I-30: Race results 2005-10-01

Rilat Rocks O'Reilly ASCS with I-30 Speedway Triumph LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (October 1, 2005) -- Travis Rilat snapped a winless streak in O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country ...

Rilat Rocks O'Reilly ASCS with I-30 Speedway Triumph

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (October 1, 2005) -- Travis Rilat snapped a winless streak in O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores competition dating back to July of 2004 by snaring victory honors in Saturday night's hotly-contested 30-lap feature at I-30 Speedway.

Rilat became the race's fourth different leader on the 20th round then fought off Gary Wright over the final circuits to capture his 18th career ASCS National Tour triumph and first since July 10, 2004, which also came atop the high-banked, quarter-mile Little Rock clay oval.

Mike Ward led the feature field to the green flag after racing from eighth to second in his heat race, but it was outside front row starter Pete Butler gunning into the early lead from the front row outside.JButler, who snared the I-30 Speedway track title, set the pace over the early rounds with Ward, Jan Howard and Rilat dicing for position in his wake.

With the opening 21 laps run in non-stop fashion, lapped traffic came into play on the ninth round. Butler opened the door soon after when he bobbled briefly in turn one on the eleventh lap, slipping to fourth behind Howard, Ward and Rilat, with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., and tenth-starter Wright joining the mix for the lead as well.

The top six battled fiercely over the ensuing rounds, with Stenhouse making a bold move on the 12th round to take over second. Stenhouse then raced around Howard in turns three and four on the 17th lap to take command, setting his sights on a potential second career ASCS National Tour victory.

But it was Rilat on the move now, racing past Howard for second on the 19th lap. After looking to the low side exiting turn two the next time round, Rilat used the cushion to race past Stenhouse and into the lead exiting turn four to complete the 20th lap.

Two laps later, Stenhouse hooked the turn four cushion and bicycled over the embankment and off the track, precipitating the race's first caution.

Rilat led the way on the restart, with a surging Wright on his heels.JWith Rilat riding the rim, Wright kept pace on the low side. Wright was poised to challenge for the point as lapped traffic came into play on the 28th round, only to have a caution fly for a three-car tangle in turn two involving Toby Brown, Justin Sturch and Ernie Ainsworth.

On the next two restarts, Rilat and Wright swapped lines each time only to have the yellow flag fly for a pair of minor incidents.

Finally set for a two-lap dash to the checkered flag after Steven Tiner's turn four spin, Rilat got a near-perfect restart as Wright spun his tires off turn four. Rilat took quick advantage and charged to the checkered flag aboard the Motor Mike-powered F&Construction/Haulmark Trailers No. 29 Maxim.

Current series point leader Wright settled for the runner-up position, with Howard taking the show position. Darren Stewart made a late charge to snare fourth, with Butler rounding out the top five.

Ward crossed the stripe sixth, with Kevin Ramey in seventh. Tim Crawley earned Hard Charger honors by advancing from 18th to eighth, with Dale Howard and 17th-starter Sam Hafertepe, Jr., completing the top ten.

Stewart, Stenhouse, Marshall Skinner, Jan Howard and Rilat topped heat race action for the stout 41-car field, with Hunter Schuerenberg and Ainsworth winning the twin 12-lap "B" Mains.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. Scott Bolden, 3. Dale Howard, 4. Jesse Hockett, 5. Tim Crawley, 6. Dude Garrett, 7. Stephen Chevallier, 8. Arlen Stewart, 9. Ronny Howard.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 2. Jake Martens, 3. Lee Sowell, 4. Cody Gardner, 5. Garry Bell, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Joe Young, 8. Andy Goin.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Marshall Skinner, 2. Steven Tiner, 3. Gary Wright, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Richard Herring, 6. Johnny Miller, 7. Rick Pringle, 8. Andy McElhannon.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jan Howard, 2. Pete Butler, 3. Hunter Schuerenberg, 4. Ernie Ainsworth, 5. Josh Howard, 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 7. Donny Howard, 8. Jerry Bell.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Mike Ward, 3. Kevin Ramey, 4. Justin Sturch, 5. Josh Lofton, 6. Kenny Taylor, 7. Jimmy Taylor, 8. Nick Smith.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. Garry Bell, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Cody Gardner, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Ronny Howard, 8. Jerry Bell, 9. Rick Pringle, 10. Stephen Chevallier, 11. Jesse Hockett, 12. Johnny Miller, 13. Jimmy Taylor, 14. Andy Goin.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Ernie Ainsworth, 2. Tim Crawley, 3. Justin Sturch, 4. Josh Lofton, 5. Kenny Taylor, 6. Richard Herring, 7. Nick Smith, 8. Dude Garrett, 9. Arlen Stewart, 10. Joe Young, 11. Andy McElhannon, 12. Josh Howard, 13. Donny Howard.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Jan Howard, 4. Darren Stewart, 5. Pete Butler, 6. Mike Ward, 7. Kevin Ramey, 8. Tim Crawley, 9. Dale Howard, 10. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 11. Marshall Skinner, 12. Jake Martens, 13. Garry Bell, 14. Hunter Schuerenberg, 15. Justin Sturch, 16. Steven Tiner, 17. Lee Sowell, 18. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 19. Toby Brown, 20. Ernie Ainsworth, 21. Scott Bolden.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 4,406, 2. Darren Stewart 4,164, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3,883, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,868, 5. Toby Brown 3,403, 6. Jake Martens 3,347, 7. Jimmy Taylor 2,618, 8. Jan Howard 2,452, 9. Zach Chappell 2,320, 10. Lee Sowell 2,291.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Johnny Miller , Andy McElhannon , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Nick Smith , Hunter Schuerenberg , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley