Lake Ozark: LOS 360 Prelim 2005-09-03

Hockett Handles O'Reilly ASCS LOS 360 Nationals Prelim ELDON, Mo. (September 3, 2005) - Jesse Hockett proved his recent spate of victories in weekly action at Lake Ozark Speedway was no fluke as he found himself on top of Saturday night's...

Hockett Handles O'Reilly ASCS LOS 360 Nationals Prelim

ELDON, Mo. (September 3, 2005) - Jesse Hockett proved his recent spate of victories in weekly action at Lake Ozark Speedway was no fluke as he found himself on top of Saturday night's O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores heap by winning the opening night of the Second Annual LOS 360 Nationals.

Hockett wrestled the lead from current point leader and defending series champion Gary Wright on the 12th round, then outdueled "The Texan" the rest of the way to score his second career ASCS National Tour victory aboard the Wesmar-powered VKCC Motorsports/Arizona Race Mart No. 75 Maxim in the 25-lapper.

After some celebratory doughnuts in turns three and four, Hockett explained from victory lane that, "It's been a while since we've got a big win, this is pretty awesome, I just hope we can make it two in a row tomorrow night."

After accumulating the most passing points in heat race action among the rugged 51-car field, Wright and Hockett gridded the 22-car feature field shoulder-to-shoulder on the front row with Wright gunning into the lead from the pole position at the drop of the green flag.

Wright quickly took to the cushion, while Hockett uncharacteristically ran the low line during the opening rounds. Following a caution after seven laps as the leaders were entering lapped traffic, Wright moved to the low side after ten rounds with Hockett quickly moving to the cushion.

With lapped traffic becoming a factor, Hockett battled past Wright to take command on the 12th round. With ASCS career victory number 101 within reach however, Wright wasn't ready to secede victory lane honors. The pair diced through lapped traffic in side-by-side fashion much of the way over the ensuing laps before Hockett escaped Wright's grasp in the final three rounds.

Hockett streaked underneath the checkered flag with a four car-length edge over Wright, while Tim Montgomery eventually snared the show position after trading spots with 13th-starter Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., along the way. Stenhouse settled for the fourth and final lock-in position to Sunday night's LOS 360 Nationals finale.

Zach Chappell made a strong run from 15th to round out the top five, with 15-year-old Hunter Schuerenberg advancing from 11th to sixth. Completing the top ten were Nick Smith, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Tony Bruce, Jr., and Jon Corbin.

Slated to start the feature inside the second row, Darren Stewart was forced pitside with throttle linkage woes before the race got under way.

Natalie Sather, Smith, Wright, Hafertepe, Hockett, Montgomery and Chris Morgan were each victorious in heat race action, with Hafertepe and Morgan edging Chappell and Schuerenberg in virtual photo finishes at the line. Sather inherited the opening heat race victory when apparent winner Jerrod Hull failed to report to the scales, thus earning a disqualification.

Chappell fought off Mike Trent to win the first of three 12-lap "B" Mains. Dean Adams, Jr., outdueled Mitchell Moore over the early portion of the second "B" Main, while Randy Martin bounced back from an early spin to snare the second and final transfer spot on the final lap. Jason Evans and Lee Sowell traded the lead repeatedly in the third "B" Main, with Evans getting the nod at the line.

Saturday's 51-car field is expected to be bolstered by several more entries for the final night of the Second Annual LOS 360 Nationals on Sunday night, with action slated to get under way at 7:00 p.m.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Natalie Sather, 2. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 4. Matthew Fox, 5. Randy Martin, 6. Scott Comstock, 7. Abe Sherwood. Disqualified: Jerrod Hull (failed to report to scales after finishing first).

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Nick Smith, 2. Darren Stewart, 3. Mitchell Moore, 4. Lee Sowell, 5. Curtis Evans, 6. Ricky Ryun, 7. Brandon Gray, 8. Doc Sloan.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Eric Schrock, 3. Jon Corbin, 4. Robbie Standridge, 5. Adam Jones, 6. Curtis Boyer, 7. Robert Black.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Bryan Grimes, 4. Matt Sutton, 5. Todd McVay, 6. Mace May, 7. Ed Wagner.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jesse Hockett, 2. Tim Newman, 3. Jason Evans, 4. Kent Buckley, 5. Jimmy Taylor, 6. Mark Knapp, 7. Lanny Carpenter.

Sixth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Tim Montgomery, 2. Terry Hinck, 3. Jake Martens, 4. Tyler Blank, 5. Tony Crank, 6. Gabe Maycock, 7. Larry Smith,

Seventh Heat (8 Laps): 1. Chris Morgan, 2. Hunter Schuerenberg, 3. Mike Trent, 4. Dean Adams, Jr., 5. Tracy Nichols, 6. Nathan Benson, 7. Toby Brown.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Mike Trent, 3. Tracy Nichols, 4. Jerrod Hull, 5. Kent Buckley, 6. Todd McVay, 7. Nathan Benson, 8. Scott Comstock, 9. Mace May, 10. Terry Hinck, 11. Larry Smith, 12. Robbie Standridge. DNS: Robert Black.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Dean Adams, Jr., 2. Randy Martin, 3. Mitchell Moore, 4. Ricky Ryun, 5. Jimmy Taylor, 6. Matthew Fox, 7. Tim Newman, 8. Curtis Evans, 9. Mark Knapp, 10. Abe Sherwood, 11. Toby Brown. DNS: Ed Wagner.

Third B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jason Evans, 2. Lee Sowell, 3. Gabe Maycock, 4. Brandon Gray, 5. Tony Crank, 6. Curtis Boyer, 7. Adam Jones, 8. Tyler Blank, 9. Doc Sloan. DNS: Matt Sutton, Bryan Grimes, Lanny Carpenter.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Jesse Hockett, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Tim Montgomery, 4. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 5. Zach Chappell, 6. Hunter Schuerenberg, 7. Nick Smith, 8. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 9. Tony Bruce, Jr., 10. Jon Corbin, 11. Dean Adams, Jr., 12. Eric Schrock, 13. Jake Martens, 14. Matt Sutton, 15. Mike Trent, 16. Natalie Sather, 17. Randy Martin, 18. Lee Sowell, 19. Bryan Grimes, 20. Chris Morgan, 21. Jason Evans, 22. Darren Stewart.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 3,736, 2. Darren Stewart 3,516, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3,329, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,285, 5. Toby Brown 2,809, 6. Jake Martens 2,763, 7. Jimmy Taylor 2,281, 8. Jan Howard 1,991, 9. Zach Chappell 1,744, 10. Lee Sowell 1,742.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Adam Jones , Todd McVay , Jesse Hockett , Nick Smith , Matthew Fox , Hunter Schuerenberg , Chris Morgan