Hesston Speedway results 2001-09-01

Hesston Speedway Thunder Lynn and Shoemaker Top Hesston Winner's List Hesston, PA -- Todd Lynn of Hollidaysburg out ran his brother Ryan by almost two lengths for his first real Grubb Lumber 305 Sprint win at Hesston Speedway Saturday night, and...

Hesston Speedway Thunder
Lynn and Shoemaker Top Hesston Winner's List

Hesston, PA -- Todd Lynn of Hollidaysburg out ran his brother Ryan by almost two lengths for his first real Grubb Lumber 305 Sprint win at Hesston Speedway Saturday night, and Mike Shoemaker, the‘ Mactown Missile' led every lap for the Stultz & Brown Limited Late Model win.

Three of five division championships were decided in the final points races of the season.

The five-division program finished the points races at Hesston and only the $1200-to-win Late Model Challenge Sept. 8 remains on the season schedule. Tickets are available for the annual awards banquet in January.

In the support divisions rookie Darin Hoover of Huntingdon won his second Shellbrook Stables Street Stock feature. Jeff Morder of Huntingdon won in the Chet Grove's Cars Unlimited Hobby Stocks, and Ron Beam Sr. of Alexandria led all but two laps to win the Metzler Bros. Transport Pure Stock feature and collect the Huntingdon County Humane Society Race Night trophy.

Next week's season finale` pits limited late models against super late models for 30 laps. To even the odds, all limited lates will be allowed a 12-inch spoiler and all cars must weigh 2300 pounds. The street stocks will race 20 laps with $400 to the winner and the hobby stocks will race 15 laps for $250 to win.

On the third attempt to start the street stocks young Hoover took the lead and never faltered. John Bookwalter inherited second when Jim Bookwalter broke in lap seven for the final caution until the last lap when Dan Bookwalter blew his engine oil onto the track. The front five finishers were Hoover, John Bookwalter, Jerry Bookwalter, Harry Smith and Tim Brindle. Hoover and Jerry Bookwalter won the heats.

In the dramatic final feature Smith entered the night's races with a two points lead over defending champion John Bookwalter, but Bookwalter beat him in the first heat by one place to gain a point and by two places in the feature to gain four more points than Smith, giving Bookwalter the unofficial points lead and title by three points.

The unofficial hobby stock season championship also went to the final season points feature as Robbie Goss started the night with seven more points than Gary Morder. Goss beat Morder in both their heat and the feature to take his second hobby stock title in three years.

Jeff Morder held off Jesse Snyder by a length or less for the first half the hobby stock feature and then Snyder hit the wall and broke his radiator when avoiding a spun car on turn four. Goss worked from fifth into second, followed in the front five by Mike Barto, Timmy Snare and Cris Edwards. Jesse Snyder, Ken Snyder and Jeff Morder won the heats and Joe DeArmitt won the consi.

Todd Lynn earned the pole and raced away in his #23 sprint as his brother Ryan battled for second with points leader and unofficial season champion Vince Snyder, who settled for third. Joe Davis was fourth and Scott Ellerman fifth. Todd Lynn and Davis won the heats. Lynn entered the race 14 points behind Snyder. He gained one point on Snyder with his heat win and four points with his feature win to put Snyder into the championship by an unofficial nine points. Todd Lynn had a previous technical win at Hesston when he finished second and the first place sprint disqualified in the technical inspection.

The father and son season long battle in the four-cylinder pure stocks suffered a serious blow when Ron Beam Jr. spun out from second place in lap eight while his father, defending champion Ron Beam Sr. held the lead from the pole. Larry Duvall took the lead from the older Beam on lap 11, but then dropped from the race with an engine fire with two laps to go. Ron Beam Sr. finished half a car length ahead of Raymond Moore with Ron Beam Jr. in third, Kirk Knable fourth and Sam Smith fifth. Moore and Beam Sr. won the heats. Ron Beam Jr. needed to only start a heat and the feature to guarantee his first points championship.

Mike Shoemaker of Hesston RD drove the #22 Valley Car Care limited late model to victory for the second straight week as he substituted for Tom Eriksen. Tim Smith, Dave Swanger and defending champion Brad Houck put on a show racing at times three wide for second and at the checkers the front five were Shoemaker, Houck, Swanger, Smith and Shawn Bilger. Shoemaker and Smith won the heats. Houck had already wrapped up the unofficial points championship.

We had a great night of racing with close races, a smooth track, and no really bad wrecks in spite of the full moon," said co-promoter Butch Grubb," and next Saturday's late model show will put the icing on a fine season."

Linda Grubb added that she and Butch and advertising manager John Goshorn thank all the businesses that sponsor ads in this year's program, those sponsoring the racing divisions, trophy nights, race nights, door prizes at the Hesston Speedway. The track asks that drivers, crew members and fans patronize those businesses as much as possible.

The Hesston Speedway is located just north of Route 26 opposite to the Seven Points access to Lake Raystown. It's about five miles south of Route 22 in Huntingdon and 45 miles north on Routes 30W and 26 from the Breezewood Exit 12 of the PA Turnpike. For information call the track at 814-658-2823 or email hesston@penn.com.


Stultz & Brown Limited Late Models -- Mike Shoemaker, Brad Houck, Dave Swanger, Tim Smith, Shawn Bilger, Waylon Wagner, Bob Dunn, Allen Lemin, Dwayne Taneyhill, Ron Beam Jr., Mike Ash, Herb Taneyhill, Jeff Kendall, Mark Wagner, Bob Briggs.

Grubb Lumber 305 PA Sprints -- Todd Lynn, Ryan Lynn, Vince Snyder, Joe Davis, Scott Ellerman, Joe Zap, Nathan Gramley, Jeff Taylor, Jamie Estep, Rod Peters, Jim Lender, Brian Switzer, Brett Knable, Mike Alleman, Kyle Ganoe, Rick Leh.

Shellbrook Stables V-8 Street Stocks -- Darin Hoover, John Bookwalter, Jerry Bookwalter, Tim Brindle, Tom Beals, Dave Brown, Harold Brindle, Mike Kline, Dan Bookwalter, Russ Hamer, Bill Heffner, Jim Bookwalter, Darrell Edwards, Mike Swanger, Jake Griffith, Randy Campbell.

Metzler Bros. Transport Four-cylinder Pure Stock -- Ron Beam Sr., Ray Moore, Ron Beam Jr., Kirk Knable, Sam Smith, Max Hampton, Jeff Justice, Shawn Moore, Melvin McCartney, Kyle Wiser, Larry Duvall, Julie Hampton, John Kuhns.

Chet Grove's Cars Unlimited V-8 Hobby Stock -- Jeff Morder, Robbie Goss, Mike Barto, Tim Snare, Cris Edwards, Keith Russell, Jr. Guyer, Gary Morder, Darren Desch, Ray Fisher, Fred Noll, Mike Norris, Brian Ayers, Ryan Sager, Ken Snyder, Rick Donalson, Ken Singer, Jordan Hub, Jesse Snyder, Bill DeArmitt, Bill Replogle, Joe Baker, Rick Potter.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Joe Baker , Sam Smith