Knoxville ASCS Nationals finale results

Shane Stewart Captures ASCS Knoxville Nationals Crown! KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 4, 2007) -- Bixby, Oklahoma native Shane Stewart pocketed a cool $10,000 by winning Saturday night's 17th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals 25-lap finale at the famed...

Shane Stewart Captures ASCS Knoxville Nationals Crown!

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 4, 2007) -- Bixby, Oklahoma native Shane Stewart pocketed a cool $10,000 by winning Saturday night's 17th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals 25-lap finale at the famed Knoxville Raceway on the Marion County Fairgrounds.

Stewart and Gary Wright traded the lead during the middle portion of the race before Stewart took over for keeps on the 14th circuit aboard the Shaver-powered Doyle's Harley Davidson No. 1hd Maxim.

Surviving a caution that flew on the white flag lap, Stewart took the checkered flag with a 0.840 second advantage over fellow Oklahoma shoe Wayne Johnson, who raced around Gary Wright for the runner-up position in the final corner.

After winning Friday night's preliminary feature, Stewart gridded the feature on the front row outside with Higday leading the way to the green flag from the pole position. Stewart gunned into the lead on the initial start with fourth-starting Wright shooting into second in the opening pair of corners only to have the start waved off when New York's Bryan Howland took a hard tumble in turn three. Howland was uninjured but done for the night.

Stewart repeated his initial start by once again charging into the lead when action resumed. But this time it took Wright a bit more than the first two corners to climb into second, as it was the second time around the track before he took the second position from Higday.

With Stewart running the top side around the 0x00bd-mile clay oval, Wright worked the low line and began reeling in the leader. Wright closed in on the sixth round and was just a half car-length out of the lead as the duo completed the lap.

Stewart fought off Wright's bid, holding a two car-length advantage when the caution flew after nine laps for Justin Barger's stalled mount. Barger rejoined the field at the tail, with the caution flying again one lap later for debris in turn four.

Back under way, Stewart changed lines and ran the low side of turns one and two. Wright wasted no time moving to the top and charged into the lead as they raced off turn two and down the backstretch.

Stewart kept "The Texan" in his sights and reeled him back in on the 14th lap, regaining the lead on the inside as the pair exited turn four.

Stewart held strong up front and was less than a lap away from securing the triumph when the race's final caution flew for Brian Brown, who came to a stop in turn four with a blown engine after charging from 18th to fifth.

Set for a green-white-checkered dash to the stripe, Stewart executed a pair of flawless laps to collect his 14th career O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series feature win.

After starting ninth, Wayne Johnson had climbed to third by the eleventh lap and took advantage of the late caution to surge past Wright in the final corner to snare runner-up honors aboard Tim and Mike Hammers' Wesmar-powered H&H Enterprises No. 94 Eagle.

Wright settled for the show position in the Wesmar-powered Richwood Construction/Whiteco Commercial Funding No. 9, with Jason Johnson taking the fourth position in Lanny Row's Wesmar-powered The Shop Motorsports No. 41 Eagle. Thursday night preliminary feature winner Kaley Gharst rounded out the top five in the Wesmar-powered Phillips' Floors No. 3* Maxim.

Higday crossed the stripe sixth, with Travis Rilat in seventh. Scott Winters charged from 20th to eighth, with Matt Moro and 24th-starter Jonathan Allard completing the top ten.

Darren Stewart was unable to make the call for the feature after encountering mechanical woes in hot laps and watched his older brother race to victory lane.

Jonathan Cornell kicked off the evening by establishing a new 8-lap track record of 2:13.6 while winning the "E" Main.

Eric Baldaccini made a last-lap pass of Forrest Sutherland to win the 10-lap "D" Main, with J.D. Johnson racing around Jack Potter on the second lap en route to topping the 12-lap "C" Main.

Barger posted a strong victory drive in the 15-lap "B" Main, with Larry Neighbors, Garry Lee Maier and Allard taking the final transfer positions to the championship main event.

17th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals Saturday Championship Feature Results:

"E" Main - Top 7 Advance to "D" Main:

E Feature (8 Laps): 1. 28x-Jonathan Cornell, 2. 5L-Eric Lutz, 3. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 4. 31p-Travis Porter, 5. 7s-Jordan St. Arnold, 6. 46-Gary Moyer, 7. 5x-Dave Glennon, 8. 00-Lauren Densley, 9. 22b-Ben Gregg. DNS: 67-Brian Thomas.

