Gulf South Region Vivian results 2005-05-29

Ramey Romps in Ark-La-Tex ASCS Gulf South Run VIVIAN, Lou. (May 29, 2005) -- Just nine days after capturing his first O'Reilly ASCS National Tour triumph of the season, Fort Worth's Kevin Ramey turned in a dominating ...

Ramey Romps in Ark-La-Tex ASCS Gulf South Run

VIVIAN, Lou. (May 29, 2005) -- Just nine days after capturing his first O'Reilly ASCS National Tour triumph of the season, Fort Worth's Kevin Ramey turned in a dominating performance to top Sunday night's 25-lap Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region feature at Ark-La-Tex Speedway.

"We changed our shock package before the Oklahoma City race and the car's hooking up great now, it's a rocket," Ramey commented after his ninth career ASCS Gulf South Region triumph. "I could tell early we were a little loose, so I put as much wing into it as I could and it worked pretty well."

Ramey earned the pole position for the feature by racing from fourth to win the evening's second heat race then outgunned fellow front row starter Sam Hafertepe, Jr., for the lead at the drop of the green flag.

Ramey quickly slipped away from his rivals, as third-starter Jerry Bell overtook Hafertepe for second. Hafertepe regained the runner-up slot by the fifth round, with fourth-starter Charlie Brown disposing of Bell for third soon after.

Ramey encountered lapped traffic after just five rounds, but his quick pace was undeterred. While Ramey sliced through lapped traffic at a lightning-quick pace, Brown overtook Hafertepe for second by the 15th round with Bell moving in to challenge for the third position.

With Ramey nearly a straightaway ahead, Brown looped his machine and lost two spots before he rejoined the chase. The spin was negated however when the race's only caution flew with 22 laps in the books when sixth-runner Stephen Chevallier spun to a halt in turn four.

With eight lapped cars separating Ramey from his pursuers, he cruised to the checkered flag with ease aboard the Wells-powered Commercial Music/Smoke Pit Bar-B-Que No. 7m Maxim. Brown, Hafertepe and Bell battled for the runner-up slot over the final three lap dash to the stripe, with Brown taking the position. Hafertepe claimed third, with Bell in fourth.

Ray Allen Kulhanek crossed the stripe fifth, with Chevallier the final car on the lead lap in sixth. Completing the top ten were Steven Tiner, Michael Herrington, Greg Rilat and Scottie McDonald.

Three-time ASCS National champion Tim Crawley had charged from 14th to eighth in just three laps when engine woes sent him pitside.

Brown, Ramey, Hafertepe and Lane Whittington topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Chris Sweeney winning the 12-lap B Main.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Charlie Brown, 2. Darryl Wills, 3. Michael Herrington, 4. Greg Coleman, 5. David Kulhanek, 6. Chris Tarrant, 7. Trey Schmidt, 8. Brad Stokes.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Stephen Chevallier, 3. Ray Allen Kulhanek, 4. Tim Crawley, 5. Ty Johnson, 6. Terry Monroe, 7. Charlie McDonald, 8. Tracy Knighton.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. Jerry Bell, 3. Greg Rilat, 4. Chris Sweeney, 5. Randy McKinney, 6. David Forbis, 7. Neil McCarl.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Lane Whittington, 2. Scottie McDonald, 3. Steven Tiner, 4. Richard Holt, 5. Philip Dietz, 6. Larry Hartwell, 7. Eric Payne.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Chris Sweeney, 2. Greg Coleman, 3. Randy McKinney, 4. Larry Hartwell, 5. Richard Holt, 6. Ty Johnson, 7. Chris Tarrant, 8. Brad Stokes, 9. Charlie McDonald, 10. Trey Schmidt, 11. Eric Payne, 12. David Forbis, 13. Terry Monroe, 14. Philip Dietz, 15. Tracy Knighton. DNS: Neil McCarl.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Charlie Brown, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 4. Jerry Bell, 5. Ray Allen Kulhanek, 6. Stephen Chevallier, 7. Steven Tiner, 8. Michael Herrington, 9. Greg Rilat, 10. Scottie McDonald, 11. David Kulhanek, 12. Chris Sweeney, 13. Darryl Wills, 14. Lane Whittington, 15. Ty Johnson, 16. Greg Coleman, 17. Richard Holt, 18. Larry Hartwell, 19. Tim Crawley, 20. Randy McKinney.

Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Scottie McDonald 950, 2. (tie) Stephen Chevallier and David Kulhanek 946, 4. (tie) Lane Whittington and Ray Allen Kulhanek 942, 6. (tie) Chris Sweeney and Darryl Wills 926, 8. Greg Rilat 911, 9. Richard Holt 892, 10. Terry Monroe 735.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , Darryl Wills , Ray Allen Kulhanek , Chris Tarrant