KISS: Terre Haute results 2004-06-24

Cottle Smooth In Terre Haute KISS Victory June 24, 2004 -- Kokomo, Indiana's Shane Cottle outran Jon Stanbrough and A. J. Anderson to win the fourth round of the King of Indiana Sprint Car Series (KISS) at the Terre Haute Action Track, Thursday...

Cottle Smooth In Terre Haute KISS Victory

June 24, 2004 -- Kokomo, Indiana's Shane Cottle outran Jon Stanbrough and A. J. Anderson to win the fourth round of the King of Indiana Sprint Car Series (KISS) at the Terre Haute Action Track, Thursday night. "It's big to win a KISS race," Cottle said afterwards, "and it's even bigger to win at Terre Haute. I grew up not far from here and came to watch a lot of races. I thought maybe someday I could win here, too."

It was Cottle's first win in KISS competition as he continues to show a ton of speed since joining Monte Edison's Crume Evans Insurance/Chalk. Stanbrough finished second, followed by A. J. Anderson, Alex Shanks and Kevin Huntley.

The first half of the 30-lap race featured a torrid scrap between Anderson, Cottle and Stanbrough. While they were side-by-side much of the time, the Anderson Racing/Chalk machine paced the first eight laps, until being passed by Stanbrough in the Truckers 24-Hour Service/Competition Welding sprinter. Matt Westfall ran a couple of car lengths further back in the Steve Bodner Welding/Maxim.

Scotty Weir was exploring the track out near the cement walls with mixed results, gaining spots one lap, but falling back the next as he flirted with the top four. On the tenth circuit, Weir slapped the turn three wall with his right rear tire and somersaulted three times. He quickly climbed out of the wrecked IMS/Maxim as the red flag waved.

Cottle stalked Stanbrough following the restart, and powered into the lead in the fourth turn on lap 11. Although Stanbrough pulled even on the next lap, Cottle continued to nose ahead at the scoring line. Then, Cottle began to extend a lead, building it to half of a straightaway by lap 20 as Anderson challenged Stanbrough for second and Westfall battled with Huntley for fourth.

At the finish, Cottle held a comfortable two-second lead. Explaining that if you slid up off the bottom you were going to get passed by 2 3 cars, he said, "I just calmed down and start driving a little smoother."

In the evening's most serious incident, Kyle Hill and Terry Eup made contact on the last lap of the C-Main and Hill's car barrel-rolled six or seven times before coming to a stop against the turn three wall. Eup also flipped, but was able to walk away from the bent car. Hill was removed from his car and transported to a local hospital for observation.

With an eleventh-place finish, series point leader Michael Burthay took a giant step toward wrapping up the 2004 KISS championship. Burthay heads into Saturday's final event with a 90 point lead on Eric Shively, who was eighth. Kent Christian finished just behind Burthay and is third in KISS points, 100 astern of Burthay.

KISS Series Results the Terre Haute Action Track, June 24, 2004 (40 cars):

Heat 1: Scotty Weir, Alex Shanks, Jimmy Laser, Brian Lee

Heat 2: Shane Cottle, Wil Newlin, Derek Scheffel, Chris Gentry

Heat 3: A. J. Anderson, Matt Westfall, Kenny Carmichael, Michael Burthay

Heat 4: Jon Stanbrough, Kevin Huntley, John Wolfe, Kenny Lacey

C Main: Travis Thompson, Jerad Parsons, Josh Cunningham, Kenny Carmichael Jr.

B Main: Rick Cofory, Kent Christian, Kris Deckard, Eric Shively

Feature (30 laps): Cottle, Stanbrough, Anderson, Huntley, Westfall, Shanks, Scheffel, Shively, Laser, Lee, Burthay, Christian, Wolfe, Cofory, Gentry, Deckard, Newlin, Lacey, Weir, Carmichael

Point standings: 1. Michael Burthay  477, 2. Eric Shively  387, 3. Kent
Christian  377, 4. A. J. Anderson  361, 5. Matt Westfall  360, 6. Derek
Scheffel  345, 7. Kenny Carmichael  291, 8. Jason Robbins  279, 9. Jared
Fox  222, 10. Shawn Krockenburger  219.

The King of Indiana Sprint Car Series will conclude at Paragon Speedway on Saturday, June 26th. Following the checkered flag, the KISS series will award $1,000 to this year's point champion.

Celebrating its 50th Anniversary season, Paragon Speedway will host the deciding round of the 2004 King of Indiana series. Paragon Speedway is located eight miles south of Martinsville on SR 67. Adult tickets are $15, children 12 and under are free with adult admission. The pit gate will open at 4:00 and the grandstand at 5:00. The draw window will close at 6:00 sharp. Racing begins at 7:30. The program will include street stocks and bombers. For more information, check Paragon's website website:, or call (765) 537-9326 or (765) 537-2366.

The KISS series puts the spotlight on the most exciting sprint car drivers in the state as they battle on the best Hoosier dirt tracks. For more information, visit our website at

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Scotty Weir , Matt Westfall , Jon Stanbrough , Shane Cottle , Kenny Carmichael