"D" Main - Top 6 Advance to "C" Main:

D Feature (10 Laps): 1. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 3. 28x-Jonathan Cornell, 4. 43-A.J. Selenke, 5. 04-Frankie Heimbaugh, 6. 11F-Foster Landon, 7. 33-Alan Zoutte, 8. 5L-Eric Lutz, 9. 4r-Robbie Vaughn, 10. 7s-Jordan St. Arnold, 11. 5x-Dave Glennon, 12. 53h-Matt Harms, 13. 86J-Josh Fisher, 14. 57c-Chris Schmelzle, 15. 48-Tyler Thompson, 16. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 17. 31p-Travis Porter, 18. 46-Gary Moyer, 19. 84-Toby Chapman, 20. 1x-Matt Linder, 21. 9JR-Derek Hagar, 22. 15s-Nick Smith.

"C" Main - Top 4 Advance to "B" Main:

C Feature (12 Laps): 1. 98-J.D. Johnson, 2. 51s-Lee Sowell, 3. 26-Tayler Malsam, 4. 15-Jack Potter, 5. 2d-Bryan Dobesh, 6. 44-Larry Pinegar II, 7. 23a-Seth Bergman, 8. 35a-Brad Sweet, 9. 1-Pete Crall, 10. 98r-Joe Ramaker, 11. 27-Don Droud, Jr., 12. 3-Nate VanHaaften, 13. 28x-Jonathan Cornell, 14. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 15. 91x-Derek Ingalls, 16. 11F-Foster Landon, 17. Y2-Mike Houseman, Jr., 18. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 19. 04-Frankie Heimbaugh, 20. 11T-T.J. Winegardner, 21. 43-A.J. Selenke, 22. 4-Mike Chadd.

"B" Main - Top 4 Advance to "A" Main:

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. 32-Justin Barger, 2. 29n-Larry Neighbors, 3. 11xx-Garry Lee Maier, 4. 0-Jonathan Allard, 5. 4x-Jan Howard, 6. 53-Joe Beaver, 7. 29-Russ Hall, 8. 7m-Chad Meyer, 9. 5-Rick Ideus, 10. 94s-Natalie Sather, 11. 35r-Ron Blair, 12. 34-Luke Hall, 13. 4J-Lee Grosz, 14. 15-Jack Potter, 15. 51s-Lee Sowell, 16. 7-Dustin Selvage, 17. 26-Tayler Malsam, 18. 98-J.D. Johnson, 19. X-Chuck Swenson, 20. 24-Jarod Smith, 21. 86-John Kearney, 22. 5g-Brett Golik.

17th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals "A" Main

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 1hd-Shane Stewart, 2. 94-Wayne Johnson, 3. 9-Gary Wright, 4. 41-Jason Johnson, 5. 3*-Kaley Gharst, 6. 2x-Josh Higday, 7. 29T-Travis Rilat, 8. R19-Scott Winters, 9. 2m-Matt Moro, 10. 0-Jonathan Allard, 11. 6b-Dale Blaney, 12. 54-Brett Mather, 13. 29n-Larry Neighbors, 14. 7L-Darren Long, 15. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 16. 11xx-Garry Lee Maier, 17. 75-Don Young, 18. 21-Brian Brown, 19. 45-Chuck Hebing, 20. 32-Justin Barger, 21. 1m-Skip Jackson, 22. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 23. 51h-Bryan Howland. DNS: 91-Darren Stewart.

Lap Leaders: Shane Stewart 1-10, Gary Wright 11-14, Shane Stewart 15-25.

O'Reilly ASCoT Points (Top Twenty): 1. Gary Wright 3,840, 2. Wayne Johnson 3,784, 3. Jason Johnson 3,742, 4. Travis Rilat 3,584, 5. Foster Landon 3,176, 6. Darren Stewart 2,512, 7. Nick Smith 1,882, 8. Eric Baldaccini 1,701, 9. Andy Shouse 1,559, 10. Chris Schmelzle 1,559, 11. Johnny Miller 1,427, 12. Kenneth Walker 1,369, 13. Chuck Swenson 1,292, 14. Kevin Ramey 1,263, 15. Danny Jennings 1,214, 16. Aaron Berryhill 1,079, 17. Natalie Sather 1,073, 18. Coleman Gulick 1,042, 19. Joe Wood, Jr. 1,020, 20. Tim Crawley 982.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Johnny Miller , Larry Neighbors , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Brown , Jonathan Allard , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Justin Barger , Josh Fisher , Tayler Malsam , Brad Sweet , Derek Hagar , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Wayne Johnson , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , Brian Thomas , Jason Johnson , Andy Shouse