Gulf South Baytown results 2008-03-01

Dover Dazzles in ASCS Gulf Coast Nationals at HRP BAYTOWN, Texas (March 1, 2008) -- Opportunity knocked in Houston Raceway Park's Inaugural Gulf Coast Nationals and Jack Dover took full advantage to collect the $3,000 winner's share in ...

Dover Dazzles in ASCS Gulf Coast Nationals at HRP

BAYTOWN, Texas (March 1, 2008) -- Opportunity knocked in Houston Raceway Park's Inaugural Gulf Coast Nationals and Jack Dover took full advantage to collect the $3,000 winner's share in Saturday night's 30-lap American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region feature event.

The 18-year-old from Springfield, NE, found himself back on the point when Garry Lee Maier and Jason Johnson tangled while dicing for the lead, then led the rest of the way to secure the victory aboard Marc & Lori Dover's Eckley-powered 3D Auto Transport No. 53 Eagle.

Starting from the pole position, Dover outgunned fellow front row starter Maier for the early lead. Working through several early cautions, Dover held off Maier as Jason Johnson climbed from eighth to third by the fifth lap.

Dover surrendered the lead soon after, with Maier and Johnson slipping by as the lead trio approached lapped traffic. But as Johnson chased down a second win in as many nights, he climbed Maier's right rear tire several laps before the midway point and went for a wild ride. Johnson walked away from his mangled mount uninjured, with Maier done for the night as well.

Dover found himself back in front on the restart and never looked back as he collected his second career ASCS triumph and first Gulf South Regional score in front of a closing Jimmy Brooks, with tenth-starter Travis Rilat a close third.

Don Grable claimed fourth, with Chris Sweeney climbing from 15th to round out the top five. Defending series champion Brandon Berryman raced from 19th to sixth, with Wayne Johnson rebounding from a pair of trips to the work area to salvage a seventh-place finish.

Kevin Ramey advanced ten positions to claim eighth, with Greg Rilat and 22nd-starter Kathryne Minter completing the top ten.

Jason Johnson, Maier, Greg Rilat and Wes Miller topped heat race action for Saturday night's 35-car field, with Berryman winning the 12-lap "B" Main.

American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region Results:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 53-Jack Dover, 3. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 4. 93-Chris Sweeney, 5. 3-Gary Watson, 6. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 7. 1-Rick Behr, 8. 5-Avant Schnitz, 9. 19-Klint Angelette.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 2. 29-Don Grable, 3. 37-Tracy Cearley, 4. 15T-Travis Elliott, 5. 94-Wayne Johnson, 6. 87-Billy Melton, 7. 61-Travis Knighton, 8. 35x-Aaron Reutzel. DNS: 20-Terry Monroe.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 35-Greg Rilat, 2. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 3. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 4. 71-Channin Tankersley, 5. 9-Lane Whittington, 6. 85-Jerry Bell, 7. 22-Koby Barksdale, 8. 80-Michael McNeil. DNS: 14e-Todd Evans.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 51w-Wes Miller, 2. 29x-Travis Rilat, 3. 74-Brandon Corn, 4. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 5. 31-Brandon Berryman, 6. 13-Kathryne Minter, 7. 65-Skip Wilson, 8. 71s-Tim Simmons.

"B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman, 2. 9-Lane Whittington, 3. 85-Jerry Bell, 4. 13-Kathryne Minter, 5. 80-Michael McNeil, 6. 22-Koby Barksdale, 7. 1-Rick Behr, 8. 19-Klint Angelette, 9. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 10. 87-Billy Melton, 11. 61-Travis Knighton, 12. 71s-Tim Simmons. DNS: 35x-Aaron Reutzel, 65-Skip Wilson, 5-Avant Schnitz, 20-Terry Monroe, 14e-Todd Evans.

"A" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover, 2. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 3. 29x-Travis Rilat, 4. 29-Don Grable, 5. 93-Chris Sweeney, 6. 31-Brandon Berryman, 7. 94-Wayne Johnson, 8. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 9. 35-Greg Rilat, 10. 13-Kathryne Minter, 11. 71-Channin Tankersley, 12. 3-Gary Watson, 13. 85-Jerry Bell, 14. 80-Michael McNeil, 15. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 16. 11-Jason Johnson, 17. 22-Koby Barksdale, 18. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 19. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 20. 51w-Wes Miller, 21. 9-Lane Whittington, 22. 74-Brandon Corn, 23. 15T-Travis Elliott, 24. 37-Tracy Cearley.

ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Chris Sweeney 284, 2. Travis Rilat 282, 3. (tie) Brandon Berryman and Greg Rilat 278, 5. Jason Johnson 268, 6. Don Grable 264, 7. (tie) Garry Lee Maier and Gary Watson 262, 9. Kathryne Minter 258, 10. Wayne Johnson 250.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Travis Rilat , Don Grable , Wayne Johnson , Kevin Ramey , Ray Allen Kulhanek , Jason Johnson , Aaron Reutzel , Koby Barksdale , Michael McNeil