Iowa drivers look toward Indy

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (May 24, 2001) - Iowa sprint car racers Jon Agan of Knoxville and Terry Thorson of Newton are building a road to Indianapolis and they're running it straight through central Iowa next weekend. Both Knoxville Raceway ...

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (May 24, 2001) - Iowa sprint car racers Jon Agan of Knoxville and Terry Thorson of Newton are building a road to Indianapolis and they're running it straight through central Iowa next weekend. Both Knoxville Raceway drivers will be racing non-winged 'dirt championship' cars in the special NAPA-sponsored United States Auto Club (USAC) events at the Marion County Fairgrounds oval on June 1-2. The NAPA 100-lap feature is the sixth stop in the 14-race USAC Coors Light Silver Bullet Series, which is one of the premier oval-track feeder circuits for the Indy Racing League and its annual Indianapolis 500 classic.

While both Agan and Thorson realize that Indy is a dream for hundreds, if not thousands, of short-track open-wheel racers like themselves, they also know that they need to be the ones to make things happen in their respective careers. Agan will be piloting the Agan Motorsports-owned United Expressline/Coca-Cola dirt champ car, while Thorson will be wheeling the Thorson/Dolner Racing- owned Hall Transport/Speedway Automotive machine. Neither Iowan has much experience in the USAC Silver Bullet Series, but both are looking forward to competing against such NAPA 100 entrants as Indy veterans Johnny Parsons, J.J. Yeley and Donnie Beechler. Other top entrants in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction weekend USAC events are Ed Carpenter, Tracy Hines, "Bud" Kaeding, Russ Gamester, Brad Noffsinger, Tony Jones and defending Goodyear Masters Classic champion Terry Pletch. It is expected that Indy 500 veteran Jack Hewitt and winged sprint car racers Tyler Walker, Travis Rilat and Ronnie Day will wind up competing in the USAC events at Knoxville.

Former Knoxville Raceway track champions "Skip" Jackson of Australia/Knoxville and Terry McCarl of Pleasant Hill are seeking rides for next weekend's NAPA 100. Also, an all-Iowa USAC Silver Bullet Series car is presently being built for northern Iowa asphalt contractor Mick Fishel and Clarion driver Randy Anderson by Knoxville-based Twister Chassis for the 2002 season. It is hoped by Fishel that an Iowa-based engine-builder and state-wide sponsors will also be involved in their 'road to Indy' project.

Those seeking more information on the June 1-2 USAC Coors Light Silver Bullet Series NAPA 100 are urged to call Knoxville Raceway at 641-842-5431, while those wanting information on that weekend's National Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction banquet should call the museum at 641-842-6176. Both the ninth annual Goodyear Masters Classic 360-cubic-inch sprint car race for drivers age fifty and over on Friday, June 1, and the track's regular winged 410 c.i. sprints on Saturday, June 2, will compete at Knoxville in conjunction with the USAC events.

<pre> ** OFFICIAL ENTRIES - USAC "NAPA 100" @ KNOXVILLE - AS OF 05/24 **

# Driver Hometown Sponsor

4 Jason McCord Anderson, IN 5 Robby Flock Murrieta, CA Weld/Am. Compr. Steel 9 TBA Team ASE/Beast 10 Paul White Temple, TX Builders Electric 11 Ed Carpenter Indianapolis, IN Menards 19 Dave Steele Tampa, FL Northside Propane 20 Tony Elliott Kokomo, IN Ray Skillman 21 TBA Print Express 25 Derek Davidson Indianapolis, IN Hannig Construction 35 Jerry Coons, Jr. Tucson, AZ Kele Spirit of Knoxville 37 Tracy Hines New Castle, IN Indiana Underground 38 Craig Dori Indianapolis, IN Charter Sailing 40 Brad Noffsinger Huntington Beach, CA Curb Records 43 Johnny Parsons, Jr. Indianapolis, IN Rick's Goodyear Tires 44 "Bud" Kaeding Campbell, CA Carquest 48 Jon Agan Knoxville, IA United Expressline/Coke 50 Ricky Shelton Huntington Beach, CA Aviators 51 Russ Gamester Peru, IN Terre Haute 1st Nat'l. 53 Brad Fox Avon, IN Plastic Express 56 Dave Darland Lincoln, IN Foxco/Jarvis Ent. 57 Terry Thorson Newton, IA Hall Transport/Speedway 60 Ronnie Franklin Fenton, MO Franklin 61 Brad Armstrong New Washington, IN Charlestown Monument 62 Jay Drake Indianapolis, IN Beaver Materials 67 J.J. Yeley Stilesville, IN ASE/Ford 69 Brian Tyler Parma, MI Kroger/Pringles/Folgers 74 Rich Tobias, Jr. Lebanon, PA Mi-Jack 76 Jerry Nemire Erie, MI Nemire Enterprises 79 Terry Pletch Frankfort, IN Holy Ghost Power 84 Don Carr Palo Pinto, TX Herb Spivey 85 Michael Lewis Noblesville, IN Print Express 90 Robin Bank Aliquippa, PA Duda/Tekcor Marketing 92 Aaron Fike Galesburg, IL McGladrey & Pullen 93 A.J. Fike Galesburg, IL McGladrey & Pullen 135 TBA Kele O.E.M. 175 Donnie Beechler Springfield, IL Brentwood Dodge 189 Tony Jones Corona, CA Payless-Loucks & Assoc.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Donnie Beechler , Michael Lewis , Dave Darland , J.J. Yeley , Tracy Hines , Dave Steele , Jack Hewitt , Brian Tyler , Tony Elliott , Aaron Fike , Tony Jones , Jay Drake , Brad Noffsinger , A.J. Fike , Jerry Nemire , Johnny Parsons , Russ Gamester , Paul White , Tyler Walker , Brad Armstrong , Jason McCord , Jerry Coons , Travis Rilat , Robby Flock , Ed Carpenter , Ricky Shelton