Lawton Speedweek Saturday report, results

Wright wins wild ASCS Speedweek finale as Shane Stewart dons crown ASCS - LAWTON, Okla. (June 7, 2003) - The 11th Annual American Sprint Car Series Speedweek came to a spectacular conclusion at Lawton Speedway Saturday night, with Gary Wright ...

Wright wins wild ASCS Speedweek finale as Shane Stewart dons crown

ASCS - LAWTON, Okla. (June 7, 2003) - The 11th Annual American Sprint Car Series Speedweek came to a spectacular conclusion at Lawton Speedway Saturday night, with Gary Wright edging Travis Rilat in a frantic last lap battle through lapped traffic to snare his second ASCS Speedweek victory. The 30-lap triumph marked Wright's fourth O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers feature victory of the season.

Meanwhile, Shane Stewart's fourth place finish allowed him to win the ASCS Speedweek championship by just eight markers over Wright. Stewart scored top five finishes, including two wins, in all six ASCS Speedweek events.

Rilat and Wright led Saturday's feature field to the green flag, with Rilat snaring the early lead from his pole position. Action was halted with one lap in the books when current series point leader Darren Stewart flipped in turn one. Stewart returned to action after a lap five stoppage for Gary Owens, who flipped wildly in turn two after climbing another car's right rear tire.

As the race resumed, Rilat set the pace with Wright shadowing his every move, as Zach Chappell held off Foster Landon and Shane Stewart for third, with Stewart slipping past Landon for fourth at the midway point.

Laying in wait, Wright made his move as lapped traffic came into play on the 19th round, utilizing traffic to race into the lead down the backstretch. Rilat kept Wright in his sights as the laps wound down, awaiting the opportunity to return the favor.

The opportunity came when Wright was briefly slowed by a pair of battling machines as the white flag flew, with Rilat racing back into the lead in turns one and two. Wright charged down the backstretch and inched back into the lead, sliding the Salina-powered Southwest Express/The Shop/Richwood Construction Maxim past the pair of lapped machine in turns three and four and beating Rilat to the checkered flag by a car length.

Wright and Landon's lapped machine made contact in turn four approaching the checkered, with Landon's mount coming to a stop with a broken front end. Kevin Ramey, who was running fourth in the early going until lap five contact with the backstretch retaining wall resulted in a flat right front tire, had battled back to seventh. However, with nowhere to go as he entered the final corner, Ramey tagged Landon's machine and came to a halt with a damaged racer as well.

Running third throughout the event, Chappell held off Shane Stewart to claim the show position. Stewart was fourth, with Toby Brown posting his best ASCS Speedweek finish by rounding out the top five. Andy Shouse recorded his best career finish in ASCS National competition by racing from 14th to finish sixth, with Claud Estes in seventh. Cody Branchcomb earned the race's Hard Charger award by coming from 17th to eighth, with Ramey and John Pate competing the top ten.

Chappell, Rilat, Wright and Ramey posted heat race victories, with Joe Bustillos topping the 12-lap B Feature. Greg Rilat took a hard turn three flip on the opening round of the fourth heat. Rilat returned for B Feature competition.


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Zach Chappell, 4. Shane Stewart, 5. Toby Brown, 6. Andy Shouse, 7. Claud Estes, 8. Cody Branchcomb, 9. Kevin Ramey, 10. John Pate, 11. Joe Bustillos, 12. Tony Bruce, Jr., 13. Jeff Dodd, 14. Nick Smith, 15. Brian Harvill, 16. Foster Landon, 17. Darren Stewart, 18. Gary Owens, 19. Robert Sellers, 20. Danny Jennings.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Joe Bustillos, 2. Nick Smith, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Danny Jennings, 5. Brian Harvill, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Greg Rilat, 8. Stephanie Chappell, 9. Jimmy Taylor, 10. James Shoun. DNS: Travis Scott.

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Darren Stewart, 3. Gary Owens, 4. Andy Shouse, 5. Brian Harvill, 6. Danny Jennings, 7. James Shoun.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. John Pate, 3. Claud Estes, 4. Travis Scott, 5. Nick Smith, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Foster Landon, 3. Shane Stewart, 4. Joe Bustillos, 5. Cody Branchcomb, 6. Stephanie Chappell.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Toby Brown, 3. Jeff Dodd, 4. Robert Sellers, 5. Jimmy Taylor, 6. Greg Rilat.

O'Reilly ASCS Points (Top Ten): 1. Darren Stewart 2,238, 2. Travis Rilat 2,192, 3. Zach Chappell 2,176, 4. Gary Wright 2,158, 5. Cody Branchcomb 2,042, 6. Toby Brown 1,950, 7. Shane Stewart 1,692, 8. Rick Behr 1,253, 9. Kevin Ramey 1,216, 10. Nick Smith 1,136.

Final ASCS Speedweek Points (Top Ten): 1. Shane Stewart 874, 2. Gary Wright 866, 3. Zach Chappell 816, 4. Darren Stewart 810, 5. Travis Rilat 796, 6. Kevin Ramey 784, 7. Cody Branchcomb 716, 8. Toby Brown 658, 9. Jan Howard 620, Rick Williams 616.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Rick Williams , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , Andy Shouse
Teams Williams