Gulf South Region Waco results 2004-10-15

Ramey Red Hot in Waco ASCS Gulf South Action WACO, Tex. (October 15, 2004) - Doctor's orders aside, Kevin Ramey muscled past race-long pacesetter Jerry Bell on the 19th round en route to capturing Friday night's 25-lap ...

Ramey Red Hot in Waco ASCS Gulf South Action

WACO, Tex. (October 15, 2004) - Doctor's orders aside, Kevin Ramey muscled past race-long pacesetter Jerry Bell on the 19th round en route to capturing Friday night's 25-lap Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region feature at Heart O' Texas Speedway.

Just three days after suffering a severe cut on his right leg that required an extensive amount of stitches, prompting his doctor to declare "Absolutely no racing", Ramey defied the command by racing from the seventh starting slot to capture his third ASCS Gulf South Region triumph of the season and second atop Waco's quarter-mile oval. "Nomex heals all," Ramey jokingly commented afterward.

While Ramey slipped away to a near straightaway triumph in the final rounds, Bell fought off a host of challengers to claim his fifth ASCS Gulf South Region runner-up finish of the year, extending his series point lead to 20 markers over sixth-place finisher Chris Sweeney entering Saturday night's season-ending ASCS Gulf South vs. Sooner Region Shootout at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, TX.

With Ramey gridding the feature inside the fourth row, Bell and Johnny Miller led the way to the green flag. Bell gunned into the early lead in front of Miller and Sweeney, with Ramey and Ray Allen Kulhanek battling for the fourth position in the opening rounds. Ramey finally took command of fourth on the seventh circuit when Kulhanek bobbled in turn two.

Just as the leaders encountered lapped traffic on the 12th round, Kansas racer Shane Bangerter took a wild tumble in turn two, precipitating the race's only stoppage. Bangerter emerged uninjured.

Back under way, Bell held off Miller for the point as Sweeney led the battling duo of Kulhanek and Ramey. On the 13th lap, Sweeney fell to fifth when a slight slip exiting turn four allowed Kulhanek to race by on the high side and Ramey on the low side.

Ramey shook off Kulhanek and set his sights on second-runner Miller, successfully battling into second in turns three and four on the 18th lap. One round later, Ramey squeezed underneath Bell exiting turn four to take command for keeps aboard Tom Willis' Wells-powered Commercial Music/Smoke Pit Bar-B-Que No. 7m Eagle.

Ramey raced away in the final rounds to secure the victory as a wild six-car battle developed for the second position. While Kulhanek edged into second as the white flag flew, Bell battled back on the final round to snare runner-up honors. Kulhanek jumped from sixth to fourth in points by taking the show position, with Miller in fourth. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., completed a stirring charge from 18th to round out the top five.

Sweeney crossed the stripe in sixth, just ahead of Cowtown Speedway kingpin Claud Estes. South Dakota's Dusty Zomer claimed eighth, with ASCS Sooner Region contenders J.P. Bailey and Tony Bruce, Jr., completing the top ten.

Miller, Bell, Zomer and Ramey topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Skip Wilson posting a wire-to-wire victory in the 15-lap B Main.

Brandon Corn's night came to a grinding halt when he jumped Wilson's right rear tire exiting turn four in the evening's opening heat race and flipped violently down the frontstretch. Corn walked away from the wreckage uninjured.


First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Johnny Miller, 2. J.P. Bailey, 3. Richard Holt, 4. Kolt Walker, 5. Skip Wilson, 6. Brandon Corn, 7. Todd Johnson. DNS: Stephen Chevallier.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. Jerry Bell, 2. Shane Bangerter, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. Greg Rilat, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. Scottie McDonald, 7. Todd Evans, 8. Terry Buzbee.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. Dusty Zomer, 2. Ray Allen Kulhanek, 3. Claud Estes, 4. Richard Cordray, 5. Rod Craddock, 6. David Doyle, 7. Matthew Porter.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Chris Sweeney, 2. Kevin Ramey, 3. Chuck Swenson, 4. Brad Stokes, 5. Jamie Will, 6. John Stinson, 7. Rick Schallert.

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. Skip Wilson, 2. Greg Rilat, 3. Jamie Will, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. Scottie McDonald, 6. Rod Craddock, 7. Kolt Walker, 8. Todd Evans, 9. John Stinson, 10. Todd Johnson, 11. Stephen Chevallier, 12. Terry Buzbee, 13. Matthew Porter, 14. Rick Schallert, 15. David Doyle. DNS: Brandon Corn.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Jerry Bell, 3. Ray Allen Kulhanek, 4. Johnny Miller, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. Chris Sweeney, 7. Claud Estes, 8. Dusty Zomer, 9. J.P. Bailey, 10. Tony Bruce, Jr., 11. Chuck Swenson, 12. Skip Wilson, 13. Greg Rilat, 14. Scottie McDonald, 15. Richard Cordray, 16. Richard Holt, 17. Jamie Will, 18. Rod Craddock, 19. Brad Stokes, 20. Shane Bangerter.

Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jerry Bell 2,084, 2. Chris Sweeney 2,064, 3. Greg Rilat 2,046, 4. Ray Allen Kulhanek 1,948, 5. Todd Johnson 1,938, 6. Brad Stokes 1,906, 7. Stephen Chevallier 1,880, 8. Scottie McDonald 1,877, 9. Richard Holt 1,663, 10. Rod Craddock 1,557.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Johnny Miller , Kevin Ramey , Ray Allen Kulhanek , Kolt Walker , J.P. Bailey