Lincoln Park results 2005-06-04

Carmichael and Humphrey repeat at LPS PUTNAMVILLE -- Kenny Carmichael Jr. is beginning to make getting to Victory Lane old hat as he took the 78Y of Phil Yaw to a victory in the Bomber Division at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday ...

Carmichael and Humphrey repeat at LPS

PUTNAMVILLE -- Kenny Carmichael Jr. is beginning to make getting to Victory Lane old hat as he took the 78Y of Phil Yaw to a victory in the Bomber Division at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday night.

Carmichael had to fight off the hard charging Harry Shepard as well as Lloyd Walls in an entertaining race to the finish.

Shepard, coming off last week's win, started from the back of the field and wasted little time in shooting up to fourth place just five laps into the feature. Walls meanwhile had a bit of an easier time getting into position to challenge Carmichael by starting in the third spot. He would actually take the point in the early going before Carmichael made the pass in turn 2 ahead of Marlin Burns and Mark Stevens.

The caution flag reset the field late in the race on a spin by Stevens and on the restart Shepard was up to second with Walls, Arvis Shepard and Brazil's Ron Wallen Jr.

As the green flag resumed action, Shepard and Walls raced side by side into turn one. Shepard caught a rut that sent him high and Walls took the second spot with Carmichael still holding the lead. The action would remain the same into the last lap as Walls drove hard into turns 3-4 and spun back to seventh. Carmichael would race away in the Auler Enterprises/Scott J.Findlay DDS. ride to take his second feature in as many weeks following his first career sprint win last week. Shepard would take second followed by Wallen Jr., Shepard and Travis Heramb.

Afterwards, Carmichael Jr. dedicated the victory to Yaw's son Greg who was tragically killed in an accident last Spring. Phil Yaw meanwhile thanked Carmichael for piloting his ride to the victory. "I've got to thank Kenny and everyone who has helped with the car. I'm really excited, Kenny is a good driver and I'm glad that he agreed to drive tonight."

In sprints, Mitch Wissmiller earned his first career sprint win at LPS by holding off AJ Anderson at the checkers. Anderson was fresh off a fifth place run at Gas City's USAC Sprint card.

Wissmiller came to the front from his ninth starting spot as Tipton's Mark Clark started on the pole.

Wissmiller chose the high side to make his charge to the front. However, he had to work on Greencastle's Kenny Carmichael Sr. to move into second.

The pair ran side-by-side with Carmichael holding tight to his spot on the low groove, Wissmiller would get a big run out of turn 2 to take over the top spot with Carmichael and Anderson in tow. Anderson would eventually get by Carmichael and move through lapped traffic with his sights set on Wissmiller who had pulled out to a solid lead. Anderson would get within a couple of car lengths in the final laps but Wissmiller held on for his first win in the OER Trucking INc./DMI and Hoosier Tire Midwest ride.

In UMP Modified action, Centerpoint's Phil VanSant held the early advantage before giving way to John DeMoss who led for much of the main event. But once more, Bloomington's Ray Humphrey would make a late pass to pick up a victory, his third straight win at LPS.

"John (DeMoss) always drives me real clean," commented the veteran driver of the Reeve's Logging/Frankling Race car machine. "We're about as equal as you can get. Me being a little more familiar with this track probably helped a little too."

The pair hooked up for an exciting late race matchup after DeMoss got past VanSant to take the point.

Humphrey would follow DeMoss to the late stages of the race until a caution flag set the stage for some more dramatics from Humphrey. On the restart, Humphrey would get by DeMoss in turn four as Greencastle's Paul Bumgardner raced into third. Once Humphrey took the top spot he checked out on the competition, leaving DeMoss to take third followed by Bumgardner, VanSant and James Tumey in fifth.

In the superstock division, Doug McCullough continued his excellent season with another convincing victory as Don Duncan, Anthony Walker and Kenny Carmichael Sr. staged an exciting 3-way battle for the runnerup spot.

Walker held down the runnerup spot for much of the time with Duncan running the low groove looking for an opening. At the midpoint, Duncan finally found his chance and took over second with Carmichael challenging low on the #56 of Walker. McCullough would win as Duncan ran out of laps. Walker took third followed by Carmichael and Fillmore's Jeff Starks.

Sprint Car Feature
Mitch Wismiller, A.J. Anderson, Kenny Carmichael SR, Kent Christian, Troy Link, Mark Clark, Bill Baker, Brady Short, Jason Robbins, Kenny Carmichael JR, Jon Siscoe, Shawn Krockenberger, Aaron Mosley, Mitch Cunningham, Jason Lynch, Rex Norris III, Chris Kopczynski, Dale Christian, Ty Deckard, Jimmy Laser

B-Main winner: Jimmy Laser
Heat winners: Kent Christian, Shawn Krockenberger, Troy Link, Kenny Carmichael Sr.

UMP Modified Feature
Ray Humphrey, John DeMoss, Paul Baumgardner, Phil VanSant, Tom Russell, Clint DeMoss, Rob Brickert, Chris Kerl, Carlos Baumgardner SR, Matt McDonald, Don Grant, Dan Lewellen, Bob Robinson, Zach Fair, Ryan Lawrence, Kenny Brewer, Mike Hicks, Travis Shoulders, Karl Roethemeier

B-Main winner: Paul Baumgardner
Heat winners: Carlos Bumgardner Sr., John DeMoss, Ryan Lawrence, Zach Fair

Super Stock Feature
Doug McCullough, Don Duncan, Anthony Walker, Kenny Carmichael SR, Jeff Starks, Joe Jeffries, Scott Carrington, Ben Williams, Travis Todd, Joe Whisler, Doug Arnold, Mike Wright JR., Karlie Holt, Donald Smiley, Jeff King, Lloyd Baumgardner, Carlos Baumgardner SR, Kris Starks, Curt Leonard, Mark Dickerson

B-Main winner: Joe Whisler
Heat winners: Doug McCullough, Scott Carrington, Jeff Starks

Bomber Feature
Kenny Carmichael JR, Harry Shepherd, Ron Wallen JR, Arvis Shepherd, Travis Heramb, Greg Riser, Lloyd Walls, Ron Smith, Ron Wallen SR, Mark Stevens, Michael Wright, Marlin Burns, Orville Engler JR, Kevin Kemp, James Cass, David Wallen, Derrall Smallwood, Kevin Helton, Gary Long SR, Phil O'Neal

B-Main winner: Harry Shepard
Heat winners: Marlin Burns, Lloyd Walls, Mark Stevens


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Jeff King , Kenny Carmichael , Harry Shepherd , Brady Short , David Wall , Anthony Walker
Teams Williams