hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour Willamette results

Willamette Speedway Lebanon, OR July 17, 2001 Kent Makes it Two In A Row For hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek" Steve Kent is wasting no time in announcing that he intends to dominate the hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour...

Willamette Speedway
Lebanon, OR
July 17, 2001

Kent Makes it Two In A Row For hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek"

Steve Kent is wasting no time in announcing that he intends to dominate the hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek" this year. After losing the first three races to fellow Californian Brent Kaeding in 2000, the Fresno veteran went from start to finish leading all 30 laps of the evening's feature event at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, OR on this July 17th evening.

On the pole, Kent took the lead at the green from fellow front row starter, Cottage Grove, OR's Dale Smith. Able to open good leads in the open, Smith closed the gap to inches as they fought their way through traffic. Keeping to the low groove, Kent was able to block any passing attempt as the high groove in the corners went away early in the race.

Smith made only one small mistake during the event and that was on the final lap. With the top three slowed by a group of cars, he drifted just high enough going into the first turn to allow Kaeding to stick the front of his car under him and as they say, the rest is history. At the line Kaeding had the spot and Smith had to settle for third.

Rick Fauver made the high line around the track work in the opening laps, but by the fifth circuit he had lost every thing he had gained and slid back into line.

As Kent and Smith checked out to a quarter lap lead over the pack, Johnny Rodriguez, Steven Tiner, Jason Solwold and Willie Croft were mixing it up with some tight and exciting running for third through sixth.

Barry Martinez brought out the first caution flag of the race when he spun in the third turn after he had made contact with the leader while being passed. On the restart the yellow flew again when Tiner spun and was tagged by Solwold. Running 5th and 6th at the time, they both had to pit for tires and were relegated to the rear of the pack.

Kaeding made good use of the restart moving quickly from 7th to 3rd in just 3 laps, setting up his final move to second place.

Top six at the checkered read Kent, Kaeding, Smith, Rodriguez, Roger Crockett and Fauver.

For the second night in a row, it was Kaeding making the feature event by winning the B-feature. Crockett gave chase the full length of the 15 lapper with Yockey close behind. Scott Adams made the best run of the event moving from 14th to take the final transfer spot over Tony Menard in fifth.

Action was stopped on lap 5 when Scott Aumen, Brandon Harkness and Gary Taylor ended in a pile up on the first turn wall.

The 10 lap C-feature went to Herman Klein after he grabbed the lead from front row starter Rod Perkins on the second lap. Jay Cole came home third over Chad Bauer and Kaylene Verville.

Heat race action had Steve Fehrman going wire to wire in the first with Jayme Barnes second. The best battle was between Crockett and Kent who ended up with the final two transfers.

Jeff Thompson took the checkered first in the second heat with Fauver, Destiney Hays and Rodriguez following.

The opening lap of heat three had the night's scariest moment when Shawna Wilskey got sideways entering turn three and Jay Harkness went to the inside. Harkness hit the inside barrier hard enough to remove almost everything in front of the engine and came to a halt in about five feet. Right behind him was his brother Brandon who also ended up in the barrier but was able to make it out later in the night.

When action resumed, Croft took the point over Wilskey and D. Smith. Martinez ended in the final transfer spot after a hard race with Mike Crawford, Melissa Yates and Kevin Etchison. Etchison and Ron Myska tangled in turn three with two to go, giving Etchison an up and over ride.

Wilskey put the pressure on in the final two circuits, but fell short by a quarter car length to give Croft the win.

Gary Morgan out ran Chris Schmelzle for the final heat win with Tiner and Jeff Hodgson getting the other A-feature transfer spots.

Kent picked up the dash win and fast time went to Crockett with a 12.445second lap. <pre> SUMMARY Fast Time - Roger Crockett - 12.445

Heat 1 - Steve Fehrman, Jayme Barnes, Jason Solwold, Steve Kent, Roger Crockett, Jay Cole, Scott Adams, Scott Aumen, Rick Smith, Tony Menard.

Heat 2 - Jeff Thompson, Rick Fauver, Destiney Hays, Johnny Rodriguez, Herman Klein, Rod Perkins, Stan Yockey, Gary Taylor, Chad Hillier, Wade Fleming.

Heat 3 - Willie Croft, Shawna Wilskey, Dale Smith, Barry Martinez, Melinda Yates, Mike Crawford, Ron Myske, Kevin Etchison, Jay R. Harkness, Brandon Harkness.

Heat 4 - Gary Morgan, Chris Schmelzle, Steven Tiner, Jeff Hodgson, Geoff Beck, Brent Kaeding, Marc Dupperon, Kaylene Verville, Ed Weirsma, Jeremy Cooper.

Dash - Kent, D. Smith, Rodriguez, Tiner, Solwold, Barnes.

C-Main - Klein, Perkins, Cole, Bauer, Verville, John Tharp, Mark Ellis, R. Smith, Dawn L. Morrison, Beck, Monty Smith, Richie Brown, Dave Smith, Jim Cress, Gus Cooper, Dan Dunlap.

B-Main - Kaeding, Crockett, Yockey, Adams, Menard, Fleming, Dupperon, Klein, Yates, Myska, Weirsma, Hillier, Cole, Crawford, Perkins, B. Harness, Aumen, Taylor, J. Cooper.

A-Main - Kent, Kaeding, D. Smith, Rodriguez, Crockett, Fauver, Wilskey, Yockey, Barnes, Thompson, Hays, Solwold, Tiner, Morgan, Croft, Hodgson, Adams, Menard, Schmelzle, Martinez.

-Dirt Sprints-

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Shawna Wilskey , Johnny Rodriguez , Mark Ellis , Gary Taylor , Roger Crockett