Knoxville: 360 Nationals Friday results

Alley Takes $10K in ASCS Knoxville 360 Nationals Again KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 5, 2005) -- Nebraska's Billy Alley fought off the charges of Gary Wright and Brian Brown to capture his second consecutive American Sprint Car Series ...

Alley Takes $10K in ASCS Knoxville 360 Nationals Again

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 5, 2005) -- Nebraska's Billy Alley fought off the charges of Gary Wright and Brian Brown to capture his second consecutive American Sprint Car Series Knoxville 360 Nationals crown by topping Friday night's 25-lap feature atop the famed half-mile Knoxville Raceway clay oval.

A late caution set up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag, but Alley was up to the task as he beat Wright to the checkered flag by just 0.298-seconds to top the 15th Annual Knoxville 360 Nationals, collecting the $10,000 winner's share in the process.

"To win this race two times in a row, with so much tough competition here, it really means a lot," Alley commented from victory lane. "I kind of messed up that last restart, I got the car sideways and spun the tires and was afraid somebody would get a run on me, but we were able to hold on."

After a half-lap victory in Thursday's second preliminary feature, Alley led the feature field to the green flag. Alley outgunned fellow front row starter Jake Peters to snare the early lead and checked out in the early rounds.

By the time lapped traffic came into play on the eighth circuit, Alley had amassed a straightaway lead over Peters, Brown, Dusty Zomer and Zach Chappell. Alley's advantage was erased soon after when the caution flew for Nate Mosher's turn four spin with nine laps in the books.

Alley led the way on the restart with Brown, who had overtaken Peters for second just prior to the caution, hot on his heels. Running seventh when the caution flew, Wright quickly picked up a pair of spots on the restart then raced past Zomer on the 12th lap to move up to fourth. Two laps later, Wright disposed of Peters for third and set his sights on the lead pair.

After action was interrupted with 20 laps complete, Brown made a bid for the lead by sliding underneath Alley entering turn three on the 21st lap. As Brown slid to the cushion, Alley cut down low and recaptured the lead as the duo raced down the front stretch.

Wright was on the move though, using the low line to charge past Brown for second on the 23rd round, with the caution flying moments later for John VanDenBerg's disabled mount in turn four.

Despite his bobble on the final restart, Alley still slipped away from Wright as Brown used the cushion to pass Wright exiting turn two. Wright returned the favor in turns three and four reeled in Alley on the final lap.

Wright's efforts were for naught however, as Alley took the checkered flag aboard the Wesmar-powered Speedway Motors No. 22 Eagle less than two car-lengths ahead of "The Texan". Brown settled for third, while Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., turned in the race's top passing performance by racing from 22nd to snare fourth at the line.J Zomer rounded out the top five, with Peters, 21st-starter Jonathan Allard, Jesse Hockett, 19th-starter Danny Wood and Jason Johnson completing the top ten.

Ohio's Kent Wolters kicked off the evening by winning the 6-lap "F" Feature, with Missouri's Toby Brown topping the 8-lap "E" Feature. Oregon's Roger Crockett took the win in the 10-lap "D" Feature, while Iowa's Larry Ball, Jr., held off Aussie Kerry Madsen to win the 12-lap "C" Feature.

Californian Allard and Mississippi's Stenhouse traded the lead in the latter stages of the 15-lap "B" Feature, with Allard getting the nod at the stripe, as Stenhouse, Bronson Maeschen and Johnny Anderson took the final transfer spots to the "A" Main.


F Feature (6 Laps): 1. Kent Wolters, 2. Eric Lutz, 3. Chris Morgan, 4. Nick Smith, 5. Alan Zoutte, 6. Glen Styres, 7. Jeff VanDusen, 8. Josh Close, 9. Dan Thornburg, 10. Jimmy Taylor.

E Feature (8 Laps): 1. Toby Brown, 2. Nate VanHaaften, 3. Sean Walden, 4. Brett Geldner, 5. Dustin Selvage, 6. Eddie Leavitt, Jr., 7. Jeff VanDusen, 8. Kerry McAlister, 9. Matt Harms, 10. Lee Sowell, 11. Mike Houseman, Jr., 12. Eric Lutz, 13. Ryan Voss, 14. Alan Zoutte, 15. Kent Wolters, 16. Glenn Styres, 17. Tony Crank, 18. Chris Morgan, 19. Jamie McDonald, 20. Louie Carufel.

D Feature (10 Laps): 1. Roger Crockett, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Chuck Swenson, 4. Dustin Daggett, 5. Luke Cranston, 6. Jeff Cook, 7. Rager Phillips, 8. Gavin Punch, 9. Adam West, 10. Pete Crall, 11. Geoff Dodge, 12. Sean Walden, 13. Davey Heskin, 14. Jeff VanDusen, 15. Toby Brown, 16. Nate VanHaaften, 17. Dustin Selvage, 18. Brett Geldner, 19. Dave Anderson, 20. Eddie Leavitt, Jr., 21. Darrell Brink, 22. Mike Houseman.

C Feature (12 Laps): 1. Larry Ball, Jr., 2. Kerry Madsen, 3. John Kearney, 4. Jason Danley, 5. Trevor Lewis, 6. Ricky Fauver, 7. J.D. Johnson, 8. Roger Crockett, 9. Brett Mather, 10. Johnny Herrera, 11. Jake Martens, 12. Scott Winters, 13. Travis Rilat, 14. John Schulz, 15. Steven King, 16. Chuck Swenson, 17. Troy Meyer, 18. Dustin Daggett, 19. Dave Ely, 20. Bryan Howland, 21. Ryan Jamison, 22. Dave Glennon.

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. Jonathan Allard, 2. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 3. Bronson Maeschen, 4. Johnny Anderson, 5. Dave Hall, 6. Garry Lee Maier, 7. Danny Jennings, 8. Kerry Madsen, 9. Jason Martin, 10. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 11. Cody Branchcomb, 12. Chad Humston, 13. Joe Beaver, 14. Larry Ball, Jr., 15. Tony Bruce, Jr., 16. Seth Brahmer, 17. Nick Mulheim, 18. Ryan Anderson, 19. Frankie Heimbaugh, 20. Matt Moro, 21. Mike Dussel, 22. Roger Rager.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Billy Alley, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Brian Brown, 4. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 5. Dusty Zomer, 6. Jake Peters, 7. Jonathan Allard, 8. Jesse Hockett, 9. Danny Wood, 10. Jason Johnson, 11. Jeff Mitrisin, 12. Randy Martin, 13. Johnny Anderson, 14. Zach Chappell, 15. Ricky Logan, 16. Josh Higday, 17. Curt Michael, 18. Stacey Alexander, 19. Eric Jobe, 20. Loren Langerud, 21. Bronson Maeschen, 22. John VanDenBerg, 23. Nate Mosher, 24. Jesse Giannetto.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 3,540, 2. Darren Stewart 3,380, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3,157, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,111, 5. Toby Brown 2,704, 6. Jake Martens 2,609, 7. Jimmy Taylor 2,176, 8. Jan Howard 1,991, 9. Lee Sowell 1,598, 10. Zach Chappell 1,554.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Jeff Mitrisin , Brian Brown , Cody Branchcomb , Jonathan Allard , Kerry Madsen , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Geoff Dodge , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Johnny Herrera , Chris Morgan , Roger Crockett , Jason Johnson