ran out of laps, settling for second with VanSant taking third, Tumey fourth and Robinson settling back to fifth place.

In super stocks, Greencastle's Kenny Carmichael Sr. was the winner as he and Dave Kikendall took control of the feature early and pulled away from the main pack.

Curt Leonard and Doug McCullough started up front, but tangled on the first lap, sending McCullough to the pits and Leonard to the rear of the field after winning last week.

Kikendall would lead for much of the race as Carmichael tried to find a way to get to the front. The pair got into lapped traffic in the dwindling laps and Carmichael was able to take advantage as both drivers came upon the slower car of Josh Foxworthy.

Kikendall got stuck behind him and Carmichael slipped past into the top spot and held onto the win in the L&R Roofing/Bud's Auto Salvage car.

"Sometimes that's the advantage of running second in lapped traffic," commented Carmichael. "It was fun out there with Kikendall. He raced me real clean and we gave each other space."

Paul Wright would take the third spot followed by Fillmore's David Bumgardner and Don Duncan. In bombers, Terre Haute's Ritchie Hawkins piloted his B&R Auto Sales car into victory lane ahead of Harry Shepard and David Bumgardner.

Ron Smith held the early advantage ahead of Hawkins, but faded back to sixth in the late going as LPS points leader Shepard maneuvered into second ahead of Bumgardner and the hard charging Lloyd Walls who came from the rear of the field for fourth ahead of Travis Heramb.

Next week will feature a regular card with fireworks also scheduled. On July 9 the Wolfpack Challenge for UMP Modifieds will headline the slate and July 16 is Indiana Sprint Week.

In King of Indiana Sprint Series action at Paragon, Kent Christian was the winner ahead of Justin Marvel, Dave Darland, Jon Siscoe and Kevin Briscoe.

Sprint Car Feature
1. Mitch Wismiller, 2. Tom Busch, 3. Kyle Wismiller, 4. Shawn Krockenberger, 5. Troy Link, 6. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 7. Jimmy Laser, 8. Jason Robbins, 9. Aaron Mosley, 10. Bobby Stines, 11. Steve Rone, 12. Rex Norris III, 13. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 14. Tim Creech II, 15. Jeremiah Vanosky, 16. Rick Vaughn, 17. Cody Gentry, 18. Chris Urish, 19. Brian Gerster, 20. Wil Newlin, 21. Chris Gentry

B-Main winner: Brian Gerster
Heat winners: Bobby Stines, Shawn Krockenberger, Rex Norris III

UMP Modified Feature
1. Brian Shaw, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Phil VanSant, 4. James Tumey, 5. Brad Robinson, 6. Jeff Wellum, 7. Travis Shoulders, 8. Jim Moore, 9. Jimmy Hayden, 10. Chris Brewer, 11. Carlos Bumgardner SR, 12. Gary Hall, 13. Garry Ricketts. 14. Bob Robinson, 15. Chris Rogers, 16. Mike Hicks, 17. Dan Lewellen, 18. Matt McDonald, 19. Brent Payne, 20. Chris Kerl

B Main winner: Mick Hicks
Heat winners: Brad Robinson, James Tumey, Carlos Bumgardner

Super Stock Feature
1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. David Kikendall, 3. Paul Wright, 4. David Bumgardner, 5. Don Duncan, 6. Kris Starks, 7. Jeff Starks, 8. Mark Dickerson, 9. Curt Leonard, 10. Lloyd Bumgardner, 11. Scott Tidwell, 12. Joe Whisler, 13. Carl Potter, 14. Bob Farris, 15. Jeff Foxworthy, 16. Jim Duke, 17. John Gurley, 18. Joe Jeffries, 19. Doug McCullough, 20. Scott Carrington

B-Main Winner: Jeff Starks
Heat winners: Dave Kikendall, Kenny Carmichael Sr., Doug McCullough

Bomber Feature
1. Ritchie Hawkins, 2. Harry Shepard, 3. David Bumgardner, 4. Lloyd Walls, 5. Travis Heramb, 6. Ron Smith, 7. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 8. Arvis Shepard, 9. Marlin Burns, 10. David Wallen, 11. Ron Wallen Sr., 12. Joey Archer, 13. Shane Miller, 14. Doug Dunagan, 15. Kevin Helton, 16. Gary Long Sr., 17. Orville Engler Jr., 18. Sean Yakel, 19. Jason Cox, 20. Michael Wright

B-Main winner: David Wallen
Heat winners: Harry Shepard, Lloyd Walls, Ron Smith


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Dave Darland , Jim Moore , Brian Gerster , Kenny Carmichael , Chris Urish , David Wall , Jason Cox