hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour Northwest Speedweek Portland results

hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour Portland Speedway Portland, OR July 18, 2001 Kent Three In A Row - Looking For Speedweeks Sweep At the end of Wednesday's fast paced exciting night of racing at Portland OR's Portland Speedway, Steve Kent ...

hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour
Portland Speedway
Portland, OR
July 18, 2001

Kent Three In A Row - Looking For Speedweeks Sweep

At the end of Wednesday's fast paced exciting night of racing at Portland OR's Portland Speedway, Steve Kent notched win number 3 in the 2001 version of the hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek".

Racing on the big half-mile dirt oval, the Fresno, CA based driver showed his liking for the longer tracks as he set his aim on leader Brent Kaeding from his fourth place start and was challenging for the lead in seven laps. At the one third mark of the 30 lap feature event, Kent was running high and then moving to the inside as he and Kaeding exited turn four. Each time though, Kaeding would move to the inside blocking the pass.

Kent continued to dog the leader until he got a great run out of turn two and down the back straight on lap 23 and was finally able to make an outside pass and take the lead and the win.

Action came to a halt on the second lap when Rick Fauver and Chris Schmelzle made contact going into the first turn. Schmelzle took a hard hit into the lower concrete wall while Fauver disappeared through the wood framed upper section in a shower of splinters, twisted tin covering and bent steel poles.

While the stunned crowd watched the safety crew go through the hole looking for Fauver, he had landed on a road through the parking lot, climbed out of his car and was walking back toward the track. Four laps later Ron Myska took a tumble in turns three and four to stop the action again.

At the same time Kent was making his inside pass attempts on Kaeding, Jeff Cooper coasted to a stop on the back straight. When action resumed Roger Crockett, running third, was black flagged for being to noisy. The muffler he had lost had been hit by Cooper and punctured his dry sump tank.

After making his lap 23 pass to take the lead, Kent maintained a five car advantage over Kaeding to the checkered, as Shawna Wilskey held third over Johnny Rodriguez and Jeff Hodgson in the final laps.

Hodgson led wire to wire to get the B-main win over Jayme Barnes and Steven Tiner. Barnes and Tiner had a tight race during most of the 15 lapper.

Destiney Hays flipped into the back straight when she climbed the wheel of Ron Myska while trying to make a pass. On the restart, Brandon Harkness had an easy layover on the front chute to set up a hot race to the finish.

Barnes put the pressure on Hodgson as Tiner dogged his rear nerf bar with the three taking the white flag less than a car length apart but neither Barnes nor Tiner able to pull off a pass. Myska took the 1st transfer spot with Willie Croft in 5th.

Geoff Beck took the C-Main over Jim Cress and Cale Carder with all three moving to the B-main. With Beck and Cress opening a large lead, Carder led the rest of the group for the caution free 10 lap race.

Heat one went to Fauver as Kent picked off Rodriguez, Rick Smith and Hays but was not able to catch Tony Menard. In the second heat, Scott Adams led all 10 laps with Scott Aumen keeping Kaeding at bay for second. Jason Solwold took the last transfer spot.

Gary Morgan cranked out the win in the third heat as Barry Martinez, Wilskey and Cooper trailed. The final heat was all Rod Perkins over Schmelzle, Crockett and Stan Yockey .

Kaeding picked up the dash win and Kent set a new track record by blasting a second off of the old record with a sizzling 17.146 second circuit. <pre> SUMMARY Fast Time - Steve Kent - 17.146 NTR

Heat 1 - Rick Fauver, Tony Menard, Steve Kent, Johnny Rodriguez, Destiney Hays, Rick Smith, Geoff Beck, Brandon Harkness, Richie Brown, Ed Weirsma.

Heat 2 - Scott Adams, Scott Aumen, Brent Kaeding, Jason Solwold, Ron Myska, Marc Dupperon, Kaylene Vervilla, Jim Cress, Chad Bauer, Jayme, Barnes, Dan Dunlap.

Heat 3 - Gary Morgan, Barry Martinez, Shawna Wilskey, Jeremy Cooper, Chad Hillier, Jay R. Harkness, Cale Carder, Dave Smith, Dawn-L Morrison, Steven Tiner, John Tharp.

Heat 4 - Rod Perkins, Chris Schmelzle, Roger Crockett, Stan Yockey, Willie Croft, Jeff Hodgson, Mark Ellis, Mike Crawford, Herman Klein, Wade Flaming.

Dash - Kaeding, Cooper, Crockett, Kent, Wilskey, Rodriguez.

C-Main - Beck, Cress, Carder, Ellis, Bauer, D. Smith, Weirsma, Klein, Morrison, Dunlap, Brown.

B-Main - Hodgson, Barnes, Tiner, Myska, Dupperon, B. Harkness, Hillier, Beck, Vervilla, Carder, J. Harkness, Cress, Tharp, Hays, Cole, Crawford, R. Smith, Fleming.

A-Main - Kent, Kaeding, Wilskey, Rodriguez, Hodgson, Solwold, Martinez, Aumen, Yockey, Menard, Adams, Perkins, Crockett, Tiner, Cooper, Barnes, Morgan, Myska, Fauver, Schmelzle.

The Northwest's finest in 'Action Packed' 360 Sprint Car Racing


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Shawna Wilskey , Johnny Rodriguez , Mark Ellis , Roger Crockett